Kodi Community Forum
Setting up a development environment - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: Setting up a development environment (/showthread.php?tid=136406)



Setting up a development environment - User 132847 - 2012-07-18

Hi guys
i'd like to start playing around with some of the xbmc code however am having some trouble.

I am following the wiki guide here: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-TO:Compile_XBMC_for_Windows_using_Git
to setup my build environment but I am stuck at running buildmingwlibs.bat

When I run the script a new window with a white background loads. The title for this new window is building mingw dlls
here is the output on this windows.

################################
## compiling mingw libs
## NOPROMPT = 0
## MAKECLEAN =
################################
##### building ffmpeg dlls #####
0 [main] sh 1904 sync_with_child: child 8076(0x1A8) died before initialization with status code 0x1
4398 [main] sh 1904 sync_with_child: *** child state child loading dlls
./build_xbmc_win32.sh: fork: Resource temporarily unavailable
failed to compile /xbmc/system/players/dvdplayer/avcodec-52.dll

not too sure how to solve this.. can anyone help?


RE: Setting up a development environment - Memphiz - 2012-07-19

What windows are you running? Did you try to deactivate your virus scanner?


RE: Setting up a development environment - Montellese - 2012-07-19

Runs fine for me on win7 x64. As Memphiz mentioned I'd check your virus scanner.


RE: Setting up a development environment - User 132847 - 2012-07-19

Using windows 8 without a virus scanner... or what ever the default is :S

I ran all the scripts again like 2 times and it works now...I now have a built version of eden.

I noticed it uses my userdata folder but I was hoping to keep it separateHuh anything I can do about this or just suck it up?

also would you advise using eden or should I just use the master branch and develop off that?


RE: Setting up a development environment - Montellese - 2012-07-19

You can start XBMC with the -p switch which will tell XBMC to put the userdata stuff into the installation directory. I have visual studio set up with the -p switch and XBMC_HOME pointing to the location of the code. That way during debugging it will always use the language files etc from the actual code and not from my real XBMC installation.

If you want to develop new features or fix bugs you should always work with the master branch. Otherwise you might have a hard time rebasing your changes onto all the changes that were applied since Eden.


RE: Setting up a development environment - User 132847 - 2012-07-20

(2012-07-19, 17:03)Montellese Wrote: You can start XBMC with the -p switch which will tell XBMC to put the userdata stuff into the installation directory. I have visual studio set up with the -p switch and XBMC_HOME pointing to the location of the code. That way during debugging it will always use the language files etc from the actual code and not from my real XBMC installation.

newbie question: how do I do that?

(2012-07-19, 17:03)Montellese Wrote: If you want to develop new features or fix bugs you should always work with the master branch. Otherwise you might have a hard time rebasing your changes onto all the changes that were applied since Eden.
OK, i'll move to master and hope things don't change as it will throw me off.





RE: Setting up a development environment - Montellese - 2012-07-20

If you are using Visual Studio (or Visual C++) you right-click on the "XBMC" project in the solution explorer, then you click on "Properties" and go to "Configuration Properties" -> "Debugging". There in the field "Command Arguments" you set "-p" and in the field "Environment" you set "XBMC_HOME=X:/path/to/your/sources" and close the dialog. Now when you start the debugger it should automatically start XBMC in portable mode (-p) and set it's home directory to whatever you set in XBMC_HOME.


RE: Setting up a development environment - User 132847 - 2012-07-21

hmm for whatever reason it been really temperamental for me but I've finally got the master branch built and running in debug mode.

Thanks for helping me get started Smile