Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [LIVE] Setting up wireless internet on XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
As the title suggests, I need help setting up wireless on my desktop with XBMCLive installed.

The main issue is all the fields are grayed out and I cannot modify any of them. I'm the only account on this machine so I assume I have admin privileges. I have a Trendnet Wireless PCI NIC installed and it works on my other desktops. XBMC is installed on an internal harddrive if that helps. I'm fairly new to XBMC, but not to computers, so I'm open to any suggestions. I'm not using this to stream videos, they are all local on the machine, I'm just trying to get RSS feeds/weather.

I'm sorry if this issue has been answered before, I searched the site but couldn't find anyone with this exact issue.

Another pretty big issue is the lack of audio. I'm connected through S-Video and I have a 1/8" mini-audio jack to two stereo jacks for the receiver.

Any help on these issues would be huge, thanks a bunch!

e:
Also, is it possible to use multiple harddrives with XBMC? I have two internal drives but it's only detecting one of them.
Great, thanks a bunch!
Ctrl+F1 however is not loading the login screen.
All of your problems sound like they are linux issues, not XBMC issues, but we need some more information first.

First, what do your audio settings within XBMC say? They should be somewhere like 'Settings > System > Audio Output.' If you have multiple options there, play around with them and see if any work. If not, post the output of:
Code:
lspci

Second, some wireless cards just aren't supported under linux. Figure out your model number and see if it's on a compatibility list or google something like "[model] linux driver."

And as far as the hard drives, please post the results of this command:
Code:
dmesg | grep sd
and this command:
Code:
mount | grep /dev/sd