XBMC Community Forum
[dev] CetonTV+HDHomeRun - Watch TV on XBMC (WIN/OSX) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Python Add-on Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: [dev] CetonTV+HDHomeRun - Watch TV on XBMC (WIN/OSX) (/showthread.php?tid=119865)



RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jdpman - 2013-03-27 03:04

(2013-03-27 00:31)mcheng89 Wrote:  @jdpman: You might need the beta firmware. It fixed the issue for someone else. I havent tried any firmwares below that since you cant downgrade them.

Thanks for the response. I updated to the 20130323beta1 firmware which fixed the RTSP problem, but then it was giving another error. After updating to v0.5.6 that resolved the final issue. Up and running now. Awesome little program. Exactly what I've been looking for for a while. Thanks a bunch!


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - mcheng89 - 2013-03-27 04:05

Attempt to fix fluctuating bitrate:
Set vbv-maxrate to 1.25*video bitrate (not sure if this is too high a tolerance? should i lower it?)

http://www.mediafire.com/?twydsc75766g71a

@shpitz461: Can you test this?


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jfoley - 2013-03-28 05:04

Just thought I would updated you guys on the issue I was having with TNT, TBS and TruTV. It appears as I thought to be a native resolution problem. I was trying to stream the channels in 720(p?) and it would be choppy. I tested with streaming it at 1080(i?) and it worked great. I am guessing these channels are native 1080i and other channels (ESPN) are native 720p.


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - mcheng89 - 2013-03-28 06:06

(2013-03-28 05:04)jfoley Wrote:  Just thought I would updated you guys on the issue I was having with TNT, TBS and TruTV. It appears as I thought to be a native resolution problem. I was trying to stream the channels in 720(p?) and it would be choppy. I tested with streaming it at 1080(i?) and it worked great. I am guessing these channels are native 1080i and other channels (ESPN) are native 720p.

Some questions:
Is playback choppy if you play the direct stream from the tuner without transcoding?
Open this url in vlc: http://<server ip>:8888/play?channel=<channel>&redirect=true

You had the old server, right? Do you remember if that server also had the same issue?

Also, do you see the same issue over LAN or just WAN?


inprogress:
- some fixes for ie and safari for new web interface
- add channel logos to web interface
- started working on updates to mobile interface (epg/guide data, redesign favorites, logos)


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - bartenderck - 2013-03-28 15:40

Currently running: tv::server - v0.5.6

I am getting this error on a home networked PC running XBMC

I can watch a direct stream but when I change a channel via the guide I get the following error in XBMC

Could not get an available tuner
Failed to play channel. Please try again.

Any thoughts?


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jfoley - 2013-03-28 16:30

(2013-03-28 06:06)mcheng89 Wrote:  
(2013-03-28 05:04)jfoley Wrote:  Just thought I would updated you guys on the issue I was having with TNT, TBS and TruTV. It appears as I thought to be a native resolution problem. I was trying to stream the channels in 720(p?) and it would be choppy. I tested with streaming it at 1080(i?) and it worked great. I am guessing these channels are native 1080i and other channels (ESPN) are native 720p.

Some questions:
Is playback choppy if you play the direct stream from the tuner without transcoding?
Open this url in vlc: http://<server ip>:8888/play?channel=<channel>&redirect=true

You had the old server, right? Do you remember if that server also had the same issue?

Also, do you see the same issue over LAN or just WAN?

Okay, I tested a little bit. It was not choppy when I played the video with out transcoding. It played just fine over the WAN.

I did have the old server and actually still have it installed. I will see if I can get it up and running again and see if the same issue persists.


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - MertonKnight - 2013-03-28 20:03

(2013-03-28 15:40)bartenderck Wrote:  Currently running: tv::server - v0.5.6

I am getting this error on a home networked PC running XBMC

I can watch a direct stream but when I change a channel via the guide I get the following error in XBMC

Could not get an available tuner
Failed to play channel. Please try again.

Any thoughts?

How many tuners do you have enabled for tv::server?

I experienced the same error too when I only had one tuner enabled.

I noticed in the tv:server output that if I use the XBMC Add-on based on PseudoTV and when changing channels, a new tuner would be used for streaming before stopping the current tuner that's streaming content. So if you have at least 2 tuners enabled it should fix your issue if the cause is the same as the one I had.


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - mcheng89 - 2013-03-28 23:48

(2013-03-28 20:03)MertonKnight Wrote:  
(2013-03-28 15:40)bartenderck Wrote:  Currently running: tv::server - v0.5.6

I am getting this error on a home networked PC running XBMC

I can watch a direct stream but when I change a channel via the guide I get the following error in XBMC

Could not get an available tuner
Failed to play channel. Please try again.

Any thoughts?

How many tuners do you have enabled for tv::server?

I experienced the same error too when I only had one tuner enabled.

I noticed in the tv:server output that if I use the XBMC Add-on based on PseudoTV and when changing channels, a new tuner would be used for streaming before stopping the current tuner that's streaming content. So if you have at least 2 tuners enabled it should fix your issue if the cause is the same as the one I had.

Sorry about that. I will look into it!

Edit: found the issue! Will do some testing tomorrow.

inprogress:
- reduce fluctuations in transcode bitrate - done
- fixed issue with tuner selection failing on channel change when there is only one tuner available - done
- some fixes for ie and safari for new web interface - done
- show tuner status on settings page - done
- - force stream stop - done
- - current channel - done
- - transcode settings - done
- add channel logos to web interface
- started working on updates to mobile interface (epg/guide data, redesign favorites, logos)


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jdpman - 2013-03-29 06:40

Cool can't wait for those new features. I'm especially looking forward to the mobile interface. Keep up the awesome work. Looking forward to a smooth interface to use on my Android phone. Big Grin


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - MertonKnight - 2013-03-29 06:40

Nice. Good to hear you're adding "show tuner status (force stream stop, current channel, stream settings)". Definitely a feature I need. Will it be possible to do HTTP API Calls for stopping a stream? Maybe something like:

http://localhost:8888/stop?tuner=0

Thank you for all your hard work!


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - mcheng89 - 2013-03-31 03:19

(2013-03-29 06:40)MertonKnight Wrote:  Nice. Good to hear you're adding "show tuner status (force stream stop, current channel, stream settings)". Definitely a feature I need. Will it be possible to do HTTP API Calls for stopping a stream? Maybe something like:

http://localhost:8888/stop?tuner=0

Thank you for all your hard work!

done. let me know if you need any other apis


v0.5.7:
http://www.mediafire.com/?l666rd38g0t28ar

* Limit bitrate tolerance using vbv-maxrate and vbv-bufsize
* Fixed safari + ie 9 web interface bugs
* Updated status page to show tuner controls/status

The new web interface is now at http://<ip address>:8888/m/ (vlc wont work with this webpage until the next version of vlc)
The old interface was renamed to http://<ip address>:8888/m/index.old.html


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jfoley - 2013-03-31 05:20

My status page looks the same? Did I do something wrong? I extracted the zip file and pasted all the files over the existing install?


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - jfoley - 2013-03-31 22:03

I sent you a PM also, but now my is having a hard time starting. When I launch the application, the webpage pops up in Chrome and just spins saying "Connecting to Server". The command prompt type box opens and pulls the info for the tuners but I can't use it. Might just be me because I have been messing around a little bit.


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - dbqbbq - 2013-04-01 01:00

(2013-03-31 22:03)jfoley Wrote:  I sent you a PM also, but now my is having a hard time starting. When I launch the application, the webpage pops up in Chrome and just spins saying "Connecting to Server". The command prompt type box opens and pulls the info for the tuners but I can't use it. Might just be me because I have been messing around a little bit.

ditto. I haven't really been messing around per se (other than updating to the newest version). Turning off firewall and run as admin didn't help so I don't think it's a permissions issue. Rolling back to v .5.6 brings the status page up again but I had to restart the server for it to respond to requests (possibly because v .5.7 didn't properly close the tuners when I exited the cmd window).


RE: [dev] CetonTV(+HDHomeRun) - Watch TV on XBMC - mcheng89 - 2013-04-01 04:02

@jfoley, dbqbbq: can you try this one? http://www.mediafire.com/?dtxn3w5bem4h09j

I think those issues are just a timing issue. I dont load the status page at the right time. I didnt get around to fixing it since it seemed minor (a refresh of the url would work if you wait for the server to finish initializing).


v0.5.7b:
* Start status page after tuners finish initializing
http://www.mediafire.com/?dtxn3w5bem4h09j


Things to do:
Update mobile interface
Add channel logos
Make it more wmc friendly
Plex channel (in progress)? Serviio plugin?