Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMCubuntu resolution problem
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'll start by saying that I'm a complete noob to ubuntu, and I installed this because my laptop won't run win7 properly and they dropped support for XP.

I just installed XBMCubuntu and im having problems with the screen. The resolution is totally off and i can't do anything with it. Here is a pic of it Image

Hope someone can help me with this Smile
We need a bit more info...a Debug Log on a pastebin-site would be the first thing and some hardware infos

(normally) you are able to change resolutions in your video settings

Greetings
How do i give you guys a debug log or get into video settings, if that is everything i see, i cant close it and get into ubuntu desktop mode.

Specs:
Intel Celeron 540 (1.86 GHz)
Media Accelerator X3100
1GB DDR2
120GB HDD

(2014-07-29, 16:18)David1977 Wrote: [ -> ]We need a bit more info...a Debug Log on a pastebin-site would be the first thing and some hardware infos

(normally) you are able to change resolutions in your video settings

Greetings

I checked the programms tab for the debugger thing, but sadly i think it was out of frame, cant atm but ill check later to see what was the last thing i saw and then maybe someone could tell me how many times more i have to go down to get to the debugger.
If you press CTRL+ALT+F1 do you get a black box with a login prompt ?
yes
I bet there is no proper driver for that very old gfx card, so it runs vesa with 640x480
Hold this bet!

That's why I'm asking for hardware informations Wink

@Scrat:

enter your username and password at this login-prompt.

After this (as I don't know if pastebin is installed already in XBMCbuntu):

Code:
sudo apt-get install pastebinit
And follow the messages...you have to enter a "y" for installing.