Kodi Community Forum
Looking for a remote to control EVERYTHING - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Kodi related discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Thread: Looking for a remote to control EVERYTHING (/showthread.php?tid=124005)

Pages: 1 2

Looking for a remote to control EVERYTHING - myksterx - 2012-02-26

Hi guys,
Currently looking for a remote to control everything!

By everything i mean:
- TV
- AMP
- DVD Player (Blue-ray)
- PC (media centre / xbmc)
- and anything else that is possible...

which can also do:
- Programmable keys
- Multi-Function Keys (ie. 1 press would turn amp over to appropriate setting and then select a certain setting on PC for example)

now, i have been lookingat a range of products, specifically logitech as they seem to be the most search results in ebay

but i am not understanding it all fully, i am new to the posh remote side of the set-up and i want to move over to a single remte rather than my current set-up of 4 remotes and a wireless keyboard (with touchpad)

i would like the remote to be able to programme into all my units
lg tv, lg blue-ray, sony amp, acer revo pc, etc.

now, i know theres hundreds to work normal IF units, but when it comes to needing it to work through my pc (mainly to use on XBMC- although i will find it useful for more functions on my pc) i dont know were to start.

so basicly i need advice on:
1) what sort of remotes am i looking for?
2) would i benefit from touch screen remotes (i do like poshness, so that is an option)
3) what price range am i looking at (i know they can range fom 50 - 350) but i mean for the specific ones you are recommending?

further
1) what software to use on pc to control
2) do i need to buy a IF receiver for pc
3) or do some connect to wifi??

as you can probably tell, im unsure of how these posh remotes work.