XBMC Community Forum
[Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Hardware for XBMC (/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D (/showthread.php?tid=114890)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - lagledavid - 2012-03-23 00:59

(2012-03-22 23:34)PV_XBMC Wrote:  
(2012-03-22 22:11)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-03-22 19:50)PV_XBMC Wrote:  My TV has optical audio out and I use it for connection with AVR for digital sound from TV (Sat broadcasting) but I am not sure, that TV could take audio from HDMI input and pass thru this audio to optical output for every possible standards (Dolby Digital, DTS, and so on).
I think that it will work better by connecting optical output from HTPC directly to optical input of AVR and HDMI output from HTPC to HDTV.......

Yes, I think so, this is only my reaction on suggestion of user "flymods".

And there is my first question: "Is possible output sound thru HDMI and simultaneously thru optical output? I have receiver only with optical input and want connect HTPC to receiver thru optical and HTPC to TV thru HDMI. Sometimes I will want sound from receiver (i power on receiver and mute TV) and sometimes is sound from TV sufficient (i leave receiver power off). Is it possible without changing settings in XBMC (because it is not convenient for my wife and child)?"

I want connect both (optical output from HTPC directly to optical input of AVR and HDMI output from HTPC to HDTV) and set in XBMC audio output to both output (optical and HDMI), and my question is if it is possible...
I am in the same boat if i just want sound thru hdtv i have to swith my sound defaults and switch in xbmc this is not convienient for wife who already gives me a hard time and says things like cant we just use a dvd player lord help me you feelas no what im talking about


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - bluray - 2012-03-23 03:23

(2012-03-23 00:59)lagledavid Wrote:  I am in the same boat if i just want sound thru hdtv i have to swith my sound defaults and switch in xbmc this is not convienient for wife who already gives me a hard time and says things like cant we just use a dvd player lord help me you feelas no what im talking about
I know exactly what you mean...I been there and done that. To make life easier for you and Mrs, it might be worth it to spend on this "Sony STRDH520 7.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver" for $184. It'll playback video and audio, including bitstreaming DTS-HD and TrueHD....


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - lagledavid - 2012-03-23 04:28

does anyone have a solid answere to what temps are supposed to be my cpu temp seems to run between 40-5c my chasi fan is set by default to come on at 45c so it doesnt even kick on.


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - bluray - 2012-03-23 04:46

(2012-03-23 04:28)lagledavid Wrote:  does anyone have a solid answere to what temps are supposed to be my cpu temp seems to run between 40-5c my chasi fan is set by default to come on at 45c so it doesnt even kick on.
You can find temperature chart in the bottom of this page- AMD A8-3850 APU Review. As long as it is below 72°C, you'll be find...


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - lagledavid - 2012-03-23 06:10

(2012-03-23 04:46)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-03-23 04:28)lagledavid Wrote:  does anyone have a solid answere to what temps are supposed to be my cpu temp seems to run between 40-5c my chasi fan is set by default to come on at 45c so it doesnt even kick on.
You can find temperature chart in the bottom of this page- AMD A8-3850 APU Review. As long as it is below 72°C, you'll be find...

thanks i saw that too but it didnt or at least i didnt see where info was on say max temps or safe temps


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - bluray - 2012-03-23 07:06

(2012-03-23 06:10)lagledavid Wrote:  
(2012-03-23 04:46)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-03-23 04:28)lagledavid Wrote:  does anyone have a solid answere to what temps are supposed to be my cpu temp seems to run between 40-5c my chasi fan is set by default to come on at 45c so it doesnt even kick on.
You can find temperature chart in the bottom of this page- AMD A8-3850 APU Review. As long as it is below 72°C, you'll be find...

thanks i saw that too but it didnt or at least i didnt see where info was on say max temps or safe temps
CPU world listed it- Maximum operating temperature 72.7°C.....


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - VortexDK - 2012-03-23 18:13

(2012-03-18 04:34)lath19 Wrote:  
(2012-03-17 17:47)flymods Wrote:  
(2012-03-14 04:13)lagledavid Wrote:  i belive my asrock a75m has a Consumer Infrared Module Header (CIR1) does anyone know where to find a moduler and if so is it worth it. should i be looking elswere for remote controle solution. i have a harmony 300 that i would like to continue using if at all possible. thanks guys

Took some finding out but I also got an Asrock board that has the CIR port and finally got it figured out and working today! Here is the Asrock remote and received I purchased but I suspect any MCE remote would have worked if routed to the CIR port. The trick is you must route one of your external case USB ports with it's internal cables to plug half into the CIR and half into the USB pin header next to it (there is a diagram in the link to the Asrock remote and receiver above that shows) Once you do that boot the system up one time and let it recognize the device and you will then be able to power on from complete shut down state. Also if you have your HTPC in a closet like me you can use a usb extension cable to route the receiver somewhere in line of sight Smile I am running the latest Eden live RC2 so it works with Linux and Windows Smile

Hope that helps.

How is your remote range on this? I read through eskro's thread on the topic and a bunch of people mentioned the range is only good for a few feat.

Thinking of doing the intersat cir receiver but I need to read that thread again. Others use the HP IR receiver to a USB port with 5v power. There seems to be no consensus on the best option. More research I think.

Im trying to figure out how to use the CIR1 port, too.
I am using a pretty standard MCE remote that utilises the microsoft eHome driver.
I am also using this registry hack to utilise the remote fully: http://xbmccustomregis.sourceforge.net/index.html
I havew connectet a double usb port acros the CIR1- and USB port as asrock tells.
windows recognise the IR reciever in one of the ports but not in the other.
no matter which one I plug it in, I'm not able to power on the machine using the remote.

does anyone have an idea of what I migh be doing wrong ??


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - bluray - 2012-03-23 18:31

(2012-03-23 18:13)VortexDK Wrote:  
(2012-03-18 04:34)lath19 Wrote:  
(2012-03-17 17:47)flymods Wrote:  Took some finding out but I also got an Asrock board that has the CIR port and finally got it figured out and working today! Here is the Asrock remote and received I purchased but I suspect any MCE remote would have worked if routed to the CIR port. The trick is you must route one of your external case USB ports with it's internal cables to plug half into the CIR and half into the USB pin header next to it (there is a diagram in the link to the Asrock remote and receiver above that shows) Once you do that boot the system up one time and let it recognize the device and you will then be able to power on from complete shut down state. Also if you have your HTPC in a closet like me you can use a usb extension cable to route the receiver somewhere in line of sight Smile I am running the latest Eden live RC2 so it works with Linux and Windows Smile

Hope that helps.

How is your remote range on this? I read through eskro's thread on the topic and a bunch of people mentioned the range is only good for a few feat.

Thinking of doing the intersat cir receiver but I need to read that thread again. Others use the HP IR receiver to a USB port with 5v power. There seems to be no consensus on the best option. More research I think.

Im trying to figure out how to use the CIR1 port, too.
I am using a pretty standard MCE remote that utilises the microsoft eHome driver.
I am also using this registry hack to utilise the remote fully: http://xbmccustomregis.sourceforge.net/index.html
I havew connectet a double usb port acros the CIR1- and USB port as asrock tells.
windows recognise the IR reciever in one of the ports but not in the other.
no matter which one I plug it in, I'm not able to power on the machine using the remote.

does anyone have an idea of what I migh be doing wrong ??
Are you trying to connect AsRock smart remote package?

If you are using this Inteset IR option...you need to wire it as below:

Inteset "Gnd" (black wire) to ASrock Cir "Gnd" pin
Inteset "LED" (Grey wire) to Asrock Cir "IRtx" pin
Inteset "NC" (White Wire) is unused fold back and isolate with electrical tape.
Inteset "Learn-In" (Yellow Wire) is unused fold back and isolate with electrical tape.
Inteset "5v-Standby" (Red wire) to Asrock "ATX+5Vsb" pin
Inteset "Vcc" (Orange/Brownish Wire) to Asrock "USB Power" pin
Inteset "CIR Input" (Green Wire) to Asrock "IRrx" pin


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - VortexDK - 2012-03-23 20:09

Im not using either the interet IR or the AsRock smart remote package. Im trying to make third party standard MCE remote to work with CIR1 port using a USB connecter


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - bluray - 2012-03-23 20:22

(2012-03-23 20:09)VortexDK Wrote:  Im not using either the interet IR or the AsRock smart remote package. Im trying to make third party standard MCE remote to work with CIR1 port using a USB connecter
I'm afraid that it will not be easy, because you have to have the right CIR USB dongle (very similar thing to AsRock dongle) and wiring for it to work......

[Image: 348q2s0.jpg]


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - WHOAA - 2012-03-25 06:25

AMD A8-3870K
ASRock A75M
Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D

...is my setup

For some reason in windows it says I only have 1.75GB of usable RAM out of the 4GB I have in it. I noticed faint skips here and there while watching a video tonight, not sure if its from this problem I am having. Any ideas?


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - DoubleIPA - 2012-03-26 22:22

In regards to the OP setup has it been determined that the best CPU cooler for the 3850 is the Big Shuriken 2? Would the Zalman CNPS8900 be another good or better choice?

I have everything already setup, but the stock cooler is insanely loud and it doesn't appear that any of the corsair liquid cooling units will work. I intended to run Folding@Home in the background, but this may not be possible with the noise levels. I did purchase 2 case fans that were previously mentioned and they're fairly quiet.


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - eskro - 2012-03-27 02:50

i'd go for the Scythe SCBSK-2100


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - DoubleIPA - 2012-03-27 16:25

(2012-03-27 02:50)eskro Wrote:  i'd go for the Scythe SCBSK-2100

Thanks... Will do since I've followed you're build so far.


RE: [Micro-ATX] A8-3850 (4x2.9Ghz) + HD6550D - eskro - 2012-03-27 17:14

Right ON!!