Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Coming from MP. How to autopopulate playlist?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello all. I have been using both XBMC and MediaPortal since 2008 perhaps. My first rig had compatibility issues with XBMC and I stayed mostly with MePo through the next ones I built. I always liked XBMC's quickness and ease-of-use the most, but there was always something lacking that would keep me in MePo.

Until now. Since their latest interface change which gives even one more thing to configure, and always out of the 10 feet interface (must . I became fed up so I switched to XBMC altogether.

One feature I miss from MePo is the playlist autopopulation option. I thought it had something to do with Last.fm, but I haven't been able to reproduce it in either XBMC, my smartphones or any other media player.

I am talking about the extremely useful feature of selecting almost any song from the library and having the computer continuosly play related songs from anywhere else in the music library, regardless of what the song's tag says about its style. IE. I select AC/DC to play and (automatically) next song is Maiden, next song is Ozzy, next song is Dio, etc.

Do you think you could help me with that?

Thanks.
Interesting. Just found it as a Sticky, but it puzzles me that after 4 years it has remained as a relic script and has not become a feature.
If you don't mind, where did you find this info/script? An admittedly [very] quick search didn't find it for me... Sounds like a cool feature! Basically does what Pandora does, huh? But with my personal music collection? Right on!
(2014-08-25, 04:57)jaydash Wrote: [ -> ]If you don't mind, where did you find this info/script? An admittedly [very] quick search didn't find it for me... Sounds like a cool feature! Basically does what Pandora does, huh? But with my personal music collection? Right on!