Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: just got a new server
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
hi guys, ive just got hold of a HP ProLiant ML350 Generation 5 (G5) server . i would like to set it up as a home server with cloud and also have my avermedia (avertv) usb tv card plugged into it serveing my home pc xbmc machines . can anyone recomend software that is free and easy to use as im a total linux novice

thanks in advance
Maybe OpenMediaVault? It's based on Debian (like e.g. Ubuntu) and it comes with a web interface, so it should be pretty user-friendly.

I do not recommend installing a full Linux distro like regular Ubuntu, since you'll need a monitor to manage it after installation. I assume, if you're a novice, the command line or SSH (for remote management) aren't things you're familiar with, so Ubuntu Server e.g. won't work well for you either.

I don't know about the TV card, first off you should find out if it runs on Linux at all, then if any NAS/server solutions like OpenMediaVault (there are others around) support it, e.g. through plugins etc.

Good luck
Assuming the TV card works in linux, I would recommend mythbuntu. You'll get a mythtv backend which you can feed to xbmc clients.
+1 for mythbuntu. Its light weight but full featured.
Webmin will let you administer a Linux server via a browser (either local or remote).
The good thing about mythbuntu is that their ppa keeps you up to date with the latest mythtv code. It survives OS upgrades and is based on ubuntu LTS (Long Term Support) release, so you know it'll last for ages without a reinstall.
thanks guys . i think that after doing a fair bit of reading about them both im going to go with the openmediavault as its to be a server with a tv card , rather than just a tv server . i do believe omv has plugins for tv cards . guess i will find out more as i go on