Kodi Community Forum
Python and MythTV (a MythTV Front-End) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Python and MythTV (a MythTV Front-End) (/showthread.php?tid=2349)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39


- Loto_Bak - 2005-04-25

jpf,

try using the latest xbmcmythtv and the newest build you can find. i ocassionally get stuck in a window as well, but its not a huge deal to use the shutdown menu to restart xbmc. it does not happen often


- josurr - 2005-04-25

can anybody help a newbie?

i need to know how to get the latest cvs build for xbmcmythtv (and how to build it if necessary)...

i know how to install and run it in xbmc... just need to know how to obtain latest build

cheers,

josurr


- Loto_Bak - 2005-04-25

for simplicity you can use the web cvs client at sf.net here
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/xbmcmythtv/xbmcmythtv/

otherwise you will need to download and install a cvs client (cvstortise or wincvs). there should be more details on that at www.sf.net


- jpf - 2005-04-27

(loto_bak @ april 25 2005,06:17 Wrote:jpf,

try using the latest xbmcmythtv and the newest build you can find. i ocassionally get stuck in a window as well, but its not a huge deal to use the shutdown menu to restart xbmc. it does not happen often
how can you shutdown only xmbc without restarting the xbox manually?


- Loto_Bak - 2005-04-29

use the shutdown menu. press r2 (aka right joystick click button) and select restart from the menu


- jpf - 2005-04-30

(loto_bak @ april 29 2005,18:49 Wrote:use the shutdown menu. press r2 (aka right joystick click button) and select restart from the menu
that won't work if i'm stuck in mythtv will it?


- najt - 2005-04-30

i get an error with the latest xbmc build and the latest xbmcmythtv cvs. the error occurs when starting mythtvmain.py and says "argument 5 should be string: not none".

i did not occur with a xbmc build from the start of april. i also tried build 04-27 and 04-25 and get the error. i'll try older builds.


- najt - 2005-04-30

30-04-2005 23:35:22 info -->python initialized<--
30-04-2005 23:35:22 info
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug loadlibrarya('_sre.pyd')
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug executing entrypoint at: 0xf8a3cb - dll: _sre.pyd
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug loadlibrary('_sre.pyd') returning: 0xa80fb0
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug kernel32!getprocaddress(0xa80fb0, 'init_sre') => 0xf8a120
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug loadlibrarya('_ssl.pyd')
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug executing entrypoint at: 0xfde951 - dll: _ssl.pyd
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug loadlibrary('_ssl.pyd') returning: 0x9b6cc0
30-04-2005 23:35:22 debug kernel32!getprocaddress(0x9b6cc0, 'init_ssl') => 0xf91aa0
30-04-2005 23:35:23 debug loadlibrarya('pyexpat.pyd')
30-04-2005 23:35:23 debug executing entrypoint at: 0x1029c01 - dll: pyexpat.pyd
30-04-2005 23:35:23 debug loadlibrary('pyexpat.pyd') returning: 0x991390
30-04-2005 23:35:23 debug kernel32!getprocaddress(0x991390, 'initpyexpat') => 0x1014540
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info traceback (most recent call last):
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py", line 80, in ?
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info win.loadskin( "home.xml" )
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvskin.py", line 247, in loadskin
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info self.addcontrols(dom.getelementsbytagname("control"))
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvskin.py", line 296, in addcontrols
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info me.create()
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvskin.py", line 90, in create
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info c = xbmcgui.controlimage(x,y,w,h,tx)
30-04-2005 23:35:23 info typeerror: argument 5 must be string, not none


- najt - 2005-04-30

looks like the skin format has been changed in 04-17... great.


- jpf - 2005-05-01

i noticed one thing... when you get stuck in a screen and can't exit, the screen you enter goes black for maybe 500ms first,

every time you enter a screen that flashes black for a moment first gets stuck. but i can still go forward from that screen, for example if the recordedshows screen does it, then i can enter specific recordings and then select play etc, and then go back to the main recording menu. so one would think it's something to do with the screen initialisation.


- Loto_Bak - 2005-05-03

of course it works in the script, otherwise i wouldnt have mentioned it.
just try it.

madtw, i am unsure how the mythbackend handles frontends, but as problems/lockups occur in the script/xbmc the backend is not updated and can continue to tie up a tuner after the crash in xbmc. would it be possible to add a function to stop all playing items from xbmc in your script?


- CapnBry - 2005-05-03

using the latest xbmcmythtv from cvs and xbmc 2005-05-02 cvs build, i get this error trying to launch mythtvmain.py:
Quote:02-05-2005 21:38:54 info traceback (most recent call last):
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py", line 7, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info from mythtvgui import dialog
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info importerror
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info :
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info cannot import name dialog
02-05-2005 21:38:54 info
i've also got this in my log as well, but only once
Quote:02-05-2005 21:38:31 info traceback (most recent call last):
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py", line 7, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info from mythtvgui import dialog
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvgui.py", line 9, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info from singleton import delinstance, getinstance
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\singleton.py", line 10, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info import mythtvutil
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info file "q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvutil.py", line 10, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info from xml.dom import minidom, node
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info file "q:\python\python23.zlib\xml\.py", line 28, in ?
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info systemerror
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info :
02-05-2005 21:38:31 info null result without error in pyobject_call
and here's another interesting one (considering there's no line 144 in main.py)
Quote:02-05-2005 21:27:47 info q:\scripts\xbmcmythtv\mythtvmain.py:144: deprecationwarning: integer argument expected, got float
any ideas what the heck is going on here? i've wiped my whole xbmc directory, and 08face from both caches. doesn't seem to make a difference.


- madtw - 2005-05-03

capnbry: do you have python installed correctly? most of the time when i have seen import errors from people it is because they do not have python installed at all... so the imports fail. can you run other python scripts without problems? i haven't updated my cvs build in a couple of weeks so it could be that something changed in python recently as well...

loto_bak: i'll have to think about how to stop tuners after a crash in xbmc... it should be possible. although i might not be able to tell the difference between a different frontend using a tuner, the backend using a tuner, and tuners that were used before the crash. this would mean that i might end up stopping a show that is being recorded, etc... but i guess you can use it at your own risk.


- CapnBry - 2005-05-03

oh yeah, i forgot to mention that. yes, other python scripts work fine (at least the launch browser, gamespotplus, and an older version of gamespot). i can't guarantee that i have python set up 100% on the xbox though, since all i do is pull cvs and use the build.bat.

i'll try pulling older revisions from cvs and seeing if i can find a version that works. if i can do that, then i'll narrow down what makes it stop working and let you know.

edit: hmm got it working on another box here that had an old xbmc on it. i'll report back when i find the magic!


- jpf - 2005-05-03

getting stuck in windows - the solution

in /keymap.xml find the <global> section.
then remap one of the buttons to exit to the main menu whenever you want.

if you get stuck in a screen , just press the "stop" button on your remote, it will get you back to the main menu. this doesn't affect any program that uses the stop button legitimately.

the key line is: <execute>xbmc.activatewindow(0)</execute>

<action>
<description>stop</description>
<id>13</id>
<remote>stop</remote>
<remotecode></remotecode>
<keyboard>x</keyboard>
<execute>xbmc.activatewindow(0)</execute>
</action>