Kodi Community Forum
[LIVE] Run applications on top of XBMC in XBMC Live? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: [LIVE] Run applications on top of XBMC in XBMC Live? (/showthread.php?tid=57327)

Pages: 1 2

[LIVE] Run applications on top of XBMC in XBMC Live? - Djape - 2009-09-03

Hello,

I would like to ask you to forgive me if this has been answered already, but
I was not able to find a solution.
I've been using XBMC for a few months and let me say it is awesome Nod

I would be very happy if someone can help me out how to make other applications run over the xbmc.
To be precise, I would like to run firefox browser on top of xbmc without exiting xbmc.
Many times, my wife and I would watch a movie and would like to pause it to check something on the internet and that's where, at present, I have to exit XBMC and open fluxbox and start firefox. I would like to avoid that.

At the moment, I have managed to make firefox run on top, but unfortunately, I have no control over it, firefox starts on top, though not over a full screen, even though firefox window is in full screen, but I can't hover over firefox with the mouse nor I can type anything inside.
Mouse and keyboard control remains inside the xbmc which is still running (and I want it to keep running).
I expected that application that runs on top is current and can use mouse and keyboard, but this is not the case.
Is this because xbmc is running standalone and without window manager?

Am I missing something here?

Any help and tips regarding this is highly appreciated.

Thx folks and respect for all the hard work Wink

- Clumsy - 2009-09-03

Search for "launcher plugin" - you will find numerous posts on the topic.

- Djape - 2009-09-03