Kodi Community Forum
[NEWBIE] Can't test my plugin - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: [NEWBIE] Can't test my plugin (/showthread.php?tid=122506)



[NEWBIE] Can't test my plugin - cybcyb - 2012-02-11

Hi,

I just programmed my first plugin using this How-To: Plugins

And now I have a default.py but I can't test it on XBMC 10.x because I can't install the plugin on it. Eek

What are my next steps to testing it? Confused


- giftie - 2012-02-11

cybcyb Wrote:Hi,

I just programmed my first plugin using this How-To: Plugins

And now I have a default.py but I can't test it on XBMC 10.x because I can't install the plugin on it. Eek

What are my next steps to testing it? Confused

That documentation is a little out dated. See this documentation ->http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-gpodder-integration/downloads/list


- cybcyb - 2012-02-11

Okay. I did it.
But I still can't see my plugin.
Can someone help me?
I uploaded my file [removed] Nerd


- Martijn - 2012-02-11

Should be
PHP Code:
<extension point="xbmc.python.pluginsource" library="yduenya.py"


better name it like this
PHP Code:
<addon     id="plugin.yduenya"........ 

Make sure your folder has the same name.

Should be listed under video add-ons


- cybcyb - 2012-02-11

I did the changes requested, but it didn't work.
Still can't see the addon.
There must be something different wrong.


The script works. I installed another addon from the repository and changed the Python files. I works like a charm.


- Martijn - 2012-02-11

cybcyb Wrote:I did the changes requested, but it didn't work.
Still can't see the addon.
There must be something different wrong.


The script works. I installed another addon from the repository and changed the Python files. I works like a charm.

You did a restart of xbmc? Just see how the other plugin is coded and see where the difference is.


- cybcyb - 2012-02-11

Now it works. I don't know what the problem was.
I removed some white-spacing and changed the
order of the xml attributes according this one:

PHP Code:
<addon     id="plugin.video.yduenya"
        
name="Yalan Duenya"
        
version="1.0"        
        
provider-name="cybcyb" 


Perhaps that did it. Bu good to know it works.
THANK YOU Martijn!! Nod

Now I will optimize the code and add some comments... Cool


- cybcyb - 2012-02-11

Hi. As I was updating my script another problem occurred.
I wanted to add more site in the CATEGORIES() function, but it gives my a failure. It seems randomly. If I comment some out, it works.
Only certain combination seems not to be working. Any idea? Confused

PHP Code:
addDir('YALAN DUENYA','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/1025/Yalan-Dunya',1,'http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww64/ddizi/yalandunya.jpg')
        
addDir('UMUTSUZ EV KADINLARI','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/814/Umutsuz-Ev-Kadinlari',1,'http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-9ZZfbO_g_bw/Tu0C3ggZvBI/AAAAAAAAAXw/FKlrBVryhuY/s1600/umutsuzevkadinlari.jpg')
    
    
"""    addDir('OYLE BIR GECER ZAMAN KI','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/781/Oyle-Bir-Gecer-Zamanki',1,'http://www.diziler.com/resimler/0/39.jpg')
        addDir('DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/368/Desperate-Housewives',1,'http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww64/ddizi/dh1.jpg')
        addDir('TWO AND A HALF MEN','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/646/Two-And-A-Half-Man',1,'http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww64/ddizi/twoandahalfman3.jpg')
        addDir('HOUSE M.D.','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/409/House-M.D',1,'http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww64/ddizi/house6.jpg')
        addDir('FAMILY GUY','http://www.ddizi.com/diziler/707/Family-Guy',1,'http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/ww64/ddizi/familyguy.jpg')""" 

The two above are working fine together. The 5 down are working fine together. All 7 together gives me an error.


- cybcyb - 2012-02-13

No one?


- newatv2user - 2012-02-13

Always check xbmc.log for errors. That will tell you what is wrong. If you can't figure it out from the log, paste the contents to pastebin and post. That will get your question answered sooner.