Kodi Community Forum
Fairly random but frequent huge cpu usage - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Skins Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=67)
+---- Forum: Skin Archive (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=179)
+----- Forum: Transparency! (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=115)
+----- Thread: Fairly random but frequent huge cpu usage (/showthread.php?tid=119864)

Fairly random but frequent huge cpu usage - grumps - 2012-01-14

I am kinda new to this particular setup so I would like to know if the scenario below should be expected behavior or a known issue or that some combination of hw/sw on my end is likely to be the cause. In case of the latter any tips would be appreciated.

System:
- i7-920 6gb
- ati hd 4890 1gb
- display driver 11.9 & 12.1
- win7 x64
- Eden-pvr Beta1 - build 59 - git rev. 007a341 (3 Jan 2012), also tried a few builds from 1-3 weeks earlier
- t! stable (also tried a svn checkout on 13-1)

Symptoms:
- maximum cpu load (1 core completely maxed) while navigating around in the menu's
- gui almost freezes or is very choppy
- input commands barely register
- doesn't always happen, but i can reliably trigger it by moving around in the menu's quite fast
- seems to happen more often with video playing, but also without, during normal use it will always happen within 15 minutes of usage or so
- about half the time it recovers after some time (10-20s) of maximum load, sometimes i seem to be able to 'loosen' it by moving away from the screen where it started (which could be any afaik) resulting in cpu load dropping a few seconds later
- other half of the time cpu load will stay at maximum, or becomes very sensitive (e.g. over 50% core usage at every small gui activity)
- happens right away after boot, nothing else running
- disabling hyperthreading to get twice the power per core doesn't matter, it eats everything