Kodi Community Forum
Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: OS independent / Other (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=228)
+---- Thread: Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library (/showthread.php?tid=176224)

Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library - FlowBizkit - 2013-10-21

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to xbmc so probably this is an easy one for you.

I want to replace two 1.5 TB drives with a new 3 TB HDD in my Win7 HTPC.
All movies on both drives are in the library and I would like to know how I can keep the data after all files have moved to the new drive.
No filenames will be changed!
Perhaps you have an pretty easy solution, XBMC Version is Eden.
After I have done this I want to update or does it make more sense to do this before I move the files?

Thx in advance!
Kind regards

Flow

RE: Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library - nokdim - 2013-10-21

I dont think there is an easy solution but you can use this as a tutorial and if you are not using MySQL db you can use a local sqlite db browser like this one to make the same changes but on the sqlite side of things.

to make your work a little easier I would say add the new 3TB as the existing drive letter so if you have drive E and F add the new 3TB as drive E or F after its all copied over so you only have to update half the library.

RE: Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library - FlowBizkit - 2013-10-21

Ohhh thx.
So you mean I just should replace the path in the "MySQL" file?

RE: Moving files from two HDDs to a new one: Keeping the library - nokdim - 2013-10-21