XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] MythBox for XBMC - a MythTV Front-end Python Script for XBMC - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] MythBox for XBMC - a MythTV Front-end Python Script for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=43115)



Great Work! - behaviour - 2010-11-28 17:25

Just to say that I upgraded to Dharma this morning and the first thing I did was install Mythbox via the add-ons. Installed like a dream and as soon as I set the IP and password it worked 100% on the first try. Can't ask for anymore!

Great work!


- philc - 2010-11-28 19:47

analogue Wrote:For those of you using dharma, mythbox 1.0.0 is now installable from the official xbmc add-on repo (under video addons). Enjoy!!

Regarding support for 0.24, it's in the works...

A million thanks. I just installed it and it works great! This was the last piece needed in my XBMC rollout. Good WAF, the ability to schedule, etc.


- Bigstar - 2010-12-03 19:44

Mythbox is great! A big improvement over the XBMC built-in Mythtv functionality.

When watching live tv and bringup the GUI to display the guide, if I choose another channel it comes up as 'tuner busy'. If I stop the current channel first it's fine. Is there a better way of doing this so the channel automatically switches?

I'm using this http command from my remote to launch into mythbox and it works great:

http://<ipaddress>:8080/xbmcCmds/xbmcHttp?command=ExecBuiltIn(RunScript(/home/xbmc/.xbmc/scripts/Mythbox/default.py))

I tried accessing the mythbox components in /resources/src/mythbox/ui/ using the same command but that doesn't work. Do I need to pass arguments as well or is this just not possible?


- Novin - 2010-12-03 21:40

I used this 6-12 months ago and it was good even back then. Tried it the other night but since I had MythTV 0.24 it didn't work.

After struggling with MythTV for 2 years I have now switched to Tvheadend. I managed to get a better setup with it in 1 hour compared to my MythTV-install.. I think that says a lot Smile No timeshift yet but I think it will be there soon enough.

Now I'm looking forward to something like MythBox but for Tvheadend.. but I guess xbmc-pvr is coming!


- Vultures - 2010-12-04 02:17

People, is there a way to make Dreambox->MythTV->Mythbox->XBMC setup work on a Windows machine? Unfortunately, I know nothing about mythtv=(
Thanks in advance!


- liamf - 2010-12-04 16:55

Depends.

The XBMC->Mythbox->mythtv part works like a charm now.
(At least using XBMC Dharma RC2 + Mythbox 1.0.0 + mythtv 0.23-fixes version. I have not risked trying the mythtv latest 0.24 codebase, on the basis that something in my mythtv setup is almost guaranteed to break and now that I have it working perfectly .... )

If your dreambox is treated just like a mythtv regular source, you're all set.

How do you propose to capture the video from the dreambox? By re-encoding the analog output? In which case you just need the appropriate capture card and you're done.

Apart from the amusing challenge of setting up mythtv.


- Vultures - 2010-12-04 17:03

Sweet spot of Dreambox is its ability to produce HTTP streams with channels, that can be viewed over LAN (via web front end, VLC and even XBMC, unfortunately only as a plain streamlist without EPG, channel switching etc.). So my question is "Can MythTV natively open HTTP streams from Dreambox with support of EPG and other box features?"


- liamf - 2010-12-04 17:10

Well that sounds moderately cool.

Not having one to hand though, I can't try it out.

Google strongly suggests, however, that this is possible:

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Dreambox-NetworkRecorder

Go check out the mythtv forums and see if you recognise anything they are talking about :-)


- liamf - 2010-12-04 17:16

Oh, actually, wait a minute.

I missed that part in your post where you said "on a Windows machine".

In theory mythtv runs on Windows but I have never tried it, and you'll have to read the wikis and forums carefully. For sure you'll have to build it yourself as the project doesn't product Windows binaries.

Also Windows functionality is a subset of Linux (most tuners don't work in mythbackend for example). So your mileage may vary somewhat.

Most mythtv users are on some flavour of Linux.


- Vultures - 2010-12-04 17:19

liamf Wrote:http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Dreambox-NetworkRecorder
I've seen this. Too much hassle, need to use VLC for transcoding, and no guarantees that it'll work...
I assume there's no native support. Too bad...


problems with commercial skip? - fixed for me - nakima - 2010-12-04 17:41

Hey analouge, I reported commercial skips were not working.... they work for me now with latest builds (and after opening security a bit on the smb share).

Great work! I am really looking forward to where this goes!

Now I think I need to just get a top level menu entry point to get into this. (I can fumble through skin development Smile )


- Angi321 - 2010-12-05 23:30

Hi guys,

I have had problems making MythTV work by itself. Now it works fine and found this beautiful xbmc add-on. I have installed it, entered the required data but when I test it, I get:
"Connection to MythTV host 127.0.0.1 failed: Unsupported protocol..."
Is this because of the MythTV being at 0.24?
Only now I've read that it is supported up to 0.23


- liamf - 2010-12-06 00:05

Angi321 Wrote:Hi guys,

"Connection to MythTV host 127.0.0.1 failed: Unsupported protocol..."
Is this because of the MythTV being at 0.24?
Only now I've read that it is supported up to 0.23

Right

Major versions of mythtv (0.23 -> 0.24) and sometimes minor versions (0.23->0.23.1) often change the version of the mythtv protocol which they speak on the network.

AFAIK, the current mythbox supports all versions of mythtv up to 0.23-fixes branch.

But not 0.24, just yet.

I've been running mythtv 0.23-fixes branch for some time and I'm quite happy with it.


- Dobyken - 2010-12-10 16:08

liamf Wrote:Right


AFAIK, the current mythbox supports all versions of mythtv up to 0.23-fixes branch.

But not 0.24, just yet.

I've been running mythtv 0.23-fixes branch for some time and I'm quite happy with it.

I'm pretty sure I saw a code change for the Myth .24 protocol. It was entered after 1.0.0 was released so you would have download and do a manual update.

Nov 29th entry in Google Code.

"Added support for latest mythtv protocols. Made protocol updates easier to handle and added support for multiple protocol versions being supported with different packet structures. Additional error handling."


- Qu3uk - 2010-12-10 17:50

Getting an error on startup,

Stage: Initialising Settings
Exception: No module named simplejson

any idea where I can get this module,

Running Mythbuntu with xbmc rc2