Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: skinning help - code to list total items in a specific playlist
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm relatively new to any kind of skinning in xbmc. So sorry if this will seem like an easy question to any experts. I have searched online and couldn't find a solution to my problem. I basically have a submenu on my HOME screen in xbmc where I have links to various playlists that I have created for my movies based on various rules I have created. (I'm using a modified Aeon skin)

What I would like to to is create some kind of infolabel or text next to each link which sums the total number of items within that specific playlist.

E.g If I made a playlist of all movies that are tagged with "HDTV". I would like to have an text on the home screen next to that playlist link that summarizes the total number of items in that playlist : HDTV (35). That is if I had 35 HDTV movies. And this number changes automatically as movies are added and removed from this playlist.

This is what I currently have for the link. It is missing the code I would need to put the total number of items next to it.

Code:
<control type="button" id="39">
                    <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(enabletrailers)</visible>
                    <include>Submenu_MovieButton</include>
                    <include>MovieShortcutBools</include>
                    <label>HDTV</label>
                    <onclick>XBMC.ActivateWindow(MyVideoLibrary,special://profile/playlists/video/HDTV.xsp,return)</onclick>
                </control>

Thanks for any help in advance.
Not possible. The only way to count the number of items is using Container(id).NumItems but that's only for "opened" lists.
that is too bad..thanks for the info!
I Think a FakeContainer with the same content will do this?

<content target="Video>special://profile/playlists/video/HDTV.xsp<content>