Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: How I got VAAPI working in XBMC on Ubuntu 10.10 for my HD5670
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm quite new to Linux so I found most of the guides difficult to follow and I got many errors which I didn't know how o solve.

Anyway I found this post that I thought I would share as I'm sure there are other newbie having trouble setting up vaapi as well.

http://forum.xbmc.org/archive/index.php/t-80940.html

On a fresh install of Ubuntu 10.10 I just did the following (Credit goes to Vanek for recommending this method).

sudo apt-get install -y python-software-properties
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates
sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install --reinstall fglrx fglrx-amdcccle -y
cd /etc/X11/ && sudo aticonfig -f --initial
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:xorg-edgers/ppa
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-2.6.37-11-generic-pae linux-image-2.6.37-11-generic-pae
wget http://www.splitted-desktop.com/~gbeauch...1_i386.deb
sudo dpkg -i xvba-video_0.7.7-1_i386.deb
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:lars-opdenkamp/xbmc-pvr
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install xbmc

And it worked, I started up xbmc and vaapi was available and I am now able to watch movies with very little cpu usage. All movies that I've tested so far work well except final fantasy advent children which displays strange pixels ever now and then, this doesn't happen when not using vaapi. I've upgraded to the latest api 11.3 drivers but still the same issue.

Anyway I want to get the above steps to the the smallest number possible but I don't know much about Linux so if someone could suggest which ones can be removed or a simpler method that would be great.