Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Operation not permitted SMB Server 20012 R2
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi all, checking to see if anyone else has seen this error before. There is another post over on the OpenELEC site there about this (posted there as well). I have tried on OpenELEC and now XBian both with the same results, when trying to get to the SMB on one of my Windows Server 2012 R2 servers I get an error box that pops up saying "Operation not permitted" there is no other message. I have tried on another box (my Active Directory box) which is also 2012 R2 and a Windows 8.1 box with no issues. Its odd, because all of my other Media Centers (running Windows 7, 8.1) have no issues seeing this server, only the Raspberry Pi. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advanced!
You are not alone....I'm new to the Raspberry Pi and XBMC so stuggling with not being familiar with its operation. I have a Windows 2012 r2 server with all my music, video and picture files in shares. The shares require a valid account.

I managed to get a share connected for the Video and Music (with user name and password) however when I tried to connect the Pictures share got the "Operation not permitted" error. Went back to try the Video & Music folders and they too now produce the error. Everything I try now to connect to the shares fails with the error. If I browse the network I can see the Workgroup and my server but any attempt to browse the server to select a share brings up the error. Scrathing my head on this one.

Did you manage to resolve your problem?
Could you use NFS instead? I do that on my WHS 2011 server.
I haven't been able to resolve my issue yet, I'll have to try installing the Server for NFS feature and see if the Pi can pick up the NFS share.