XBMC Community Forum
XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) (/showthread.php?tid=45525)



- motd2k - 2009-05-14 19:32

Did you even start the stream playback in that logfile? heh

Fixed on SVN r20268


- simon22 - 2009-05-14 19:36

sorry. this is the log - http://pastebin.com/m5a2a3063


- simon22 - 2009-05-14 19:55

motd2k Wrote:Did you even start the stream playback in that logfile? heh

Fixed on SVN r20268

Thanks for fixing this so quickly Big Grin

I have one other issue which I hope you can advice on.

When I play an untouched blueray rip of the Dark Knight, all the IMAX scenes have noticable distortion at the bottom of the screen.

Is an xbmc issue, nvidia or my setup? my gpu is 9300.

Thanks.


- motd2k - 2009-05-14 22:13

Can you take a screenshot?


- xnappo - 2009-05-14 22:21

motd2k - is there any update to the 8200 fullscreen issue?

xnappo


- motd2k - 2009-05-14 22:59

No, im not sure there's anything I can do about it, it uses the same code as the other cards and yet it doesn't work...


- simon22 - 2009-05-14 23:13

motd2k Wrote:Can you take a screenshot?

I have taken a picture using my mobile so the quality isnt good. What im getting is white lines running across the bottom of the screen and in some fast action scences they are visible in other parts of the image. Its only on the full screen sequences, everythings fine when it goes to letter box. I have tested the original blueray disk in windows and theres no problem. Also tested the rip in windows and it also plays fine.

http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/714/darkkight.jpg


- mythmaster - 2009-05-15 01:35

RE: distortion at bottom of VC-1 blu-ray backup

I have the same problem, but I don't think it has anything to do with XBMC's code. I saw someone report it in the nvidia mplayer thread, and nvidia devs reproduced it and are looking into it.


- xnappo - 2009-05-15 02:55

motd2k Wrote:No, im not sure there's anything I can do about it, it uses the same code as the other cards and yet it doesn't work...

But your patch works... From reading trac a bit, I understand that 'hacks' are not accepted even if they work - is there any hope of your patch being merged? Perhaps with the option in advancedsettings.xml instead of the GUI?

xnappo


- motd2k - 2009-05-15 08:37

mythmaster Wrote:RE: distortion at bottom of VC-1 blu-ray backup

I have the same problem, but I don't think it has anything to do with XBMC's code. I saw someone report it in the nvidia mplayer thread, and nvidia devs reproduced it and are looking into it.

Saved me a bunch of time, thanks for the headsup


- erhnam - 2009-05-15 13:17

I'm experiencing frame drops with vdpau together with my Nvidia ION 9400 and Intel Atom processor. Is there something like a buffer that can be tuned within XBMC? I'm using XBMC Live 9.04.


- motd2k - 2009-05-15 16:54

erhnam Wrote:I'm experiencing frame drops with vdpau together with my Nvidia ION 9400 and Intel Atom processor. Is there something like a buffer that can be tuned within XBMC? I'm using XBMC Live 9.04.

Please post a logfile.


- alanwww1 - 2009-05-15 20:42

erhnam Wrote:I'm experiencing frame drops with vdpau together with my Nvidia ION 9400 and Intel Atom processor. Is there something like a buffer that can be tuned within XBMC? I'm using XBMC Live 9.04.

I had the same problem. I realized that the problem is coming from the slow memory speed we are having with the integrated graphics cards. I had framedrops more often when i turn on some OSD elements to the screen. (eg. pressing "O")

I tried to bump my 800mhz dual channel ddr ram frequency to 920mhz (you need a good ram with cooler and mobo for this trick) and than i had no framedrops at all. I tried to put in a 9400 gt standalone card and no problems eighter.

So RAM speed has great infuence on VDPAU smoothness !!


- motd2k - 2009-05-15 20:57

alanwww1 Wrote:I had the same problem. I realized that the problem is coming from the slow memory speed we are having with the integrated graphics cards. I had framedrops more often when i turn on some OSD elements to the screen. (eg. pressing "O")

I tried to bump my 800mhz dual channel ddr ram frequency to 920mhz (you need a good ram with cooler and mobo for this trick) and than i had no framedrops at all. I tried to put in a 9400 gt standalone card and no problems eighter.

So RAM speed has great infuence on VDPAU smoothness !!

This is very true. Even some of the lower end addon cards may need to have the memory overclocked... the 8400GS being the main one to spring to mind.


- alanwww1 - 2009-05-15 23:12

motd2k Wrote:This is very true. Even some of the lower end addon cards may need to have the memory overclocked... the 8400GS being the main one to spring to mind.

Thanks's for the confirm Motd2k ! I also found out that it is more influencing the 1080p videos than the 720p ones for obvious reasons.

Anyway with smoothvideo branch merged into main-branch i have stutterfree silky smooth vdpau playback Big Grin

GREAT THANKS TO MOTD2K AND BOBO1ON1 FOR THIS !