Kodi Community Forum
Project Idea on XBMC-Remote - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+---- Forum: GSoC (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=299)
+----- Forum: GSoC 2012 (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=161)
+----- Thread: Project Idea on XBMC-Remote (/showthread.php?tid=126658)

Pages: 1 2

Project Idea on XBMC-Remote - k4rtik - 2012-03-26

Hi

I am a 3rd year student of Computer Science & Engineering from India and new to XBMC development. I want to apply for GSoC 2012 with XBMC.

I am interested in working for android remote client project idea mentioned in the wiki at http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Google_Summer_of_Code_2012#Projects_within_the_client.2Fserver_area I have been using the XBMC-Remote android app for quite a while now.

Can I get some more details about the project idea and how can I get started? I have already explored the Google Code site for xbmc-remote and read the wiki pages (detailing usage of MVC model, etc.) but there doesn't seem to be much activity in recent time (moving to github a possible reason).

I have some experience with web development (which includes MVC model), good experience with C, and object oriented concepts in C++ and good familiarity with Python. Also, I have hands on experience on UNIX sockets API, message passing mechanisms in Linux, etc (due to my Networks and Operating Systems Labs) - I mention these since they seem to be related to the idea mentioned in the wiki. And since I have my summer vacation starting early May, I hope to catch up with other requirements before official coding period starts.

I would also like to know whether a beginner (like me) can make it to a successful XBMC GSoC project?

--
Kartik

RE: Project Idea on XBMC-Remote - jmarshall - 2012-03-26

Hi there,