Kodi Community Forum
[OLD] HOW-TO watch Live TV in XBMC for Linux with Tvheadend, the easy way! - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Tips, tricks, and step by step guides (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=110)
+--- Thread: [OLD] HOW-TO watch Live TV in XBMC for Linux with Tvheadend, the easy way! (/showthread.php?tid=51945)



- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

Thanks for your answers.

Quote:I don;t even want them to be joined, since I got some old pcs that can't handle HD and I don't want tvheadend to stream HD content to those.

What I was thinking about mixing SD/HD, is having a client parameter like HD=YES, sent to the server when loging in Tvheadend. Then the server could know if it has to stream SD or HD version depending of client type. Could be a nice solution.
We would have to set Recording quality too when adding a timer in that case.

Only a suggestion for the future.

Keep up the good work. Cheers


- stupiduglyfool - 2010-12-01

Has anyone had any issues watching recordings?

When a recording is ongoing and I start watching it, it seems to get to certain points and just stops, I can then replay the recording, fast forward to where I was and continue watching. Occaisionally this can occur several times during a recording.

On some recordings it will get to a certain point and just stop and refuse to go past it.

This is just a quick message to find out if anyone else here has noticed these issues, before I start digging into logs.

Thanks.


- opdenkamp - 2010-12-01

@hotlobster
if you want to take an approach like that, you'd want the client to do that automatically. and it would even be nicer if you could recode the stream on the fly on the server, so you could also use it in the same way if you're on a low bandwidth device.

for now I recommend not to merge HD and SD channels in tvheadend.

@stupiduglyfool
never heard about that issue and without the full debug log I can't say anything about it. according to the bofh guide it's caused by the CPU-angle which has to be adjusted because of vibrations coming from the nearby road.


- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

For information, here is the log of the hts crash I had many times while manipulating the webui. Using debian testing with your apt repository.

http://pastebin.com/wqJykMLk

Will try tomorrow by compiling it myself if there's improvement.


- opdenkamp - 2010-12-01

get the prebuilt version from http://www.lonelycoder.com/hts/tvheadend_download.html and see if it happens with that build too.
if it does, report it on tvheadend's own trac. if it doesn't, please let me know Smile


- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

Ok it's installed, I will let you know if there's more crash. Couldn't reproduce the problem it was a random behavior.

I gave a look in the source code, and saw some json-rpc implementation. Is it something we can use yet to speak with tvheadend ?

I've made an iphone streaming client for vdr/streamdev ( iStreamdev ), and i'd like to port it to tvheadend. But I'd like to avoid implementing htsp in php, and would prefer communicating using json and the http server to grab channel lists, recordings, epg etc.

Is it something i could use right now or it's only dedicated to the admin webui ?


- opdenkamp - 2010-12-01

I don't know about the exact details on that. You might want to ask that in #hts on freenode.

There's no on-the-fly recoding present in tvheadend by the way, so you can only stream the unmodified data at the moment (at least for live tv)


- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

I will handle the live transcoding with ffmpeg&segmenter, as i did with iStreamdev.

I just need to grab a channel list with http ( or rtsp, but never tested how ffmpeg handle it ) stream url.

Will take the time to come on the irc node talking with you guys about this so.

I won't hijack the thread anymore. Smile


- ant_thomas - 2010-12-01

How do you make a MySQL database for the TV database? I'm currently using MySQL for the music and video databases

Code:
<videodatabase>
        <type>mysql</type>
        <host>192.168.1.64</host>
        <port>3306</port>
        <user>xbmc</user>
        <pass>xbmc</pass>
        <name>xbmc_video</name>
    </videodatabase>

Which bits need changing and adding for TV?


- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

Use this:

<tvdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.64</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_tv</name>
</tvdatabase>

Don't forget to create the xbmc_tv database before, and add xbmc user credentials.


- ant_thomas - 2010-12-01

hotlobster Wrote:Use this:

<tvdatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>192.168.1.64</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>xbmc</user>
<pass>xbmc</pass>
<name>xbmc_tv</name>
</tvdatabase>

Don't forget to create the xbmc_tv database before, and add xbmc user credentials.

Thanks for the reply, I was hoping it'd be that simple.


- ant_thomas - 2010-12-01

Is there a certain version or build that started being able to use MySQL for the TV database?


- moontan77 - 2010-12-01

hotlobster Wrote:I will handle the live transcoding with ffmpeg&segmenter, as i did with iStreamdev.

I just need to grab a channel list with http ( or rtsp, but never tested how ffmpeg handle it ) stream url.

Will take the time to come on the irc node talking with you guys about this so.

I won't hijack the thread anymore. Smile

sorry for hijacking aswell! I asked the tvheadend author just yesterday was their any easy way of the getting a list of all the http streams and he said he didnt think so. (I wanted it for watching the live streams on an android tablet)


- hotlobster - 2010-12-01

From the 16 november:
https://github.com/opdenkamp/xbmc/commit/c727c517d7cf97aff62d9c41c95678e3ea4cbd2e


- ant_thomas - 2010-12-01

hotlobster Wrote:From the 16 november:
https://github.com/opdenkamp/xbmc/blob/c727c517d7cf97aff62d9c41c95678e3ea4cbd2e/xbmc/AdvancedSettings.cpp

Cheers, I'm earlier than that so that's why it's not working!