XBMC Community Forum
[Windows] Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+--- Thread: [Windows] Use Apple IR remote in Windows? (/showthread.php?tid=132548)



Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - Kissell - 2012-05-27 23:23

I love XBMC and have been using it with Linux. However, now I'm trying to install it on a friend's Windows 7 computer setup exactly like I have mine.

I always use a generic USB IR adapter for RC6 remotes such as the Microsoft Remote, and I get this working in Linux with Lirc.

I'm completely lost about how to use this in Windows.

I found some registry hacks for the microsoft remote, but they don't seem to work with my apple remote.

Every apple remote sends a unique key combo.. so the LEFT button shows up as a different code for each remote and in linux I'm able to run a program to see what that code is, then map it.

Anyone got any ideas how I can get my remote working in XBMC in Windows? I do see the USB IR adapter as "Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver" in Device Manager... so Windows is getting my remote's key presses... I just don't know how to tell XBMC what they are or what to do with them.

TIA


RE: Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - Ned Scott - 2012-05-27 23:44

Google found this: http://uroscion.wordpress.com/2009/01/25/usingappleremotewithpc/


RE: Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - Kissell - 2012-05-27 23:50

Thanks, I continued to search and found the same article. Installing IR Server Suite now... looks promising.


RE: Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - Kissell - 2012-05-28 00:48

Nope... I can't get IR Server Suite to work at all.

On Windows 7 x64 I go into Translator and try to set a new button for the system wide profile, and it just times out and doesn't see the remote button presses.

Windows has the driver loaded, and I see a red dot on the IR Receiver indicating it is receiving the signals... so the signals are getting to windows, but IR Server Suite isn't looking in the right place to find them.


RE: Use Apple IR remote in Windows? - jhsrennie - 2012-05-28 11:08

I don't think an Apple remote is going to work with an eHome receiver. You'll need to use an eHome handset or a universal handset that has eHome emulation. See http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Using_a_Microsoft_remote_control_in_Windows for more info.