Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Newbie: issues with jumpy playback / dropping frames
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys

I am still a newbie when it comes to XBMC.

I am having issues with HD content playback appearing to drop frames?

I have tried searching, but I dont know the tech term for my issue so its hard to make heads or tales of whats going on.

When playing video, it will appear to jump forward a few frames? There is no picture corruption, but for example if the camera is panning across a scene, there will be a small skip as it pans across, not a smooth flow.

This seems to happen on most of my downloaded HD content

My setup is as below. As far as I can tell, more than sufficient.

350W PSU, Be Quiet BN134
Asus P8H61-M PRO
Intel Core i3 2120 CPU
Scythe Shuriken BIG 120mm CPU cooler
Sony AD-7690H Slot DVD±R
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair DDR3 XMS3 Ram
64GB Crucial RealSSD M4, 2.5" SSD

Software wise, its windows 7 and xbmc 10

no codec pacs or any other software. Its a pretty virgin system.

Is there a way to diagnose the problem?
System settings, System, Video output and check that "Use a fullscreen window rather than true fullscreen" is disabled.

JR
You are a genius!

Thank you that sorted it.

Are there any other tweaks I should do? Like enable hardware acceleration?
Try enabling hardware acceleration and see how well it works. In most cases it will work very well, but with a few GPUs (principally Intel) you may see artefacts on the display. If that happens just turn acceleration off again.

JR
I have a similar problem with my nettop machine running an NVDIA Nforce chipset.

Plex plays anything I throw at it, even 1080p content (all MKVs) but XBMC keeps dropping frames, only a couple every minute or so, but enough to be visible (and irritating) when watching the film.

I did try Xbmc live to see if it was a Windows "thing" and it did improve, but still dropped some frames.