XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox (/showthread.php?tid=35739)



- TerranQ - 2009-07-06 04:59

For the fullscreen issues, you don't have the fullscreen argument (usually -fs or -fullscreen).


- pmootrey - 2009-07-06 06:32

Is it possible to have Launcher.py auto scrape thumbs for all imported files?


- Nykad - 2009-07-06 19:30

Hi guys,

I'm having a problem with launcher and I really hope someone can help me or at least give me a lead on what the problem might be. I have launcher setup so it will run an emulator I setup for testing purposes (ZSNES) and its working fine launching a ROM stored local on the machine itself. When I try to run a ROM located on my file server, with the emulator local of course, it will show the progress bar going to 100% then nothing will happen Confused (nothings running in the background as far as I can tell).

Since launcher can't browse network shares (right?) I created a link file which points to a mounted samba share which contains my ROM files. I've checked the XBMC logs and nothing appears to be unusual. Again, the emulator is working fine when the ROMs are local. My link file to the samba share is working because I can copy, browse and delete files from it just fine.

Does anyone what any tips to help me troubleshoot this issue? Thank you! Big Grin


- urbanrider - 2009-07-08 23:30

Hi I have it installed in XBMC windows. Though when i click on it it says "recived 0 files" then says "script error". Then does nothing

any help would be appreciated


- willcmuk - 2009-07-09 09:57

Hi all,

Is it possible to manually add backdrops to games using launcher or not?


- Tainted - 2009-07-10 01:08

I'm running XBMX Linve 9.0.4.

And have just download the Launger file, unzipped it into the programs folder. When I go to ru it it says there is a error in the default.py and then system basically hangs?


- Tainted - 2009-07-10 01:53

double post.


- willcmuk - 2009-07-10 10:23

Hi I'm no artist but put together some images I found on the web and created these, for the Aeon skin I'll do the rest at somepoint this week. Hope you like them.

[Image: n64.png]

(http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i175/willcm/n64.png)

[Image: megadrive.png]

(http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i175/willcm/megadrive.png)


- greatant1337 - 2009-07-10 10:34

Tainted Wrote:I'm running XBMX Linve 9.0.4.

And have just download the Launger file, unzipped it into the programs folder. When I go to ru it it says there is a error in the default.py and then system basically hangs?

Dude, atleast read over what you've written before you post.

Make sure you've put it into this folder: \XBMC\plugins\Programs\
Run it from Programs -> Program plugins.


- steve1977 - 2009-07-11 04:25

steve1977 Wrote:Does anyone has first hand experience getting it to work on a Mac. Could you post a step-by-step guide? The one in the first post doesnt work for XBMC for Mac.

Anyone with a Mac happy to help? I read all 48 pages and unfortunately I didnt find any explanation how to get working, but at least an indication that it shoudl also be working on a mac (at least in theory)...


- cyberpark - 2009-07-11 22:43

Newbie to Linux, but still....

How do I install Firefox to the Linux XBMC Launcher?
Can someone show me an example?

I actually managed to get Spotify working from XBMC Launcher today, only problem is that it's quite buggy if you haven't started Gnome first (switching between the windows..)

Thanks in advance!


- The-Boxhead - 2009-07-12 20:49

puh... been browsing to all these mad posts to figure out
my problem but have not been able to find anything by search or browsing so sorry if this issue has been mentioned before.

I got the latest launcher working on my ubuntu.

i was able to launch firefox but it only shows up windowed and im not able to control it.
i also tried sdlmame but that gives me just a black screen no matter what i try...

so my question is: has anyone on linux made launcher work with either firefox or sdlmame ? if so please give some hints on how you did it. If there is no one
actually making this work i just stop trying Smile


- klikkamongo - 2009-07-14 00:16

Got Windows XP with Babylon 9.04. I got nVidia 8300 and the the program Ultramon, anyone know how I can get the programs open in monitor two (second monitor)?


- us1111 - 2009-07-14 18:26

The-Boxhead Wrote:puh... been browsing to all these mad posts to figure out
my problem but have not been able to find anything by search or browsing so sorry if this issue has been mentioned before.

I got the latest launcher working on my ubuntu.

i was able to launch firefox but it only shows up windowed and im not able to control it.
i also tried sdlmame but that gives me just a black screen no matter what i try...

so my question is: has anyone on linux made launcher work with either firefox or sdlmame ? if so please give some hints on how you did it. If there is no one
actually making this work i just stop trying Smile

Same problem here... Also i had to make a softlink from /usr/share/xbmc/userdata to /usr/share/xbmc/UserData to make it work (error with default.py).

Hope someone can figure this out, really would like to be able to start firefox (and other programs).


- us1111 - 2009-07-16 08:14

us1111 Wrote:Same problem here... Also i had to make a softlink from /usr/share/xbmc/userdata to /usr/share/xbmc/UserData to make it work (error with default.py).

Hope someone can figure this out, really would like to be able to start firefox (and other programs).

Maybe I'm doing something wrong here?