XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Launcher - application launcher plugin for Linux, Mac, Windows, and Xbox (/showthread.php?tid=35739)



- KeLLoGsX - 2010-03-28 23:06

OK, I've been trying my best to find how this launcher works, reading here, googleing and through the code-page but I just can't seem to find a decent howto manual. Perhaps I'm just missing something very simple..... I have extracted the files and the launcher is visible in xbmc but how on earth do I manage it launch any programs, files or anything?
//KeLLoGsX


- KeLLoGsX - 2010-03-30 16:06

Please anyone help out, I'm going nuts over this......
This is how it goes: I've unzipped the Launcher files into ../plugins/Programs
start xbmc, locate the plugin, save as favourite
go into favourites, check Launcher settings.... can only change thumbs path there
click Launcher plugin and it starts loading directory and then xbmc crashes!

I know I need a launchers.xml (I think) but what should it look like and where do I put it?
I tried something like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?>
<launchers>
<launcher>
<name>Crysis</name>
<application>d:\Games\Crysis\Bin32\Crysis.exe</application>
<thumb>d:\Games\thumbs\crysis.jpg</thumb>
</launcher>
</launchers>

Do I need to change anything in the original files, like settings.xml or any other?

I'll either use this plugin to launch games directly or via a .bat-file.

Thanx!!
//KeLLoGsX


- Cangio87 - 2010-04-05 00:46

For KeLLoGsX:

Hi, i have found this way myself and i don't know if this is the true way:
my launchers.xml file is like this :
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes" ?>
- <launchers>
- <launcher>
  <name>Internet</name>
  <application>C:\Programs\FirefoxPortable\FirefoxPortable.exe</application>
  <args />
  <rompath />
  <romext />
  <thumb />
  <wait>true</wait>
  <roms />
  </launcher>
  </launchers>

and i put it into the plugin data folder:

C:\Documents and Settings\SalonHD\ApplicationData\XBMC\userdata\plugin_data\programs\Launcher

I think that is not important if the application in xml file exist or not.

Sorry for my english.
Bye


[LINUX] Launch app from xbmclive - vikjon0 - 2010-04-06 20:30

I made a step by step for linux. It is working very good. Firefox is finally useable in xbmcLive.
Edit:
Read updated version here instead:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=71664


- mannesch - 2010-04-08 17:54

zosky Wrote:your welcome freestyler3000
__________

this may be a corner case, but im going to share in case any1 else is in the same boat... am using HDMI sound. the TV volume is at ~80% and this makes for great sound levels when xbmc's vol is around the same place. PROBLEM IS, all the EMUs are WAAAAY LOAD. (i've probably gone a little deaf from forgetting to turn down the TV before launching and i've woken up my flat-mate a few time now Frown )

here's how i've 'fixed' the volume issue Nerd

  1. make a launcher.sh for leo's launcher
    adjust volume as you see fit
    Code:
    amixer -c 0 sset PCM,0 [color=Red]20%[/color]
    $@
    amixer -c 0 sset PCM,0 100%
  2. rejig <application> & <args> in each <launcher>
    within the ~/.xbmc/userdata/plugin_data/programs/Launcher/launchers.xml
    Code:
        <launcher>
            <name>SNES</name>
            <application>/path/to/launcher.sh</application>
            <args>zsnes -m -y</args>


as far as i can tell mupen64plus is the only 1 with its own built-in volume control. so i had to set that 1 back to 100. (~/.mupen64plus/jttl_audio.conf)

I tried this, but it breaks my emulators.
I've added "> test.log" to the $@ rule, and zsnes i.e. says
Code:
ZSNES v1.51, (c) 1997-2007, ZSNES Team
Be sure to check http://www.zsnes.com/ for the latest version.

ZSNES is written by the ZSNES Team (See AUTHORS.TXT)
ZSNES comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.  This is free software,
and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
please read 'LICENSE.TXT' thoroughly before doing so.

Use ZSNES -? for command line definitions.

Starting Mouse detection.
Unable to poll /dev/input/event4. Make sure you have read permissions to it.
Unable to poll /dev/input/event3. Make sure you have read permissions to it.
Unable to poll /dev/input/event2. Make sure you have read permissions to it.
Unable to poll /dev/input/event1. Make sure you have read permissions to it.
Unable to poll /dev/input/event0. Make sure you have read permissions to it.
ManyMouse: 0 mice detected.
Error opening file!

So i don't have a mouse, so that doesn't seem to be the problem. but error opening file?

I'm running Ubuntu 10.04, the emulators work without this trick, but the volume is way to loud. So it would be nice if I can use this method to start my emulators

Thx

edit:

I changed the line
Code:
$@

to
Code:
zsnes "${@}"
and i made different launcher files for the different emu's. It all seems to work now! Smile


- rausch101 - 2010-04-21 02:25

Revision 25 from the SVN trunk gives a "Script Failed" error on r28256 (and above I assume).

Can anyone else confirm this?

I am trying to solve my problem of the roms being sorted by Date and it looks like leo committed the fix in this post (on page 57) but since it wont launch I can't confirm this. Launcher 1.04 loads fine but sorts the roms by date.


Zsnes on linux - phearless-d - 2010-04-21 12:54

I wrote a tutorial for getting launcher and zsnes working together on a Live install.
Should work with any xbmc linux install.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=72441


- rausch101 - 2010-04-21 16:43

Thanks for the info, but the problem I am having is that the roms are sorting by date, which essentially means they are randomly sorted. Your tutorial doesn't address a workaround for this problem on later XBMC revisions.


- zosky - 2010-04-22 09:11

rausch101 Wrote:Thanks for the info, but the problem I am having is that the roms are sorting by date, which essentially means they are randomly sorted. Your tutorial doesn't address a workaround for this problem on later XBMC revisions.

the solution for that is in this thread here cred's to justSomeUser


My Bad - phearless-d - 2010-04-22 17:35

Sorry didnt pay attention to what exactly your problem was lols.

I have my ones manually sorted so i can choose the poster art used.
not usefull when you have 100's of roms but i just keep my favs.

P


- rausch101 - 2010-04-24 22:36

zosky Wrote:the solution for that is in this thread here cred's to justSomeUser

Thanks again, but this is what causes Launcher to crash upon launching. I think leo2 pushed that fix to the SVN in the post right afterwards, which is why I was saying originally that the newest launcher SVN crashes in the newest XBMC svn.

Is launcher crashing for anyone else in new XBMC versions? I'm on win7 x64


- rausch101 - 2010-04-25 20:37

As per this post, you made your way onto LifeHacker, leo!

http://lifehacker.com/5523672/turn-your-xbmc-media-center-into-a-video-game-console


- Izod517 - 2010-04-25 23:08

I've got a weird problem with Launcher 1.04 in XBMC 9.11 Live - I can manually add rom files to the Launcher.xml and they'll load fine, etc - but if i try to use Launcher to import the directory I get Script failure. It also fails when trying to update Thumbs. It's like it can't write to Launcher.xml?


- Izod517 - 2010-04-25 23:28

I'm stupid. launchers.xml was owned by root / root....


Case Sensitivity with ROMs - Strut Tower - 2010-04-26 04:03

I've got everything setup and working with JustSomeUser's version, 1.04 patched r1. But my ROM links in Launcher aren't matching the capitalization of the file names from the ROMs themselves. So instead of Breath of Fire I'm getting Breath of fire. Not a big deal but it's annoying. If I manually rename them then it will import a duplicate with the uncapitalized name.

Is anyone else having this problem? I noticed that the pictures on the Lifehacker post looked correct.