XBMC Community Forum
Build is up and running - What now? - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Hardware for XBMC (/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: Build is up and running - What now? (/showthread.php?tid=127139)

Pages: 1 2


Build is up and running - What now? - jdwoods - 2012-03-30 01:59

Looked around, didn't find anything similar to this post. Mod's please move this if this isn't in the right forum. TIA.

Here is my current build:
Case: Silverstone GD01S
Mobo: Asrock A75 Pro4
Processor: AMD A8 3850
Ram: 8GB HyperX 1600 (may downgrade to 4GB - 2 x 2GB)
HD: Patriot TorqX 64GB
OS: Windows 7

Display:
Panasonic P60ST30

Future plans:
Add BD R/Rom
Add Remote (probably Harmony)
Add Small Unraid/WHS2011 server (probably HP N40L)
Add Onkyo NR609

I've had XBMC installed and running smoothly for about a week. I have Sab, SB, CP, HPall tuned up and working right, too.

I've used XBMC on my laptop before and tinkered around with it quite a bit in the past. Now that I have a full fledged build, I want to know what else I can do to take it to the next level.

Recommendations for system tweaks or preferences?

Recommendations for codecs to install?

Recommendations for add-ons for video, music, pictures, etc?


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - bluray - 2012-03-30 03:13

Well you have very nice Onkyo NR609 and AMD A8-3850...you should be able to do just anything you want with it. If you want to enjoy HD audio, you can configure it to bitstream with this- HDAudio + Eden RC2

If you want to enjoy blu-ray disc menus, chapters, extras, etc....you can setup TMT5 or PDVD10 for XBMC external player with this....Another External Player Code, but Very Simple to Setup

[Image: jsoxld.png]

[Image: 2uyor45.png]


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - eskro - 2012-03-30 03:13

well if you have an SSD, u can follow my optimization recommendations...

XBMC has its own codecs, no need...

i liked ICEFILM addon but since megaupload has been brought down, it not working very well,,,


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - jdwoods - 2012-03-30 07:41

I completed all steps for the SSD optimization.

I will check out Icefilms.

Does it make sense to do the HD audio + Eden thing without the receiver yet?

Anything else worth recommending?


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - Bstrdsmkr - 2012-03-30 09:24

I'm kinda partial to 1Channel =)

Head over to xbmchub.com and let us hook you up.

@eskro, that's not really true anymore. It was there for a while, but improvements have been made


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - Yojimbo413 - 2012-03-30 09:41

(2012-03-30 03:13)eskro Wrote:  well if you have an SSD, u can follow my optimization recommendations...

XBMC has its own codecs, no need...

i liked ICEFILM addon but since megaupload has been brought down, it not working very well,,,

Tell me about it. I found out about Icefilm just a few days ago. Been trying to get it working, but it just won't work. Has the meta data etc all fine. It loads the Seasons, episodes, but when I get to play the video, it says error in communicating with Icefilm. So annoying. Now waiting for help.


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - bluray - 2012-03-30 16:14

(2012-03-30 07:41)jdwoods Wrote:  Does it make sense to do the HD audio + Eden thing without the receiver yet?
Yes, you can. After you installed HD audio AVR, you'll have full HD audio options.....


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - Bstrdsmkr - 2012-03-30 18:40

FYI, keep in mind that we can't discuss those addons here. It's against the piracy policy


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - bigdog66 - 2012-03-30 18:51

Cinema Experience Add On!


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - eskro - 2012-03-30 23:13

(2012-03-30 18:40)Bstrdsmkr Wrote:  FYI, keep in mind that we can't discuss those addons here. It's against the piracy policy

very true http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=87703

sorry,


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - jdwoods - 2012-03-31 00:35

Other than mention of that certain add on "IF", I believe this thread is okay.

Anyway, this thread is less about that than about what to do to "take a regular xbmc install to the next level".


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - wildzx - 2012-03-31 01:15

And what will be the best method / software to remote into the htpc with a Mac?
And second how to log straight into xbmc with windows loading all other stuff except client for remote software?


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - jdwoods - 2012-03-31 01:21

Have you played with the web interface for XBMC?
What is it exactly that you want to do from your Mac?

Regarding, startup, login - I would make a separate account in Windows that only loads XBMC and set that account to log in automatically. check here for how to do it: http://channel9.msdn.com/Blogs/coolstuff/Tip-Auto-Login-Your-Windows-7-User-Account


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - Bstrdsmkr - 2012-03-31 03:07

(2012-03-31 00:35)jdwoods Wrote:  Other than mention of that certain add on "IF", I believe this thread is okay.

Anyway, this thread is less about that than about what to do to "take a regular xbmc install to the next level".

Yeah, I just wanted to make that said before anyone gets over zealous...

The "Best" remote software is going to depend greatly on what you want to remote in for. If you just want to be able to admin remotely, ssh and the web interface will do fine. If you plan to use sabnzbd and etc, check out Maraschino to remote admin all the different "acquisition" programs as well
If you want to access and play your media remotely, you'll want to check out ORB


RE: Build is up and running - What now? - wildzx - 2012-03-31 05:38

(2012-03-31 01:21)jdwoods Wrote:  Have you played with the web interface for XBMC?
What is it exactly that you want to do from your Mac?

Regarding, startup, login - I would make a separate account in Windows that only loads XBMC and set that account to log in automatically. check here for how to do it: http://channel9.msdn.com/Blogs/coolstuff/Tip-Auto-Login-Your-Windows-7-User-Account
Ok, i am building 2 htpc's both with Windows 7. One of them is for my folks; who live at a distance. Both will be setup in living room environment; hence, no computer type of settings/environment.
I would like to have full control of both htpc using my Mac computer from local network or www; so i can make changes, updates, fix stuff etc. I will check out the guide for xbmc to auto log on without bunch of windows stuff loading except client software for remote software....