XBMC Community Forum
[Windows] HOW-TO make XBMC for Windows boot as a Shell in Full Screen (the easy way) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Announcements, Info, and General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=85)
+--- Forum: Tips, tricks, and step by step guides (/forumdisplay.php?fid=110)
+--- Thread: [Windows] HOW-TO make XBMC for Windows boot as a Shell in Full Screen (the easy way) (/showthread.php?tid=37492)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5


- goddag - 2008-12-31 00:56

sexus6 Wrote:I use this silentlaunch method in combo with InstallShell...

All is perfect except HDMI audio for my motherboard.

When I startup normally my windows system (without this mod), Audio works by HDMI, xbmc include.

The problem is when I execute this mod by silentlaunch. Audio is lost sometimes... I think that the reason is that XBMC starts with silentlaunch BEFORE the audio manager for internal sound card (Asus M3A78-EM motherboard).

Can I invoke this audio manager BEFORE xbmc at the same script?

I´m not sure if this will help, and I´m not sure how your sound manager is started now, but you can always try to move the startup to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunService

This is one quite early way of staring a windows application. I haven't tested this myself.


- waldo22 - 2009-02-17 18:37

goddag Wrote:I´m not sure if this will help, and I´m not sure how your sound manager is started now, but you can always try to move the startup to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunService

This is one quite early way of staring a windows application. I haven't tested this myself.
Quote:Also how do I add some other programs to start with XBMC (need to start remote software)

There are several questions about running remote programs, audio services, etc.

If you're using SilentLaunch, you can simply edit the SilentLaunch.cfg file to add the things you want to start in the order you need. Add as much as you want.

If you're using EventGhost, you can do the same by adding the programs to the "AutoStart" menu.

-Wes


- thirteeneast - 2009-03-04 23:13

Could you not just put shell in :Programs/Start up>shell ?


- waldo22 - 2009-03-11 21:57

thirteeneast Wrote:Could you not just put shell in :Programs/Start up>shell ?

Yes but it's slower, and then you see the whole Windows task bar/start menu and all that stuff.

-Wes


- memnock1985 - 2009-07-21 01:54

When I use the SilentLaunch method, I get XMBC to start, but it starts with the deafault skin and my library is empty. Its like it starts a clean install of XBMC. If I starts it normaly it starts as it should. Any ideas?


- Eatmeimadanish - 2009-08-02 23:55

The reason XBMC is loading the default skin is that you did not define a working directory for XBMC in the launch/shortcut but specified portable mode. You specified a target, but not the working directory (probably the same as target)


- dave1233345 - 2009-08-04 23:01

what purpus does this have? what does it do?


- waldo22 - 2009-08-07 16:50

it does this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hpm3MOl25HU


- pendragon - 2009-08-09 18:58

The video looks very nice. How did you modify the bios logo?

For the windows boot logo I'm using Bootskin. The best directions I've found for replacing the shell is at: http://wiki.arcadecontrols.com/wiki/Hiding_Windows

This is aimed at loading a mame frontend system, but just point it to xbmc instead.


- waldo22 - 2009-08-11 05:19

pendragon Wrote:For the windows boot logo I'm using Bootskin. The best directions I've found for replacing the shell is at: http://wiki.arcadecontrols.com/wiki/Hiding_Windows

Well, I'm kinda partial to our wiki method, as I wrote most of it Smile
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=HOW-TO_make_XBMC_for_Windows_boot_as_a_Shell_in_Full_Screen
(also linked at top of this thread)

pendragon Wrote:The video looks very nice. How did you modify the bios logo?

Here is a forum thread on how to alter your BIOS boot logo:

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=284283&postcount=9

I used cbrom to edit the BIOS file and add my custom logo to it, although a lot of motherboards these days come with tools to change the logo.

And here is a post on how to alter the Windows startup logo. (This is a bit of work...)

http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=379779&postcount=16

The cool thing is, for Windows XP, ntoskrnl.exe contains logos for Windows Server 2003 as well, which has a silver progress bar... so I just replaced the XP image with the 2003 image, and voila!

Hope this helps.

-Wes


- therain93 - 2009-08-31 18:14

Since the wiki cannot be edited, another tip for setting the shell --

if you have multiple logons for your computer and only want to replace the shell for a specific user, log on as that user (e.g. xbmc), enter regedit, and go to this key:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\WindowsNT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]


So I have xbmc runningoff my best pc which is also my gaming machine. I have to logons, therain and xbmc. Since I want to make this as user-friendly for my gf as possible, on power-up I have the machine automatically boot and auto-login to xbmc, with the eventghost shell replacement launching xbmc. If I want to mess around, I log off/switch users to my logon and happily play away (and rip/tinker/etc.)


- Irish2685 - 2009-11-08 17:13

I hate to bring up an oldish thread, but I recently used the EventGhost method suggested in the wiki. Only problem I am having now, is that I have no sound. I generally use my Logitech G15 volume wheel to turn up the sound, but it is not working, and I can not find another way to adjust the sound.


- dphu2 - 2010-04-30 05:47

Irish2685, did you find an answer to your volume question? I have same problem. I'm using instantsheller, silentlauncher. Volume works fine when I load windows 7 normally and launch xbmc, but once I shell and launch straight into xbmc, the volume no longer works.

Can anyone help with this? I assume it's some windows application that is not loading due to the xbmc shell.


- as0l0 - 2010-05-30 01:47

I've had a lot of success just skipping the eventghost step and having xbmc.exe set as my shell in the registry (for a specific user).


- DoubleSpeed - 2010-05-30 21:36

If you are using Windows 7 and just want XBMC to load up automatically along with your normal start-up just add a shortcut to XBMC into your Startup folder.