XBMC Community Forum
XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) (/showthread.php?tid=45525)



- motd2k - 2009-03-09 03:36

Lets lose the hijack too please


- pyrates - 2009-03-09 04:50

chene Wrote:the ppa at http://www.avenard.org/media/Ubuntu_Repository/Ubuntu_Repository.html has nvidia version 180.37 which, I believe, is what the latest release of xbmc needs.

please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks,

It appears to be, but the stable repository seems to have several versions available of 180.37. I much prefer the simpler approach where I select and install it directly. Plus I have a minimal system since it's a HTPC.


- BLKMGK - 2009-03-09 05:04

COoLoSER Wrote:<snip> Second thing is that I don't have movie thumbnails on x264 content, i have only green lines.

<snip>

Glad you mentioned this - I have noticed the green screens for x.264 thumbnails too. This seems similar to an issue previously with odd colors. Should the decoding to create those thumbnails maybe not go through VDPAU? sometimes I get a flash of green just as the video starts too but it's very quick and I have normal coloring for the rest of the video - I believe Killa' exhibits this issue as an example. I am using 180.35 NVIDIA right now FWIW.


- danillll - 2009-03-09 05:24

motd2k

I built/installed the latest branch along with nvidia 180.37 and I am still experiencing the crashes that I mentioned in this comment http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=293834&postcount=307

I wonder if this issue was worked on or not yet thanks and please let me know if you need more logs then the one i pasted in the above comment.

Thanks,

For people with pulse issues as motd2k mentioned don't use pulseaudio and use --disable-pulse when you configure the build
example
./configure --disable-pulse


- COoLoSER - 2009-03-09 13:54

I still have bugs on opening folder with movies in x264 which does not have data/poster in library. It tries to create thumbnail and crashes xbmc. I switched to not VDPAU player and then it is ok. I downloaded poster and back to VDPAU. All is fine now.

Here is log:
Code:
12:49:40 T:2953837456 M:1815994368  NOTICE: Using codec: H.264 / AVC / MPEG-4 AVC / MPEG-4 part 10 (VDPAU acceleration)
12:49:40 T:2953837456 M:1815994368   DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Video: FFmpeg - Opened
12:49:40 T:2953837456 M:1815994368   DEBUG: ExtractThumb - seeking to pos 2127018ms (total: 6381056ms) in /mnt/media/filmy/!akcji/avs720-im.mkv
12:49:40 T:2953837456 M:1815994368   DEBUG: SeekTime - seek ended up on time 2120085
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815908352  NOTICE: Using codec: MPEG-4 part 2
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815908352   DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Video: FFmpeg - Opened
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815908352   DEBUG: ExtractThumb - seeking to pos 1226365ms (total: 3679095ms) in /mnt/media/filmy/!akcji/Appaloosa.2008.DVDRip.XviD.CD1-PUKKA.(osloskop.net).avi
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815908352   DEBUG: SeekTime - unknown position after seek
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:156
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:156
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:170
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:182
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:203
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304   ERROR:  (VDPAU) Error 3 at DVDVideoCodecFFmpegVDPAU.cpp:225
12:49:40 T:2910288784 M:1815138304  NOTICE: screenWidth:1920 widWidth:672

Thumbnails problem sometime shows green result, sometime crashes xbmc.

BTW: On killa.sampla I have green screen on first few frames, exactly like BLKMGK described it.


SD movies and VDpau - rodercot - 2009-03-09 14:10

Hey Guys,

I am on r18336 . I have my settings to vdpau and res on. If refresh is still being worked on, Sorry.

anyhow, With these settings when trying to play an SD movie or reg. DVD I just get a black screen with sound. If I change settings to auto and res off then all is fine, and when I check teletext with an hd movie playing it is using VDpau - so this is fine to leave in Auto but I should still be able to use the res feature and watch sd and not have to switch it on and off for different movies.

This is more a questions than an issues for me right now. I am planning to set up custom modelines for the sharp in the near future anyhow.

Dave


PlayOn + VDPAU - xnappo - 2009-03-09 15:42

Hi All,

I am wondering if anyone else has tried VDPAU with PlayOn Media Server? I can't get it to work - either I get a blank screen or a crash. I actually went straight from my XBOX to Linux+VDPAU - so I do not know if this is really a VDPAU problem or a Linux XBMC problem in general.

If no one else has tried it, I will investigate more by trying the non-VDPAU XBMC live.

Thanks,
xnappo

P.S. I am also having some problems with the detection of non-VDPAU supported video. Sometimes I have to switch to auto for it to work. Auto does not work for MKVs - I have to explicitly select VDPAU. Not at home, so I don't have the build #, but I pulled it last night ~6pm CST.


- analogue - 2009-03-10 06:52

analogue Wrote:So HD-PVR generated h.264 recordings seem to play worse with the VDPAU renderer than with the non-VDPAU renderer. CPU usage rarely goes above 20% on both cores but frames are getting dropped left and right. I've tried this with a number of different bitrate HDPVR recordings. Can anyone confirm before I file a trac ticket? Sample recordings can be downloaded here: http://www.m i n i n o v a.org/search/?search=%22hd-pvr%22&cat=0 (make sure you take the spaces out of the URL)

Context: Hardy + NVIDIA 180.29 + 8400GS 512MB + XBMC VDPAU SVN 17938 (i know its not trunk, but I got hit by latest segfault issue and rolled back)

Trac'ed @ http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/6051


- mythmaster - 2009-03-10 08:24

analogue Wrote:Trac'ed @ http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/6051

Confirmed, but you meant 1920x1080, didn't you? Smile It's continuously dropping frames.

r18158 (haven't upped in a while -- everything I use is cool)
9300GS
Kubuntu Intrepid
180.37

Just out of curiosity, have you been able to get a good 1080i pull out of the hdpvr yet (in linux)? Last I heard, there were issues with that, but I haven't heard anything in a while.


- mythmaster - 2009-03-10 14:05

AllanMar Wrote:Just out of curiosity, have you tried what I been mentioning earlier as a problem? Try starting XBMC in Auto resolution, then goto settings, change to 1080 and hit test resolution, then try playing your video

I didn't see that -- it works that way for me.


- motd2k - 2009-03-10 15:19

mythmaster Wrote:Confirmed, but you meant 1920x1080, didn't you? Smile It's continuously dropping frames.

r18158 (haven't upped in a while -- everything I use is cool)
9300GS
Kubuntu Intrepid
180.37

Just out of curiosity, have you been able to get a good 1080i pull out of the hdpvr yet (in linux)? Last I heard, there were issues with that, but I haven't heard anything in a while.

This plays perfectly on mine! 8200, 5050e, 2x1GB@800Mhz

Could I get you to 'make reallyclean' then 'svn up' - and follow the instructions on page one (i.e. launch using ./xbmc.bin -- instead of make install/xbmc)

Edit:
Please install NVIDIA 180.37.
Do you really have XBMC set for 1080i? These three lines concern me...

PHP Code:
639    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080  NOTICEDisplay resolution ADJUST 1080i 16:(0)
640    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080 WARNINGUpscalepossible given resolution increase.
641    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080 WARNINGUpscaleselected algorithm 7 



- mythmaster - 2009-03-10 17:13

motd2k Wrote:This plays perfectly on mine! 8200, 5050e, 2x1GB@800Mhz

Could I get you to 'make reallyclean' then 'svn up' - and follow the instructions on page one (i.e. launch using ./xbmc.bin -- instead of make install/xbmc)

Edit:
Please install NVIDIA 180.37.
Do you really have XBMC set for 1080i? These three lines concern me...

PHP Code:
639    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080  NOTICEDisplay resolution ADJUST 1080i 16:(0)
640    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080 WARNINGUpscalepossible given resolution increase.
641    23:15:35 T:2893224848 M52142080 WARNINGUpscaleselected algorithm 7 

Same problem. ^^^ That's not my log (analogue's, I think)

Here's mine --> http://pastebin.com/m724446b0


- penquissciguy - 2009-03-10 17:41

Finally got Ubuntu 8.04 (used this guide) and a VDPAU-enabled build of XBMC running on my HTPC box:

Gigabyte P35 based board
Conroe-L Celeron 420 - 1.6 GHz
2 GB RAM
EVGA Nvidia 9400GT PCI-E with 512 MB RAM

I have this connected to my projector (Optoma HD70) via HDMI. The killa sample plays great, using less cpu than the XBMC navigation screens. I see the same green flash at the beginning of playback that others have mentioned, but it does not seem to adversely affect the playback of the rest of the clip. I don't seem to have any issues with the TV rips I've been watching either. Thanks for all the good work!

Ken


- mythmaster - 2009-03-10 17:44

xnappo Wrote:All - regarding the 1080p dropped frames issue - not at home to try - but from the WARNING message - perhaps it would be a good idea to try commenting out all the supported resolutions other than 1920x1080 and see what happens if set to 'Auto'?

xnappo

I just tried it, but xbmc still gets all of the modes from xrandr and opens in a window.


- mythmaster - 2009-03-10 18:26

AllanMar Wrote:I just tried and the non-vdpau branch plays much better than the vdpau brand (when started in 1080p). It dosnt play great, but its sorta watchable whereas when i start vdpau xbmc in 1080p its compleatly out of sync and unwatchable.

Can anyone with a better cpu (that can handle 1080p without vdpau) and has the problem i've been describing (works fine when started in auto and changed to 1080p, but not when started in 1080p) try the normal xbmc branch? I'm still not convinced if this is a vdpau branch problem or not.

I'll try it on my phenom with the hdpvr clip later. Days and nights mixed up -- I need to get some shuteye. Smile