XBMC Community Forum
[APPLE TV] XBMC for Mac (Atlantis Beta 1) on the Apple TV - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Mac OS X support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=56)
+---- Thread: [APPLE TV] XBMC for Mac (Atlantis Beta 1) on the Apple TV (/showthread.php?tid=37345)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14


- yzeyze - 2008-10-03 01:43

davilla Wrote:XBMCLauncher.frappliance.tar.gz, the tar.gz is a clue that the file is tar'ed and gzipped. Under linux and OSX ;

tar -xzf XBMCLauncher.frappliance.tar.gz will extract the contents which will be a folder called "XBMCLauncher.frappliance"


you can do this under the AppleTV, copy (scp) XBMCLauncher.frappliance.tar.gz to the AppleTV,
extract it, then move it to

/System/Library/CoreServices/Finder.app/Contents/PlugIns

OSBoot needs to be read/write and you will need to use sudo when moving it into place.
woohoo thanks davilla - worked perfectly.
Now can run XBMC in 1280x720 (what my ATV is set to). Smile


- tuckbodi - 2008-10-03 06:37

davilla Wrote:I only see SapphireAppliance being loaded, you say you do see boxee. Hum, maybe some interaction with SapphireAppliance. If you could just mv SapphireAppliance out of the Finder plugins, reverify xbmc/boxee are present in Finder plugins, then reboot and check to see if they appear.

I had removed Boxee sometime previously.

Okay, through trial and error I figured out a couple of things but in the end I finally got it running.

1) I was having trouble with Safari (3.1.2 on 10.4.11) bringing down a good copy of the file. I figured this out early on and switched to Firefox (how I got Boxee working).
2) With XBMC I was unarchiving it locally on my Mac and then moving it up to the ATV. Finally saw your tar command post and it hit me I should try that. Bingo, it worked.

Thx again for a great plugin!


- thundershare - 2008-10-03 11:55

davilla Wrote:Need to see the console.log

ssh in

sudo find / -name console.log -print

scp this file out and stick it to http://pastebin.com/ and post the URL.

http://pastebin.com/m540dc3fc

thanks! Nod


- live4ever - 2008-10-03 16:43

turbinez Wrote:what flash drive do you recommend i get? will it say on the packaging that its U3 so that i can avoid it?
Worked with an older generation Sony Microvault 2GB for me.
[Image: 24qv2ie.jpg]


- xeonicxpression - 2008-10-03 19:34

davilla Wrote:If the Flash drive says "bootable" on the package labeling it should be fine, Don't go larger than 2GB.

I used this 4gb HP stick. It worked like a charm. It was only $20 too. It was the only thing in that price range that I could find that wasn't U3 enabled and was in stock at my local BB.

Edit: I would also like to make a suggestion. On the first post, you should mention that the screensaver in frontrow needs to be disabled. Is there anyway you could make the patchstick disable the screensaver? I kept having to ssh in and reboot the appletv because I kept forgetting to do that.


- davilla - 2008-10-03 20:52

xeonicxpression Wrote:On the first post, you should mention that the screensaver in frontrow needs to be disabled. Is there anyway you could make the patchstick disable the screensaver? I kept having to ssh in and reboot the appletv because I kept forgetting to do that.

Not done yet Wink working on the issues.


- Gamester17 - 2008-10-04 00:13

davilla Wrote:some called "LaunchU3.exe" is a pretty good indication that this flash drive is U3. It will not work so find another.
FYI; U3.com provides an official software to completely remove the U3 software and hidden partition, see: http://www.u3.com/uninstall/default.aspx


- loonix - 2008-10-04 16:32

Is xbmc_remote available or planned to be available for windows hosts?

It would be nice to control the apple TV that way with no other MAC Sad in the household.

Thanks

AR aka loonix


huh? - Gamester17 - 2008-10-04 19:58

loonix Wrote:Is xbmc_remote available or planned to be available for windows hosts?
What are you referring to exacly? Confused


- d4rk - 2008-10-04 20:07

He's referring to the little event client (SDL app) that Topfs2 wrote that sends XBMCk keyboard events. Davilla and some others have been using it as a keyboard emulator for Apple TV.

loonix, currently, I don't think anyone has compiled it on Windows, so you might be out of luck. However it's quite easy to do. Also, know that XBMC has a built in web server which you can enable and use to control it (by just pointing your browser to the Apple TV's IP address). Settings->Network->Web Server


- Aereo - 2008-10-04 23:54

I'm pretty excited about XBMC running on my AppleTV already, but I'd like to see if anyone has some straightforward answers for a couple of deceptive questions I have. I'm a seasoned Machead and an iPhone hackery extraordinaire, but I'm having trouble entering into the XBMC "realm" with AppleTV.

1. How does one enable SSH to the AppleTV? Is a hardmod required, or would my patchstick from Boxee have enabled it?

2. Once SSH is enabled, is it possible to connect to the AppleTV via an SSH-combatible Mac FTP client such as Transmit? If so, what can I expect to place in the server, username, password, port, and initial path columns?

3. Would SSH allow me to change skins? Place media on XBMC?

4. What is the most common way to get your media (music, movies, TV shows, all non-DRM) onto XBMC on AppleTV?

Thanks to everyone in advance. If anyone needs help with the iPhone, you know who to call.


- Rekoil - 2008-10-05 00:35

Aereo Wrote:1. How does one enable SSH to the AppleTV? Is a hardmod required, or would my patchstick from Boxee have enabled it?
The patchstick installing Boxee and/or XBMC should have enabled it unless you changed the settings in the patchstick creator program (installs SSH by default)

Aereo Wrote:2. Once SSH is enabled, is it possible to connect to the AppleTV via an SSH-combatible Mac FTP client such as Transmit? If so, what can I expect to place in the server, username, password, port, and initial path columns?
Username and password are both "frontrow", server is just the ip address of your aTV, port is the standard port for SSH/SCP, initial path is ~ by default, you could make it ~/Movies if you wanna get to the films directory right away.

Aereo Wrote:3. Would SSH allow me to change skins? Place media on XBMC?
Yes, SSH/SCP (secure shell/secure copy) will let you run a terminal on the aTV (SSH) or simply upload files and manage existing files (SCP).

Aereo Wrote:4. What is the most common way to get your media (music, movies, TV shows, all non-DRM) onto XBMC on AppleTV?
It varies, many users like to use AFP but I personally favour FTP because it's more open than AFP. SMB is also a possibility. But to enable all of these you are going to need either an intel Tiger machine (10.4.8+) or an aTV 1.0 recovery image to get the binaries from.

Further information is available at http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/


- Aereo - 2008-10-05 06:23

Thanks VERY much, Rekoil. I really appreciate it.


- CASHMON3Y - 2008-10-05 07:51

Its still possible to stream content to the ATV right? Im looking at buying one of these, but I want to make sure that it can do everything I want it to.


- Gamester17 - 2008-10-05 15:51

CASHMON3Y Wrote:Its still possible to stream content to the ATV right? Im looking at buying one of these, but I want to make sure that it can do everything I want it to.
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Mac_on_Apple_TV
http://xbmc.org/about/
http://xbmc.org/about/features/
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_Online_Manual
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Frequently_Asked_Questions