Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Which Ion based system should I buy?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Hi all so I'm looking at getting a ION based machine to run XBMC and maybe some sort of torrent client. OS will probably be linux, really just so I can utilize VDPAU.

My budget is about £150-£250 I have thought about building my own PC but I'm a linux noob, so I can imagine it would just be a nightmare trying to get to grips with a new OS and making drivers work correctly (I'm currently a Mac user).

The Machines I have been looking at are

ASRock ION 330
http://www.asrock.com/nettop/spec/ION%20330.asp
Pros Dual-Core, DVD Drive Cons Can't find anywhere to buy it, no clue on the price.

Acer Aspire Revo
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Acer-Aspire-Revo...911&sr=8-1
Pros Cheap, Available, doesn't look to bad. Cons Small fan, Small 8gb HD on lower model, not Dual-Core, no Optical or Coaxial audio, I have seen this machine trying to run play flash hulu videos and it was dropping frames.

H1 Hotel PC
http://www.aleutia.com/products/h1-hotel-pc
Pros Silent, Dual-Core, Cons Price seems a bit more pricey compared to others, 8GB Hard drive, No Wifi on low end model.

I needed the machine to
- Run 1080p video
- Run a torrent client
- play SD Flash without issues.

I thought that this info might be helpful for anyone else looking at buying a ION based machine. If anyone knows of a better machine that might be coming out in the near future please let me know.
The ASRock has much better specs than the Revo. I think I will wait for it... Thanks Smile

Faster dual core CPU
More memory
Near silent
Optical drive

This summer there will come ION netbooks also. Perhaps they will be even cooler for XBMC. Then you can take it on the road also Smile
H1 Hotel PC seems to be a good option.
Ubuntu 9.04 pre-installed, so I asume drivers would be working ok (VDPAU an so)