XBMC Community Forum
How to Install XBMC PVR Xvba for AMD/Nvidia/Intel GPUs - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: How to Install XBMC PVR Xvba for AMD/Nvidia/Intel GPUs (/showthread.php?tid=116996)



- fritsch - 2012-01-16 12:54

flitter2009 Wrote:The files read okay in media info. There's enough network bandwidth (gigabit net with a server that's been streaming a long time)

Can you pastebin the output of
a) Working 1080p h264
b) Your VC-1 File you tried to test. Just cause of the bitrate, e.g.

You can anonymze the file names


- flitter2009 - 2012-01-16 13:06

I'm not having any luck with IRC tonight for some reason. :-(

http://paste.ubuntu.com/806076/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/806078/

Still copying...


- fritsch - 2012-01-16 13:12

flitter2009 Wrote:I'm not having any luck with IRC tonight for some reason. :-(

http://paste.ubuntu.com/806076/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/806078/

Still copying...


The bitrate is rather high in both cases - so let`s see when it is copied. And please join irc.


- wenter - 2012-01-17 00:45

I have got myself Foxconn SFF R50-A1 AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD A45 (Hudson D1) AMD Radeon HD6310 1 x HDMI Barebone.

I had followed the guide and had XBMC installed. The issue is that there is no sound output at all. Whenever I try to play anything it gives me an error that "Audio Device cannot be initialized" or something like that. Alsamixer shows all correct sound levels. In XBMC i have gone through every setting in Audio Preferences and tried different Audio Output device settings. No luck

Can anyone point me what next should I dig?


- abudabi - 2012-01-17 08:08

Hi there

I am currently running the lars opdenkamp PPA but want to try out what you guys have been working on.

Is it as simple as removing his ppa, adding yours, doing apt-get update and then apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin?


- fritsch - 2012-01-17 08:54

wenter Wrote:I have got myself Foxconn SFF R50-A1 AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD A45 (Hudson D1) AMD Radeon HD6310 1 x HDMI Barebone.

I had followed the guide and had XBMC installed. The issue is that there is no sound output at all. Whenever I try to play anything it gives me an error that "Audio Device cannot be initialized" or something like that. Alsamixer shows all correct sound levels. In XBMC i have gone through every setting in Audio Preferences and tried different Audio Output device settings. No luck

Can anyone point me what next should I dig?

please tell us which output you want to connect (analog, hdmi, e.g.) and pastebin the output of aplay -L. If you do it from a ssh session: sudo aplay -L


- fritsch - 2012-01-17 08:56

abudabi Wrote:Hi there

I am currently running the lars opdenkamp PPA but want to try out what you guys have been working on.

Is it as simple as removing his ppa, adding yours, doing apt-get update and then apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin?

Yes it is. You have to install fglrx in the debian way, see the second part of Step 2. This is all.


- abudabi - 2012-01-17 09:36

fritsch Wrote:Yes it is. You have to install fglrx in the debian way, see the second part of Step 2. This is all.

Cool.. will give it a bash tonight. For some reason my HDMI sound in movies has disappeared (although menu sounds remain) so it's probably the kick in the pants I needed to try this Big Grin


- wsnipex - 2012-01-17 10:18

abudabi Wrote:Cool.. will give it a bash tonight. For some reason my HDMI sound in movies has disappeared (although menu sounds remain) so it's probably the kick in the pants I needed to try this Big Grin

You might want to toggle passthrough. If you have menu sounds, but silence in movies then your TV probably does not support passthrough.


- abudabi - 2012-01-17 10:35

wsnipex Wrote:You might want to toggle passthrough. If you have menu sounds, but silence in movies then your TV probably does not support passthrough.

Weird thing is it has been working just fine for a few weeks already. I did install updates a few days ago... can't remember the timings around it so don't know if it's related. But that's a story for another thread.. don't want to derail this one.


- wsnipex - 2012-01-17 15:58

New Package available: xbmc - 2:11.0~git20120115.7ca0550-0ubuntu1~ppa2
* fix subtitle rendering and some related crashes
* cherry picked a couple of fixes from mainline: ffmpeg, upnp, alsa, addons


- andreh - 2012-01-17 16:52

I got another fglrx-related freeze yesterday. Before that I updated to the latest package.
Unfortunately the debug logs aren't that meaningful. I'll attach the XBMC debug logfile:
http://pastebin.com/PwbyXUu8

The GDB log file doesn't say anything interesting, probably because fglrx crashes and not XBMC.
The last lines are something like that:
Code:
[New Thread 0x7fffdebbd700 (LWP 6952)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd5b25700 (LWP 6953)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd5324700 (LWP 6954)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd4b23700 (LWP 6955)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd4322700 (LWP 6956)]
[Thread 0x7fffe1bc3700 (LWP 6938) exited]

The temperature of the GPU is ok and playing back video files in VLC is stable.

I recognize that today a new package was released. I'll try it out later, but I suspect that the root of this problem lies somewhere in the ATI driver.

Kind regards,
André


- abudabi - 2012-01-17 20:55

fritsch Wrote:Yes it is. You have to install fglrx in the debian way, see the second part of Step 2. This is all.

Hmm... did it all, but now at the last step (after removing lars ppa and adding yours), it says this:

Code:
xbmc@htpc:~$sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
xbmc is already the newest version.
xbmc-bin is already the newest version.
xbmc-bin set to manually installed.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 5 not upgraded.

Any ideas for this noob? :confused2:


- fritsch - 2012-01-17 21:17

just issue:
sudo apt-get remove xbmc xbmc-bin

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install xbmc xbmc-bin


- abudabi - 2012-01-17 21:38

Ah yes.. you were too quick for me. I forced the new version in synaptic and it's now installed... but I still have no sound Sad At least now I have this big red muted speaker at the top of the screen.

Looks like something else has buggered up my sound. Frown


Thanks for the help boys. This new version seems nice and smooth!