XBMC Community Forum
How to Install XBMC PVR Xvba for AMD/Nvidia/Intel GPUs - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: How to Install XBMC PVR Xvba for AMD/Nvidia/Intel GPUs (/showthread.php?tid=116996)



- fritsch - 2012-02-19 21:47

Can you provide a xbmc.log?

Did you activate any idle actions, meaning: put system to suspend or exit after some hours? It also could be that your ubuntu tries to put your computer into standby (gnome power manager oder unity settings).

Let`s see the logfiles.


- ruggercb - 2012-02-19 23:13

Thanks for the quick reply fritsch. I just turned it on after being idle for over an hour and it was working fine. The only change I made was to disable the RSS feed and weather. Does this sound plausible? If I'm lucky that's all that was wrong.

I'll check it again this evening when I have time and if it's misbehaving I'll make sure that ubuntu isn't trying to suspend or something funky like that.

fritsch Wrote:Can you provide a xbmc.log?

Did you activate any idle actions, meaning: put system to suspend or exit after some hours? It also could be that your ubuntu tries to put your computer into standby (gnome power manager oder unity settings).

Let`s see the logfiles.



AirPlay - magny - 2012-02-20 14:09

Everythink works fine with the PPAs except the AirPlay support. I did install as described in the first post on a XBMCubuntu. First removed the active version and just installed from the https://launchpad.net/~wsnipex/+archive/xbmc-xvba repository.

I noticed apt-get automatically recognized that libshairport was unused and could be removed.

Is there a way to enable this again on the xvba release? When can you expect the xvba support be merged into the stable branch?

Regards Andreas


- wsnipex - 2012-02-20 17:32

magny Wrote:Everythink works fine with the PPAs except the AirPlay support. I did install as described in the first post on a XBMCubuntu. First removed the active version and just installed from the https://launchpad.net/~wsnipex/+archive/xbmc-xvba repository.

I noticed apt-get automatically recognized that libshairport was unused and could be removed.

Is there a way to enable this again on the xvba release? When can you expect the xvba support be merged into the stable branch?

Regards Andreas

well, actually it should be enabled, but I cannot test it myself.
Does it work after you install libshairport0?


- thctlo - 2012-02-21 16:08

om my debian wheezy airplay is working fine.
i noticed you need the avahi daemon also ( avahi-daemon )

for me this works, hope this helps someone.

apt-cache policy libshairport1
Installed: 1.2.1~git20120110.aeb4987-1


- CBX2012 - 2012-02-24 17:54

I thought it might be nice to post a thank you message without also including a problem.

So thank you to all those involved in making this XVBA version - it really makes a big difference to many of us (my Revo RL70 would not have been bought otherwise).

And thank you to all those offering help in this thread.


- thctlo - 2012-02-24 21:59

hi, i notice i strange thing.

airplay stops working if i restart lightdm
after restarting the server airplay works again.

tested with iphone3gs and 4gs.

some else noticed this problem?


- wsnipex - 2012-02-25 14:38

New packages available: xbmc 2:11.0~git20120225.5a8c588-0ubuntu0~ppa1
- upstream changes
- PVR related crashes fixed
- xvba fixes
- airplay should work now, please test and report back


- Schenckmeier - 2012-02-25 17:58

wsnipex Wrote:New packages available: xbmc 2:11.0~git20120225.5a8c588-0ubuntu0~ppa1
- upstream changes
- PVR related crashes fixed
- xvba fixes
- airplay should work now, please test and report back

Since this new version i have crashes.
I think because of my advancedsettings.xml.
When i delete this xml xbmc will start normal.

Here is my advancedsettings.xml:

Code:
<advancedsettings>
    <cputempcommand>sensors|sed -ne "s/temp1: \+[-+]\([0-9]\+\).*/\1 C/p"</cputempcommand>
    <loglevel>-1</loglevel>
    <videodatabase>
     <type>mysql</type>
     <host>localhost</host>
     <port>3306</port>
     <user>root</user>
     <pass>xxxxxxxxxxxxx</pass>
     <name>xbmc_video</name>
    </videodatabase>
    <musicdatabase>
     <type>mysql</type>
     <host>localhost</host>
     <port>3306</port>
     <user>root</user>
     <pass>xxxxxxxxxxxxx</pass>
     <name>xbmc_music</name>
    </musicdatabase>
</advancedsettings>

Is this a problem with mysql??


- fritsch - 2012-02-25 18:10

It crashes on startup?

What does the xbmc.log tell?


- Schenckmeier - 2012-02-25 18:39

yes it craashes on startup.

Here is the log: http://pastebin.com/TZ6Npu9P

Code:
17:28:41 T:140271334238080   ERROR: SQL: The table does not exist

But there was no problem with my sql table with 2:11.0~git20120128.4bf8428-0ubuntu1~ppa1


- wsnipex - 2012-02-25 20:49

Do you have the "version" table? SELECT idVersion FROM version

As a side note, this is not xvba related, there were a lot of changes in upstream since the last package.


so fars so good - gfisher - 2012-02-26 18:31

The latest build is very good. Mine was an update over the old with software center update.
System A4 3400 ECS mATX mb 4 GB/500 GB Xubuntu 11.10-32 desktop ati 12.1.
HDMI a/v to lcd. Thank you, w/o the xvba branch no XBMC and Linux for me. 720p 60 fps does not play nice w/o your code. I tried lots of stuff. It really MUST become part of the stable build else ATI embedded vid and Linux are a no go for high framerate HD playback. You have done it correctly!

High framerate HD h.264 plays perfectly- ff rr pause stop open close... And files start playing much faster over my samba share. Cpu idle near zero w/o rss, nice default, no dirty patch. Standby/sleep killed audio driver on resume and your patch on post #1 seemed to have fix it so far.


Install works, but Gnome is now glitchy - bvan58 - 2012-02-27 16:51

After a bit of effort, I was able to get XBMC with xvba up and running on Linux Mint 12 (a variant of Ubuntu Oneiric). My HD videos looked great, with excellent picture quality and acceleration on my ATI HD3200 chipset. (CPU readings consistently stayed under 20%). Unfortunately, I now have problems with Gnome -- specifically with smaller windows (including the Catalyst login screen) appearing stretched and slanted. Changing programs also produces a noticeable glitch, which probably isn't good for the LCD display. This happens whether I do the install with the older ATI drivers used here, or with the current 12.1 drivers downloaded directly from the AMD web site. I'm not complaining, mind you. What you've accomplished here is great. But it doesn't seem to be working for me -- at least not yet! (Maybe when my masochistic tendencies return, I'll try again.Big Grin)

UPDATE: Sorry, fritsch, must have missed that. (I was a bit bleary-eyed when I wrote the original post.) Anyway, you might like to know that the most recent fglrx driver release from AMD (I believe it's 12.1) appears to play nicely with Gnome 3, at least on my machine. The slightly older version included in the stock Linux Mint 12 distro, and the one that gets downloaded as part of the XBMC/xvba install package, does seem to cause problems. Fortunately, Mint has a version of Gnome 2 called MATE that I can try. Thanks again!


- fritsch - 2012-02-27 16:58

Please do not use gnome3 nor unity / compiz as mentioned in the very first post in this howto.

These artefacts are known bad interaction between gnome3 and fglrx drivers.
Bugreport is (for example) here: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=648280
or here: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTAyNzk (in the discussion)