Kodi Community Forum
Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Mac OS X (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=56)
+---- Thread: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. (/showthread.php?tid=183683)



Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - sdyates - 2014-01-17

I have done a lot of looking today. Most of what I have found comes from xvmc crashing. Most of my problems come from add ons freezing for long periods of time, though crashes do happen.

Is there an api or port I can call to get a message. A port or api that will be silent if the application is frozen. To me frozen is the inability to use standard controls to advance to another screen.

I am not a programmer, but I wrote a script years ago that listened on port 80 for an application an dafter two failed attempts I would force a restart.

I was thinking of using this code as the restart to ensure that all threads are killed, but again, I have no idea how to test XBMC if it is frozen Smile

<code>
sudo su -
killall -9 xbmc.bin
xinit /usr/local/bin/xbmc --standalone &
</code>


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - activate - 2014-01-18

Are you trying to automate this or do you just need to activate a script manually (via your remote) when XBMC is not responding ?


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - sdyates - 2014-01-18

(2014-01-18, 14:38)activate Wrote: Are you trying to automate this or do you just need to activate a script manually (via your remote) when XBMC is not responding ?

I am trying to automate the script. But, I want to make sure I do it the right way. I don't just want to restart XBMC if it fails, but to restart if it freezes or hangs.


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - activate - 2014-01-18

Yeah, I'm not a coder either but I'll be interested to see if you can make this work. I have used an app called Lingon that can restart an app when it crashes. I was talking with its developer and he indicated that its tricky to differentiate between when an pp is unresponsive (temporary state) and frozen.

I have mannual scripts that I evoke via my remote when I encounter it for now.


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - sdyates - 2014-01-18

(2014-01-18, 15:08)activate Wrote: Yeah, I'm not a coder either but I'll be interested to see if you can make this work. I have used an app called Lingon that can restart an app when it crashes. I was talking with its developer and he indicated that its tricky to differentiate between when an pp is unresponsive (temporary state) and frozen.

I have mannual scripts that I evoke via my remote when I encounter it for now.

I wrote a script years ago that would essentially "ping" a port. Whenever the app become unresponsive, the port failed to respond. I waited for two failed responses and then triggered a restart. However, I don't know much about the inner workings of XBMC. I must have some ports that work the same way. Then it is easy to create a script.


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - activate - 2014-01-19

Does that mean the script would constantly ping XBMC ?


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - sdyates - 2014-01-19

(2014-01-19, 01:08)activate Wrote: Does that mean the script would constantly ping XBMC ?

Yes, I can see no other way. However, if there is a better way, I am open to it, but I image a ping every 10 to 60 seconds would not cause a lot of overhead. Or is there a way of making this a kind of system service?


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - thefly666 - 2014-02-01

Download a program called Lingon from the app store ($4.99) and XBMC will always reopen after a crash


RE: Write script to auto start XBMC after freeze or crash. - Gigantur - 2014-02-05

Enable the webserver or upnp for the remote and you have a port to ping