Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Update XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey there, I'm not good with SSH command line. Can someone put in the commands I need to enter to get the latest XBMC 10.1 update on ATV2 via SSH? I tried (apt-get update && apt-get install xbmc). It looks like it downloaded the updates but when it executed the 2nd half of the string I got an error stating (E: Couldn't find package XBMC) Many Thanks!
10.1 will be skipped for ios devices ...
Memphiz Wrote:10.1 will be skipped for ios devices ...

IOS only? I thought that ATV was based on the apple OSx version with minor tweaks. Im so confused...thanks for the feedback.
sjskent Wrote:IOS only? I thought that ATV was based on the apple OSx version with minor tweaks. Im so confused...thanks for the feedback.

ATV version might be loosely based on the OS X version since they're both Intel-based but ATV2 is ARM-based (like the other iOS devices) so it's a fair bit different.

Dharma (aka 10.1) is being skipped for iOS according to davilla's post here:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=96473

It is mentioned in the FAQ but in kidstretch's defense it's not clear what the exact implications are. At the moment I believe they're working on the "big sync to trunk" but not quite sure why 10.1 will be skipped... I assume because by the time the sync is finished the trunk will have progressed past 10.1 so XBMC for iOS will jump ahead and match that trunk version.

I wonder how the sync to trunk is going and roughly how many weeks work are required to finish the sync. Sounds like a fair bit of work so maybe won't happen for a few weeks.
10.1 will be skipped because I'm getting tired of merging Smile

ATV2 branch had 516 commits to get where it is today. That's been squished down to 50+.