Kodi Community Forum
How to change title in infolabels during play? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: How to change title in infolabels during play? (/showthread.php?tid=130333)



How to change title in infolabels during play? - ecinema - 2012-04-30

Anybody know how to change title in infolabels while playing?


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - Bstrdsmkr - 2012-04-30

The same way you set them before playing. The trick is that you need to keep your script running while the content is playing, usually by "while xbmc.Player.isPlaying():"


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - ecinema - 2012-04-30

I have my script playing in a while condition but when I change the infolabel the title is not changed and no error is given
# listitem = xbmcgui.ListItem("old title", iconImage="DefaultVideo.png", thumbnailImage=iconimage)
# listitem.setInfo('video', {'Title': "old title"})
# player = streamplayer(xbmc.PLAYER_CORE_AUTO)
# player.play(url, listitem)

# listitem.setInfo('video', {'Title': "new title"}) # this does not work. It still show the old Title after this

If I do this: (the new title is set) # this works but I don't want to restart the player
# player.stop()
# player.play(url, listitem)

I don't want to restart player to set new title. can this be done without restarting?


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - adrianc1982 - 2014-01-10

i want to do this as well, has anyone found a way to do it?


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - Bstrdsmkr - 2014-01-10

I can only assume this is because the skin grabs the info when playback starts and never looks back. If that's the case, I don't think there's anything you'll be able to do from Python


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - adrianc1982 - 2014-01-10

well the skin can be reloaded via python with executebuiltin...


RE: How to change title in infolabels during play? - Bstrdsmkr - 2014-01-10

That's a good point. If you reload it after changing the info and it still doesn't work, at least you'll know it's not an issue with the skin not updating