XBMC Community Forum
[WINDOWS] Launcher plugin for XBMC - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: [WINDOWS] Launcher plugin for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=34834)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19


[WINDOWS] Launcher plugin for XBMC - leo2 - 2008-07-13 23:45

Hello there,

I've created a small plugin that allow launch windows programs inside XBMC "Programs" section.

Unlike the "emuLauncher" script, mine is a plugin, not a script, so it integrates with the XBMC GUI seamlessly.

I'll be thankful if you would install and test my plugin, so I will fix bugs before I continue improving it.

Download Link:
http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-launcher/downloads/list

SVN Access:
svn checkout http://xbmc-launcher.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ xbmc-launcher-read-only

Wiki:
http://code.google.com/p/xbmc-launcher/wiki/Main

Plugin Features:
- Run an application with arguments.
- Run a file from directory using given application.
- Search & Download images for applications and files using Yahoo search engine.
- Full work with the GUI with. (add application, remove, add files, etc..)

Installation:
1. unzip the file into Plugins/Program directory.
2. (linux users only): create a symlink for /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 named /usr/lib/libcurl.so (run: "sudo ln -sf /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4 /usr/lib/libcurl.so" in terminal)
3. Run XBMC:
3.1. Switch to MC360 Skin (or some other skin that has "Programs" Section)
3.2. Go to Games -> Applications -> Add Source -> Browse -> Program Plugins
3.3. Select Launcher and Click "OK"
3.4. Click OK Again.
3.5. Right Click on "Launcher" Icon
3.6. Choose "Add to Favorites"
3.7. Switch back to PMIII Skin.
3.8. Click on the Arrow in the bottom right corner
3.9. Choose "Launcher"

leo


- budwize - 2008-07-14 01:23

wow awesome stuff Smile


- Rand Al Thor - 2008-07-14 03:22

Sweet! I will check it out tonight. Thanks.


- ninebr34ker - 2008-07-14 05:43

there will be grand testing tonight!


- Gamester17 - 2008-07-14 12:50

is it possible to make it work for Linux and Mac OS X as well (and Xbox as well for that matter?)?

Confused


- marlboroman1 - 2008-07-14 13:07

i'm realy not wining with this do i need to install any thing elss i left mame alown and edited the pc section like so tryed a few difernt combination but this semed logical but it was no go

<launcher>
<name>PC</name>
<application>C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe</application>
<rompath>C:\Program Files</rompath>
<romext></romext>
<thumb>http://www.allgame.com/img/systems/ibmpc.gif</thumb>
<roms>
<rom>
<name>Firefox</name>
<filename>C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe</filename>
<thumb>http://image.allmusic.com/00/agg/cov200/drg200/g232/g23272wu1hc.jpg</thumb>
</rom>
</roms>
</launcher>
</launchers>


if any one can see were I've gone wrong please let me know


log in case its needed
http://pastebin.com/m38591ff8


- rausch101 - 2008-07-14 23:54

Wow, I've been waiting for this for so long. I'm sure a lot of people agree with me when I say thanks so much for all of your work leo.

Will test it out later tonight


- rausch101 - 2008-07-15 02:32

No go for me. Followed the instructions, put the "launchers.xml" in both UserData directories (in documents in settings as well as in Program Files). Modified the launchers.xml to have no conflicts with my directories and still no go. Using vista x32. Still thanks very much for the first beta, it's nice to know it at least works on leo's machine


- ninebr34ker - 2008-07-15 08:46

all right I did some short testing on it. I think the way this is happening is definetly the right idea. Seperating the pc games and emulation, and allowing xbmc to act as a frontend is honestly exactly what I hoping the xbmc devs would get to.

Now I edited the launchers.xml file so it would point to a version of everyday shooter on my pc. No go. I can enter the plugin but from there nothing shows up. Heres my config am I doing something wrong? (I left the emulators in there and I'll be trying some other methods later.

<launcher>
<name>PC</name>
<application></application>
<rompath></rompath>
<romext></romext>
<thumb>http://www.allgame.com/img/systems/ibmpc.gif</thumb>
<roms>
<rom>
<name>Everyday Shooter</name>
<filename>C:\Program Files\Everyday Shooter\EverydayShooter.exe</filename>
<thumb>http://image.allmusic.com/00/agg/cov200/drg200/g232/g23272wu1hc.jpg</thumb>
</rom>
</roms>
</launcher>
</launchers>


- kricker - 2008-07-15 16:56

@marlboroman
Try this:
Code:
<launcher>
        <name>Browsers</name>
        <application></application>
        <rompath></rompath>
        <romext></romext>
        <thumb></thumb>
        <roms>
            <rom>
                <name>Firefox</name>
                <filename>"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"</filename>
                <thumb></thumb>
            </rom>
        </roms>
    </launcher>
</launchers>



- kricker - 2008-07-15 16:58

ninebr34ker Wrote:all right I did some short testing on it. I think the way this is happening is definetly the right idea. Seperating the pc games and emulation, and allowing xbmc to act as a frontend is honestly exactly what I hoping the xbmc devs would get to.

Now I edited the launchers.xml file so it would point to a version of everyday shooter on my pc. No go. I can enter the plugin but from there nothing shows up. Heres my config am I doing something wrong? (I left the emulators in there and I'll be trying some other methods later.

<launcher>
<name>PC</name>
<application></application>
<rompath></rompath>
<romext></romext>
<thumb>http://www.allgame.com/img/systems/ibmpc.gif</thumb>
<roms>
<rom>
<name>Everyday Shooter</name>
<filename>C:\Program Files\Everyday Shooter\EverydayShooter.exe</filename>
<thumb>http://image.allmusic.com/00/agg/cov200/drg200/g232/g23272wu1hc.jpg</thumb>
</rom>
</roms>
</launcher>
</launchers>
change <filename> to:
Code:
<filename>"C:\Program Files\Everyday Shooter\EverydayShooter.exe"</filename>
and try it.


- kricker - 2008-07-15 17:00

@leo2
It is working ok for me. I noticed a command prompt opening up. For some programs it closes when the application launches, for others it stays up until the application closes. Can you have this command prompt hidden, and possibly not hang around until some applications close?


- marlboroman1 - 2008-07-15 18:46

that's the first thing I tried have you had this working?
I just get a little command line box pop up and vanish before I can read what its trying to tell me


- kricker - 2008-07-15 18:49

marlboroman1 Wrote:that's the first thing I tried have you had this working?
I just get a little command line box pop up and vanish before I can read what its trying to tell me
Yes it is working for me. I saw the same thing you did. So then I thought he is using the command prompt to launch things, which means any path with a space in the name needs "" around it. Are you sure you had double quotes around your path name like I posted?


- leo2 - 2008-07-15 20:18

Hi, I'm glad to know that this plugin is usefull for someone.
I'll be happy to help solve problems in it, sorry for the delay in my answer.
1. The command prompt cannot be hidden - it's an XBMC system call that is out of my control.
2. the command prompt disappears immediately if the application was started on as a different process, it's depends on the application itself.
3. in order to launch standalone programs like firefox, etc there is need to create an empty launcher, and put the program as a rom for the launcher.
like this:
Code:
<launcher>
        <name>PC</name>
        <application></application>
        <rompath></rompath>
        <romext></romext>
        <thumb></thumb>
        <roms>
            <rom>
                <name>Firefox</name>
                <filename>"c:\Program Files\Internet\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"</filename>
                <thumb></thumb>
            </rom>
        </roms>
    </launcher>

if the program is in "program files" or any other directory that has a space in the its name, a double quotes is needed.

4. the rompath is unused right now, so ignore it.
5. the thumb isn't working either. so ignore it.
6. this plugin can be easily support linux, about mac i'm not sure.
when I'll change it to support linux - I'll be happy if some linux guy will test it.
7. it's far away to be a beta, it's hardly an alpha version.
I'm planing to add an ability to configure everything from the XBMC and auto download images from the web.

I'll be happy to get more ideas.

leo