XBMC Community Forum
Zotac Nano AD10 remote issues - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: Zotac Nano AD10 remote issues (/showthread.php?tid=111411)

Pages: 1 2 3


Zotac Nano AD10 remote issues - IlhanK - 2011-10-01 20:21

Hello,

I've played around with the newly bought AD10 for a couple of days now.


[Image: img-9101-500x333.jpg]


There is something I need help with:


The AD10 comes with an external IR USB-dongle(this one) and a built-in IR-receiver on the front.

In order get the build-in receiver to function you need to activate the device in the BIOS first, and then install the ITECIR driver that is included on the driver disc.

In the device manager you'll now find the Microsoft eHome receiver driver. CreateTestConfig.reg helps a lot with tweaking the {745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da}-Key in the registry.

But due to weak reach and small angle reception this built-in IR-receiver is not adequate for a middle sized+ living room.

The external IR USB-dongle has far better reception, so that's the way to go if you are sitting 4+ meters away from the AD10.

If both IR receivers are simultaneously up and running, it's like as if you have two remotes attached to your system, meaning one button push registers as two button pushs, so you definitly want to disable or cover the build-in IR.

But the external IR dongle is only a "generic" HID input device and not eHome driver compatible as it seems. Meaning I was unable to customize the buttons via registry. Meaning it's useless for me in conjunction with XBMC.

Any help with that issue is highly welcomed! Nod


But in case there is no solution, what do you think of this remote/IR-receiver?
Is it eHome driver compatible, what about it's reach/angle, is it customizable via registry?

Thanks in advance.


- steve1977 - 2011-10-02 05:41

IlhanK Wrote:In order get the build-in receiver to function you need to activate the device in the BIOS first, and then install the ITECIR driver that is included on the driver disc.

In the device manager you'll now find the Microsoft eHome receiver driver. CreateTestConfig.reg helps a lot with tweaking the {745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da}-Key in the registry.

I also just got the Zotac Nano and am quite content (though it is louder than I would have hoped). One question for you - how did you succeed to assign a key to pull up the context button? I am using the internal IR.


IlhanK Wrote:But in case there is no solution, what do you think of this remote/IR-receiver?
Is it eHome driver compatible, what about it's reach/angle, is it customizable via registry?

I used to use this receiver (for another HTPC in my main living room). 4m reach should not be an issue. I don't know whether it is ehome compatible. It worked with XBMC for Linux and I succeeded to configure the keymap with LIRC. Not sure whether this info is helpful?


- IlhanK - 2011-10-02 07:35

steve1977 Wrote:how did you succeed to assign a key to pull up the context button? I am using the internal IR.

I made some changes to the registry. I am not finished with setting up the remote, but at least the important stuff is working for now. And it's ten times better than the default settings, so...

Here is my reg-file: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=T8UQBKA5

I recommend you backup your registry settings before importing the reg-file. Furthermore I included CreateTestConfig.reg which may be of use for you. Also, I am not sure if this file works properly on a 64-Bit OS without some modifications.

You may want to take a look at the files with notepad. You'll see it's really not that complicated.

With these settings, the context menu pops up by pressing the Blue button.


- jhsrennie - 2011-10-02 09:20

IlhanK Wrote:But in case there is no solution, what do you think of this remote/IR-receiver?
Is it eHome driver compatible, what about it's reach/angle, is it customizable via registry?

That's a rebadged Microsoft remote with an HP receiver and it is eHome compatible and is configurable through the registry.

Incidentally, if you have an eHome remote the MCERemote add-on offers a way of configuring it that is more user friendly than hacking .reg files.

JR


- IlhanK - 2011-10-02 09:35

jhsrennie Wrote:That's a rebadged Microsoft remote with an HP receiver and it is eHome compatible and is configurable through the registry.

Thank you! That's what I wanted to know.

jhsrennie Wrote:Incidentally, if you have an eHome remote the MCERemote add-on offers a way of configuring it that is more user friendly than hacking .reg files.

Actually I tried that add-on. Although the built-in IR uses the ehome-driver, the remote which is included with the AD10 has slightly different button codes, for instance "CB" for Info instead of "0F". So the add-on didn't work well for me and I had to edit registry manually.


- jhsrennie - 2011-10-02 15:20

IlhanK Wrote:Although the built-in IR uses the ehome-driver, the remote which is included with the AD10 has slightly different button codes, for instance "CB" for Info instead of "0F". So the add-on didn't work well for me and I had to edit registry manually.

That's unnecessarily annoying, though at least Zotac have made the effort to supply a eHome receiver and they deserve praise for that. At least the MCERemote add-on will work with the HP receiver.

JR


Remote and reg files - damos - 2012-01-03 03:29

Ilhank, how do you know that you have to use "CB" for Info instead of "0F"?

Do you use a specific program to analyze IR codes? I use your reg file and zbox doesn't respond yet when I push Info button, colour buttons, teletext and guide buttons. What happen?

The curious thing is that in Windows Media Center all buttons work fine but on XBMC the above buttons don't work.

Please I need help.


Works for me now! - Sergbach - 2012-01-28 17:44

The solution was really easy after I had found that the remote for AD10 is not a "RC6 based MCE remote" (registry key 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da), but a "RC6 based MCE remote for RC260" (registry key 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57df).

That is why this nice MCERemote add-on does not work for AD10.
All registry files in the add-on are changing the registry key, which is not used by AD10 remote.

When I found that, I applied the CreateTestConfig.reg file to the 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57df key.
After that using the ShowKey20.exe tool I could find the RC keys ID's for the Info and coloured buttons (CB for Info, and 6D,6E,6F,70 for red, green, yellow, blue).

Knowing correct ID's I modified the registry key to assign Ctrl-D for Info and Ctrl-Alt-1,2,3,4 for coloured buttons.
Then used MCERemote KeyMapEditor to assign the actions I wanted for coloured buttons (e.g. Context menu for Red button).

That was it!

I want to thank John Rennie for his nice add-on.Cool

The content of my reg file:
Quote:Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57df]
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:\
01,00,00,00,04,00,1e,\
02,00,00,00,04,00,1f,\
03,00,00,00,04,00,20,\
04,00,00,00,04,00,21,\
05,00,00,00,04,00,22,\
06,00,00,00,04,00,23,\
07,00,00,00,04,00,24,\
08,00,00,00,04,00,25,\
09,00,00,00,04,00,26,\
00,00,00,00,04,00,27,\
34,00,00,00,04,00,28,\
3a,00,00,00,04,00,29,\
33,00,00,00,04,02,25,\
32,00,00,00,04,02,20,\
59,00,00,00,04,00,51,\
58,00,00,00,04,00,52,\
5b,00,00,00,04,00,4f,\
5a,00,00,00,04,00,50,\
5c,00,00,00,04,00,28,\
CB,00,00,00,04,01,07,\ ; Info - sends ctrl-D
83,00,00,00,01,24,02,\
2c,00,00,00,01,b0,00,\
30,00,00,00,01,b1,00,\
37,00,00,00,01,b2,00,\
28,00,00,00,01,b3,00,\
29,00,00,00,01,b4,00,\
20,00,00,00,01,b5,00,\
21,00,00,00,01,b6,00,\
31,00,00,00,01,b7,00,\
10,00,00,00,01,e9,00,\
11,00,00,00,01,ea,00,\
0d,00,00,00,01,e2,00,\
3e,00,00,00,01,8d,00,\
1e,00,00,00,01,9c,00,\
1f,00,00,00,01,9d,00,\
0c,00,00,00,03,82,00,\
a9,00,00,00,02,33,00,\
5d,00,00,00,02,0d,00,\
2f,00,00,00,02,5a,00,\
6D,00,00,00,04,05,1e,\ ; Red - sends ctrl-alt-1
6E,00,00,00,04,05,1f,\ ; Green - sends ctrl-alt-2
6F,00,00,00,04,05,20,\ ; Yellow - sends ctrl-alt-3
70,00,00,00,04,05,21,\ ; Blue - sends ctrl-alt-4
78,00,00,00,02,3e,00,\
79,00,00,00,02,3f,00,\
7a,00,00,00,02,40,00,\
8f,00,00,00,02,2c,00,\
3d,00,00,00,03,82,00,\
8e,00,00,00,03,83,00



- damos - 2012-01-29 21:43

Sergbach, I have done what you say, but it doesn't work.

First of all, I have applied the CreateTestConfig.reg file to the 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57df key, but the ShowKey20.exe tool couldn't find the RC keys ID's (appears empty).

I have also applied directly your reg file and the buttons continue without working.

Did you do someting more?


- Sergbach - 2012-01-29 22:25

damos,

Let's check our configs.
I use internal IR receiver in Zbox Nano AD10.
My system runs Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Just after the OS installation the RC did not work. I had to uninstall "ITECIR Infrared Receiver" device and then I installed it again using the driver installation from the Zotac site (just run setup.exe).

Do you see any response in ShowKey from other RC buttons?


- damos - 2012-01-29 22:47

Thanks for your interest, Sergbach.

I have the same configs that you (internal IR receiver and Windows 7 Ultimate x64).

I have already installed the Zotac's driver and all the buttons of remote response in ShowKey except: Info button, colour buttons, teletext and guide buttons.

I think that the problem is in configuration of XBMC because in Windows Media Center all buttons work fine but on XBMC the Info button and colour buttons don't work.

If I want that Red button shows me the context menu, do I have to configure it with Ctrl-d? (See the image):
http://i322.photobucket.com/albums/nn410/damos02/MCERemote-2.png


- Sergbach - 2012-01-30 00:28

You are welcome, damos.

Strange that the same configuration does not work as mine.

Before you go to assign commands to the buttons you need to get your RC "special" buttons generate keyboard outputs.
"Info" button should provide Ctrl-D, coloured ones Ctrl-Alt-1,2,3,4.

Important that after you change the registry you have to reboot to activate changes.

First I would suggest you to use CreateTestConfig.reg file to change the 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57df key (don't forget to modify the key in the original reg file from add-on). After reboot, please use ShowKey tool to check that RC generates the output for all buttons.
If it does, you can use my reg file.
It will assign Ctrl-D for Info, and Ctrl-Alt-1,2,3,4 for coloured buttons .

In the XBMC the Ctrl-D combination will show the Info (you can check it just with the keyboard).
Ctrl-Alt-1,2,3,4 keys do nothing, but if you install MCERemote add-on then these combinations will show a small notification dialog at the bottom of the screen. This behaviour is configured in keyboard.xml.
If you want to assign other actions to these combinations you need to edit keyboard.xml. The KeyMapEdit tool (starts when you click Edit keyboard.xml in add-on) helps a lot here. The tool will show you the content of the keyboard.xml. You need to click on the line with the key combination (for example "ctrl-alt-one"), go to keymap->edit menu and select an action from the dropdown (for example contextmenu). After save and restart of the XBMC the Red button will be assigned to the Context menu.

What you did (in the picture) you just assigned other key combination to the red button. It makes here no sense (at least for my config) because it changes ReportMappingTable in the 745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da registry key and I need it in ...df

So, once more, you need to get the response from your RC in ShowKey tool for all special buttons before you go further.


- damos - 2012-01-30 16:06

I was following the steps but I don't understand this part:

Don't forget to modify the key in the original reg file from add-on

Which addon you refer?


- Sergbach - 2012-01-30 16:16

I refer to MCERemote add-on.
The CreateTestConfig.reg is targetted by this add-on and you need to modify the registry key in that file.


- damos - 2012-01-31 16:20

Ok, now I get the response from my RC in ShowKey tool for all buttons, but I obtain these results:

Info button:
--------------
Key ID: 88 (0x58) - VK_X
<x mod="ctrl, alt> Notification (key,x,3)</x>

Red button:
--------------
Key ID: 66 (0x42) - VK_B
<b mod="ctrl, shift> Notification (key,b,3)</b>

Green button:
--------------
Key ID: 67 (0x43) - VK_C
<c mod="ctrl, shift> Notification (key,c,3)</c>

Yellow button:
--------------
Key ID: 68 (0x44) - VK_D
<d mod="ctrl, shift> Notification (key,d,3)</d>

Blue button:
--------------
Key ID: 69 (0x45) - VK_E
<e mod="ctrl, shift> Notification (key,e,3)</e>

Edit: Ok, I see how it works. I continue with next steps.