XBMC Community Forum
XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) (/showthread.php?tid=45525)



- nikiiv - 2009-03-20 08:02

The latest beta for linux is 180.17 rolled out on 8 dec 2008 and I am using 180.35


- olympia - 2009-03-20 08:08

nikiiv Wrote:The latest beta for linux is 180.17 rolled out on 8 dec 2008 and I am using 180.35

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=1957328


- nikiiv - 2009-03-20 08:19

olympia Wrote:http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=1957328

My bad.. already figured this out...
Rock solid with 185.13..


- phunqe - 2009-03-20 11:15

Yeah I am using olympia's minimal install, so that is probably why I am getting away with 256Mb Smile
I just happened to have that card in my HTPC already. Looking at a silent 9xxx to replace it.


- alanwww1 - 2009-03-20 13:48

phunqe Wrote:Yeah I am using olympia's minimal install, so that is probably why I am getting away with 256Mb Smile
I just happened to have that card in my HTPC already. Looking at a silent 9xxx to replace it.

Yeah, Olympia's guide rule !


- h.udo - 2009-03-20 15:43

phunqe Wrote:Yeah I am using olympia's minimal install, so that is probably why I am getting away with 256Mb Smile
I just happened to have that card in my HTPC already. Looking at a silent 9xxx to replace it.

No!

I have the same card and it works with minimal install or desktop install (I tryed both). And it works rock solid!


compile issues - rodercot - 2009-03-20 16:25

Hey all,

I have a question. I get a karaoke error on all my recompiles for some reason. Maybe I am doing something wrong.

I goto my vdpau/XBMC dir and run an svn up -r (revision#) let it do it's thing then a make clean - configure - make. I always get that karaoke error. So then I have to run a make distclean - rm configure - autoconf - ./configure - make and it usually works the second time.

Maybe my checkout is dirty, I started with rev 17##? and tried out about 10 revisions inbetween up to the current 18670 which is compiling now.

Thanks,

Dave


- Haggy - 2009-03-20 16:48

normally make clean is not enough - try with make distclean or even make reallyclean. you could skip that "- rm configure - autoconf -" thingy. as for myself i always copy the whole checkout to a build directory and compile from there - and it 'just works'[tm]


- motd2k - 2009-03-20 16:55

/OT haggy get on IRC... Arch help plx!


- shagworthy_uk - 2009-03-20 20:16

Me again :-)

The last few builds I have had the same issues occor. Last build to exhibit the issues was SVN 18717, i will try a later one as i just saw a few checked in. That said, the first issue is relatively new while the remaining few have been there a while i just forgot to mention them.

1) Movies play but VDPAU is not used. Processor going skyward (although strangely not that high, about 50% per core)

2) Alot of video and appearance settings are not being retained between versions (I totally remove the xbmc dir after make uninstall and pull it all down again). Settings such as video calibration overscan/underscan, the interlace handling method, the upscaling method. I only noticed the last 2 because of issue 3.

3) On fresh install, playing any video is garbled and static. This is remedied by changing the interlace handling to anything other than "blend". Always reverts to "blend" on fresh install.

Issue 2 and 3 are not strictly VDPAU related i guess so sorry if these should go elsewhere but as i only use the VDPAU branch now and fall back to SVN 18496 if issues arrise as VDPAU seems almost perfectly stable on this version for me (except for a couple of files)

here is the log: http://pastebin.com/m77376411 (did not have debugging on, had to go out so thought a log was better than no log)

Update: Same in 18733
Log: http://pastebin.com/md318d0e


- sensei73 - 2009-03-20 21:16

I do not agree about 8400gs with 256mo is not enought, I have some high bitrate 1080p encoded memory, they were laggy but not with my 9500gt 512mo everythings is so smooth!!!!


- The_Rebel - 2009-03-20 22:25

Have we got stylized subtitles working yet?


- nunu - 2009-03-20 22:41

Hello :
shagworthy_uk : i have exactly the same troubles (i have upgraded from 18487, and will recompile it).


- motd2k - 2009-03-20 22:52

shagworthy_uk Wrote:Me again :-)

The last few builds I have had the same issues occor. Last build to exhibit the issues was SVN 18717, i will try a later one as i just saw a few checked in. That said, the first issue is relatively new while the remaining few have been there a while i just forgot to mention them.

1) Movies play but VDPAU is not used. Processor going skyward (although strangely not that high, about 50% per core)

2) Alot of video and appearance settings are not being retained between versions (I totally remove the xbmc dir after make uninstall and pull it all down again). Settings such as video calibration overscan/underscan, the interlace handling method, the upscaling method. I only noticed the last 2 because of issue 3.

3) On fresh install, playing any video is garbled and static. This is remedied by changing the interlace handling to anything other than "blend". Always reverts to "blend" on fresh install.

Issue 2 and 3 are not strictly VDPAU related i guess so sorry if these should go elsewhere but as i only use the VDPAU branch now and fall back to SVN 18496 if issues arrise as VDPAU seems almost perfectly stable on this version for me (except for a couple of files)

here is the log: http://pastebin.com/m77376411 (did not have debugging on, had to go out so thought a log was better than no log)

Update: Same in 18733
Log: http://pastebin.com/md318d0e

Can you set renderer to Auto please. How are you starting XBMC... did you follow the instructions on page 1?


- motd2k - 2009-03-20 22:56

The_Rebel Wrote:Have we got stylized subtitles working yet?

No