XBMC Community Forum
XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: XBMC for Linux VDPAU - NVIDIA GPU video decoding support (now in the mainline SVN) (/showthread.php?tid=45525)



- Lamm - 2009-05-15 23:48

So just to clear things up, one should have enough ram memory bandwidth, gfx memory bandwidth or both?

What are the lowest memory frequency for smooth playback (if such thing exists)?

What gfx plattform does this apply for?

/lamm


- xnappo - 2009-05-16 16:10

motd2k Wrote:This is very true. Even some of the lower end addon cards may need to have the memory overclocked... the 8400GS being the main one to spring to mind.

I wonder if the people for whom the 8200 fullscreen work-around is not working are running their memory at a lower speed... I have one of the faster AM2 processors - so my DDR is running at least close to 800MHz and dual-channel. I can't get killa or Artbeats to drop frames if I try as long as I use one of the workarounds.

xnappo


- ERamseth - 2009-05-16 21:40

xnappo Wrote:I wonder if the people for whom the 8200 fullscreen work-around is not working are running their memory at a lower speed... I have one of the faster AM2 processors - so my DDR is running at least close to 800MHz and dual-channel. I can't get killa or Artbeats to drop frames if I try as long as I use one of the workarounds.

xnappo

What are the workarounds?


- xnappo - 2009-05-16 22:22

ERamseth Wrote:What are the workarounds?

1. Use motd2k's patch here: http://trac.xbmc.org/changeset/19661/branches/motdsDirtyPlaything
or
2. Use 1080i (there are multiple 1080i selections, one of them, for me, is not really 1080i (it is 60hz) and does not exhibit the problem
or
3. Switch the resolution to something other than Auto, hit test. Restart XBMC and select Auto again - glitching will stop
or
4. Start windowed, then switch to fullscreen

xnappo


- alanwww1 - 2009-05-16 23:15

xnappo Wrote:I wonder if the people for whom the 8200 fullscreen work-around is not working are running their memory at a lower speed... I have one of the faster AM2 processors - so my DDR is running at least close to 800MHz and dual-channel. I can't get killa or Artbeats to drop frames if I try as long as I use one of the workarounds.

xnappo

It is not the droped frames the counter shows. These are frames which come after vsync time. The only way to check if they are there if you see a panning screen and you can see it with your eyes. The counter does not show it. Try the following:

Starwars x264 1080p with subtitles enabled, with info screen on (by pressing "o") you will surely see a lot of missing frames at the begginig part where the scrolling text is.


- kross - 2009-05-23 20:23

ERamseth Wrote:Interesting... I will have to give this a shot.

If this fixes the jerkiness of playback, does that mean the problem, as you mentioned, is tied to the fact that some memory controller speed of some sort is somehow affected by the CPU speed?

I would like to report that switching the CPU from a 5050e to a Phenom 9600 completely fixes the jerky playback. I have cpufreq enabled, with the CPU running at the lowest speed possible (1.15 GHz). I'm quite certain this is because Phenoms run the memory controller at full speed even when you slow down the CPU. And you can get Phenoms for under $80.

Unfortunately, I don't think I'll be able to keep the Phenom in my HTPC, I'll probably have to put it in a gaming rig for the kids. It uses too much power, creates too much heat, making the fans too loud for a silent HTPC setup. I'll have to experiment with undervolting/underclocking it to keep it cooler.

Hope this helps!
-- Kevin


- OldOne - 2009-05-23 21:33

Hi,
dont be angry if this has already been asked.

Are there allinone PCs out there that will run all that HD content without a glitch? Since VDPAU is supported thought it would be a good time to migrate from the Xbox. Linux is a must have, also SPIF Audio and HDMI should work out of the box. Any suggestions?


thx


- MattZTexasu - 2009-05-24 06:47

OldOne Wrote:Are there allinone PCs out there that will run all that HD content without a glitch? Since VDPAU is supported thought it would be a good time to migrate from the Xbox. Linux is a must have, also SPIF Audio and HDMI should work out of the box. Any suggestions?
Here is my list of parts.
I'm running xbmc on top of ubuntu, and my A/V is through HDMI.

There are a few issues:
  • You must install Alsa 1.0.19 and reconfigure your sound settings to get hdmi audio to work. It's a complicated process; but there are a lot of how-tos to follow.
  • The remote for this case is hard to get working under ubuntu; you can find how-tos on this forum.
  • The lcd in the front of this case sucks, and it's hard to get working with ubuntu and XBMC. - more complicated how-tos to follow.
  • XBMC allows for easy compensation of video overscan; but ubuntu doesn't. You might not be able to see the entire screen when at the desktop.

It's a very good htpc case- very quiet. The two case fans are positioned well with two large 120mm fans that blow directly onto the cpu. You could put a large fanless heatsink on a low-power cpu, and the case fans would do all your cooling.
With a pico psu, those large quiet case fans would be the only fans running, and you could easily get less than 20 db once you tune the fan speed.


- nipnup - 2009-05-24 10:00

kross Wrote:I would like to report that switching the CPU from a 5050e to a Phenom 9600 completely fixes the jerky playback. I have cpufreq enabled, with the CPU running at the lowest speed possible (1.15 GHz). I'm quite certain this is because Phenoms run the memory controller at full speed even when you slow down the CPU. And you can get Phenoms for under $80.

Wouldn't it be easier to simply get a GF9400? How much power does one of those use when the HTPC is not playing anything? Can we get it to shutdown on Linux?


- kross - 2009-05-24 21:15

nipnup Wrote:Wouldn't it be easier to simply get a GF9400? How much power does one of those use when the HTPC is not playing anything? Can we get it to shutdown on Linux?

I also wanted the Phenom to improve Flash playback, too (which it does).

I didn't need to replace the CPU. The 5050e would work fine in XBMC with my 8200 IGP, if I set the CPU clock to maximum (2.6 GHz). I saw that the Phenoms would still run the memory controller at full speed even if the CPU clock was slowed down, unlike the Athlons. So I thought I'd try it out. And it works. Smooth playback, even at the slowest clock speed (1.15 GHz).

-- Kevin


- OldOne - 2009-05-25 07:16

MattZTexasu Wrote:Here is my list of parts.
I'm running xbmc on top of ubuntu, and my A/V is through HDMI.

There are a few issues:
  • You must install Alsa 1.0.19 and reconfigure your sound settings to get hdmi audio to work. It's a complicated process; but there are a lot of how-tos to follow.
  • The remote for this case is hard to get working under ubuntu; you can find how-tos on this forum.
  • The lcd in the front of this case sucks, and it's hard to get working with ubuntu and XBMC. - more complicated how-tos to follow.
  • XBMC allows for easy compensation of video overscan; but ubuntu doesn't. You might not be able to see the entire screen when at the desktop.

It's a very good htpc case- very quiet. The two case fans are positioned well with two large 120mm fans that blow directly onto the cpu. You could put a large fanless heatsink on a low-power cpu, and the case fans would do all your cooling.
With a pico psu, those large quiet case fans would be the only fans running, and you could easily get less than 20 db once you tune the fan speed.

Hello,
nice setup that is, 400$ is OK for me.
Are there any prevonfigured Barebones that can do the job?
Would a macmini be OK, or are there already nvidia ION based machines?


- ashlar - 2009-05-25 11:22

Does an 8800 GT partially offload VC-1 decoding? I would guess so but I'd like confirmation from somebody with first-hand experience.

TIA!


- johnny2 - 2009-05-28 08:13

How is mpeg2 hardware acceleration coming along?


- erhnam - 2009-05-29 09:54

motd2k Wrote:Please post a logfile.

This is what I see from the log when the stuttering starts..


09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294643200 DEBUG: FileCurl::Open(0xaa7f406c)
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 DEBUG: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 3
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 ERROR: CFileCurl::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 DEBUG: FileCurl::Close(0xaa7f406c)
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 NOTICE: AudioScrobbler: Unable to handshake: sleeping...
09:50:45 T:2227174288 M:1294229504 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerAudio:: Discontinuty - was:2181548028.386029, should be:2181558032.728127, error:10004.342097



- pyrates - 2009-05-29 11:16

erhnam Wrote:This is what I see from the log when the stuttering starts..


09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294643200 DEBUG: FileCurl::Open(0xaa7f406c)
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 DEBUG: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 3
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 ERROR: CFileCurl::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 DEBUG: FileCurl::Close(0xaa7f406c)
09:49:17 T:2860473232 M:1294151680 NOTICE: AudioScrobbler: Unable to handshake: sleeping...
09:50:45 T:2227174288 M:1294229504 DEBUG: CDVDPlayerAudio:: Discontinuty - was:2181548028.386029, should be:2181558032.728127, error:10004.342097

You need to turn on debug mode.