Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Python: save reference to a thread
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi guys, some python-hackers out there? Big Grin

I'm trying to run some persistent code:

A plugin starts a thread, the plugin exits but the thread keeps running.
The next time the plugin is started i need to interact with the already running thread.

How can I store a reference of that thread?

I managed to get a function address but python doesn't allow calling by address.
Whats the use case? Wouldnt a service be a better structure than a plugin?
I intentionally didn't explain what/why I want to do this because it distracts from the question Wink
I'm new to python and this problem (the solution) would help me understand the inner workings.

But here you go:
I'm trying to speed up a rather large video plugin on the RaspberryPi.
It takes 2.5s just to load the plugin and all the imports before the first function is executed.

By running the plugin as a thread and communicating with it this delay is gone.
I already got it working by passing the arguments via xbmcaddon.Addon().setSetting()
But the thread is in an infinite loop, constantly checking if the setting has changed and that uses quite a lot of cpu.

Maybe there is a better way for passing the arguments?

But like i said:
I'm interested in saving the reference because that would teach me a lot about python.
If i can understand the solution Rofl
I am doing that same sort of thing for LazyTV. There is a service that takes care of maintaining a list of TV episodes, and the script calls the data from there.

The "while not abort requested" loop is fairly commonly used in addons that are kept alive. The benefit is that when XBMC exits you can exit the script in an orderly way. And I dont think it costs much in CPU is you have it sleep for a short amount of time.

Code:
while not xbmc.abortRequested:
    xbmc.sleep(100)