Kodi Community Forum
Goom breaks compilation on AMD64 - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: Goom breaks compilation on AMD64 (/showthread.php?tid=35779)



Goom breaks compilation on AMD64 - szwagros - 2008-08-11

Hi,

First of all I'm not autoconf, configure etc. guru Smile so patch below may be not the best solution of the problem. Anyway - recently Goom was added to standard build procedure:

http://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/xbmc?view=rev&revision=14830

That breaks build on AMD64. It compiles fine but during linking stage it complains about goom that it needs to be compiled with -fPIC. So below is patch that fixes this problem. I don't know if it's the correct way to fix this but it works Smile After running autoconf to rebuild configure of course.

I tested this on AMD64 platform. I don't have any 32 bit machine to test it.

Code:
--- /home/szwagros/sources/XBMC/configure.in    2008-08-11 23:32:22.000000000 +0200
+++ /home/szwagros/sources/XBMC_work/configure.in    2008-08-11 22:36:26.000000000 +0200
@@ -475,7 +475,7 @@
XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/lib/libass], [CFLAGS=-fPIC ./configure])
XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/lib/libid3tag/libid3tag],[CFLAGS=-O3 ./configure --disable-static --disable-debugging --with-pic])
XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/visualizations/XBMCProjectM/libprojectM],[rm -f CMakeCache.txt && CC="" CXX="" cmake -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE:STRING=RelWithDebInfo -D USE_FTGL:BOOL=OFF .])
-XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/visualizations/Goom/goom2k4-0],[./configure --disable-shared --enable-static])
+XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/visualizations/Goom/goom2k4-0],[CFLAGS=-fPIC ./configure --disable-shared --enable-static])
XB_CONFIG_MODULE([xbmc/screensavers/rsxs-0.9/], [CFLAGS=-fPIC CXXFLAGS=-fPIC ./configure --without-xscreensaver --disable-sound --disable-cyclone --disable-fieldlines --disable-flocks --disable-flux --disable-helios --disable-hyperspace --disable-lattice --disable-skyrocket])

AC_OUTPUT

Hope it helps.

Adam


- althekiller - 2008-08-12

Hehe sorry, forgot to commit that change last night.


- xmltok - 2008-08-15

Goom is also failing to build on my debian box because ylwrap is missing. It can be added with a --add-missing, if you can make the commit Smile

make[2]: Entering directory `/home/htpc/XBMC/xbmc/visualizations/Goom/goom2k4-0'
cd . && automake-1.10 --foreign
configure.in: required file `./ylwrap' not found
configure.in: `automake --add-missing' can install `ylwrap'


- xmltok - 2008-08-16

thanks!


- Sheep - 2008-08-19

xmltok Wrote:Goom is also failing to build on my debian box because ylwrap is missing. It can be added with a --add-missing, if you can make the commit Smile

make[2]: Entering directory `/home/htpc/XBMC/xbmc/visualizations/Goom/goom2k4-0'
cd . && automake-1.10 --foreign
configure.in: required file `./ylwrap' not found
configure.in: `automake --add-missing' can install `ylwrap'

where exactly did you patch?
cause i can add --add-missing everywhere i want, i still get the error.


- aqtrans - 2008-08-23

Sheep Wrote:where exactly did you patch?
cause i can add --add-missing everywhere i want, i still get the error.
Same here. Trying to compile, and I get this error.


- xmltok - 2008-09-13

Sorry, that only fixed it on 32bit. I have the same problem with AMD64.


- monkeyman - 2008-11-16

I actually have the same problem and I'm till trying to fix it.


- monkeyman - 2008-11-16

Be sure that you have yacc installed. For Ubuntu, that means running "apt-get install bison".


- gnif - 2009-01-06

I had the same problem, installing bison did not fix it for me.
I just copied in the ylwrap file from the automake1.10 directory, that solved it for me Smile


- miribota - 2009-01-13

Quote:I just copied in the ylwrap file from the automake1.10 directory

Where did you copy the ylwrap file to?


- spiff - 2009-01-13

it's in svn