Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: WTV files not as smooth as WMC - why?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm in the UK and have been using Windows Media Center (WMC) for over 10 years now on two PC's, one in each room. I would dearly like to move to XBMC-Kodi and have installed a couple of versions over time with the most recent test a few months ago. I was amazed at the richness of the features compared to WMC but the only thing that stopped me was the difference in the smoothness of playback of 1080p HD WTV files (H264) recorded from FreeView HD or Astra. For some crazy reason, watched pans in WMC are much more fluid than XBMC, despite my trying all the video settings to achieve the same result, same frame rate, refresh rate etc. I'm not an expert on these things so I cant go deeper than to say I've failed. I don't want to have to convert all the files, but I would dearly love to play them with the same look as they have in WMC. Surely this must be addressable by codec / settings? Can anyone give me any suggestions of how to move forward on this or to debug what is happening?
Thanks for any help - Brian.
Are you seeing lines, choppy playback, pixilation, etc? If you're sure it's 1080p, then I don't have the best answer. But in my case, I was watching 1080i WTV files using server.wmc/pvr.wmc and changing the Deinterlace setting to On cleared up all of my issues. I'm in the US, though, where OTA programming is interlaced, so that may not be your problem.
Turning deinterlace to on or auto is one common fix, the other is to turn on "adjust refresh rate to match video" in settings>video>playback