XBMC Community Forum
[LINUX] ASRock IONSTAR 330 (NVIDIA ION) with XBMC for Linux performance and setup? - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: XBMC General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux and Live support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LINUX] ASRock IONSTAR 330 (NVIDIA ION) with XBMC for Linux performance and setup? (/showthread.php?tid=52460)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25


- TSlackM - 2009-07-12 01:50

i have a problem with auto adjust refresh rates, each time it
changes or i change manually XBMC pops out of fullscreen and starts windowed
mode, i can get it back to fullscreen with ยง but then the resolution chages back and XBMC thinks its the new resolution.

any tips?, thanks in advance


- Haggy - 2009-07-12 09:48

Is this the all new hijack-me-because-im-too-lazy-to-start-a-new-thread or what? This is about the ION330, nothing else. Start a new thread in the right forum and read the sticky about reporting a problem in a useful manner.


- Haggy - 2009-07-12 09:50

jamie1984 Wrote:i've done a quick video to show the problem- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgcSSbEuR4g

Definitely a hardware problem. Your GPU seems broken - is it overclocked or too hot or both?
Anyway - this is not about the ION330, so please start a new thread.


- TSlackM - 2009-07-12 10:31

I do have an ion 330, last time i created a thread and said that, i was told to
use a ion thread.


- Haggy - 2009-07-12 11:52

You have an ION330, but no ION330 specific problem. This would be best handled in General or Linux (if you run linux) along with a full debug logfile while you're reproducing the problem.

Just trying to get this thread a BIT sorted


- seninha - 2009-07-13 17:24

harryzimm Wrote:Follow this guide to upgrade to the most recent svn ppa. When you reach step 5, replace

Code:
sudo apt-get upgrade
with
Code:
sudo apt-get install xbmc
.

Dont bother with the optional step.

cheers


Because I had some trouble with sound after uprading XBMC I did a clean install of Live version.

Now I wanted to upgrade again following the steps of Newb2linux, and ended with your advice > sudo apt-get install xbmc.

Everything installs without any problem.

Did a reboot but for some reason XBMC menu does not come on screen.
Instead I get the next message

XBMCLive login; *Restarting OpenBSD Secure Shell server sshd

This is very strange because when I did the same yesterday XBMC did restart normal.
How can I enter XBMC from this point on and how can I make it start normal next time :confused2:


- harryzimm - 2009-07-13 17:43

I think this will fix the problem.

cheers.


- seninha - 2009-07-13 18:04

OK thanks.I think I will waint for next SNV build as I have no clue how to edit the script Oo


- harryzimm - 2009-07-13 18:15

Dont bother editing the script, just link it.

Code:
ln -s /usr/bin/runXBMC /usr/bin/runXBMC.sh

cheers


- seninha - 2009-07-13 20:56

OK,so the only thing I need to do after I see XBMCLive login; *Restarting OpenBSD Secure Shell server sshd hit ENTER
Then Login screen apears. Login by using xbmc-xbmc

and then just add this line:

ln -s /usr/bin/runXBMC /usr/bin/runXBMC.sh

Is that the way to do it?


- harryzimm - 2009-07-13 21:07

yep, or you can copy and paste from a windows machine using ssh.

cheers.


Asrock Ion 330 - sound muted on restart - dev_don - 2009-07-14 13:55

Is anyone having problems with ubuntu 9.04 in regard the sound muting on restart it seems to happen quite Frequently to me.

I followed this: http://webupd8.blogspot.com/2009/06/...in-ubuntu.html - But im unsure what he means by "And add alsactl restore there. Also, make it executable" -- Im an Linux N00B so I usually need and exact and precise step by step.

As I use XBMC standalone I have to change session and turn up the PCM volume - bloody annoying I tell you!?


If anyone can Help I would appreciate it, thanks in adv

My audio details:

Audio Output - analog
--there fore no DD (Ac3) & no DTS

Audio Output device - default
and downmix on

. However these are probally irrelevant as the problem is either hardware or ubuntu or the sound drivers


- vikjon0 - 2009-07-14 16:58

Have you tried saving the sound settings?


Quote:sudo alsactl store 0



- dev_don - 2009-07-15 18:10

i think that fixed it thanks just saw your guide: (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=54705 ) for the asrock which im using.

cheers


XBMC Live problems - dr.Evol - 2009-07-15 22:48

Hi all!

I have just got the Asrock ION 330 box and rn the xbmc live from usb.
The 1080p mkv movies do NOT run smoothly...

I've installed the Win7 on the internal HDD and tested some 1080p movies with windows media player using ffdshow codec - the movies ran perfectly. I also noticed that the picture quality was a bit better (maybe just different).

I have 512MB assigned to the GPU and enabled the Performace Defaults in bios.

Maybe the movies in xbmc live dont run smoothly because I play them from the internal HDD which is win7 NTFS filesystem..?

I would really like to run xbmc since its a great piece of sw.
Despite that, windows media center doesnt play mkv either...

Any ideas?

Thanks!