Kodi Community Forum
[WINDOWS] Internal Directshow Based Player [NO LONGER DEVELOPED] - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: [WINDOWS] Internal Directshow Based Player [NO LONGER DEVELOPED] (/showthread.php?tid=61355)



- fincheresque - 2010-01-19

It's not merged with the main branch. So whereas the main branch of XBMC is located here:
https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/xbmc/trunk

The DSPlayer branch is located here:
https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/xbmc/branches/dsplayer

So theoretically you could follow the instructions in the Windows Development Wiki page (http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Windows) and substitute the DSPlayer URL for the original.


- Balthazar2k4 - 2010-01-19

nathanjones Wrote:It's not merged with the main branch. So whereas the main branch of XBMC is located here:
https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/xbmc/trunk

The DSPlayer branch is located here:
https://xbmc.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/xbmc/branches/dsplayer

So theoretically you could follow the instructions in the Windows Development Wiki page (http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=XBMC_for_Windows) and substitute the DSPlayer URL for the original.

Thanks! I guess I was confused regarding whether it was apart of the main branch yet. I guess I will have to learn how to compile my own versions now. Cool


- tiben20 - 2010-01-19

Balthazar2k4 Wrote:Thanks! I guess I was confused regarding whether it was apart of the main branch yet. I guess I will have to learn how to compile my own versions now. Cool
Remember to set your environement var to XBMC_HOME=thexbmcpath in xbmc project property page in the debugging section.
Your able to set the dir like this
example: if you downloaded the source to c:\xbmcdsplayer\
XBMC_HOME=c:\xbmcdsplayer\
so this way its going to use the source dir with the dll and filters that are in the source. doint need to use your xbmc installation directory


- Balthazar2k4 - 2010-01-19

tiben20 Wrote:Remember to set your environement var to XBMC_HOME=thexbmcpath in xbmc project property page in the debugging section.
Your able to set the dir like this
example: if you downloaded the source to c:\xbmcdsplayer\
XBMC_HOME=c:\xbmcdsplayer\
so this way its going to use the source dir with the dll and filters that are in the source. doint need to use your xbmc installation directory

Thanks Tiben! I am downloading VS C++ Express and the latest build in the repository as I write this. Let you know how it goes...


- Balthazar2k4 - 2010-01-19

Well, that didn't go so well. I have tried several times to build the latest DSPlayer SVN, but I keep being told the build failed. I have attached the log below. I am a complete Luddite when it comes to programming, so I am hoping someone can tell me what the problem might be. I did follow the Wiki instructions for setting up VS2008 and Tiben's advice for setting the environment var.

http://pastebin.com/m6c66cabe

Thanks!


- blinkseb - 2010-01-19

nathanjones Wrote:Nice! I've got video again in Vista using the most recent SVN and Seb's patch.

Glad to see it works on Vista too !


- blinkseb - 2010-01-19

Balthazar2k4 Wrote:Well, that didn't go so well. I have tried several times to build the latest DSPlayer SVN, but I keep being told the build failed. I have attached the log below. I am a complete Luddite when it comes to programming, so I am hoping someone can tell me what the problem might be. I did follow the Wiki instructions for setting up VS2008 and Tiben's advice for setting the environment var.

http://pastebin.com/m6c66cabe

Thanks!

Have you installed the DirectX SDK ? (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=b66e14b8-8505-4b17-bf80-edb2df5abad4&displaylang=en#dx)


- Balthazar2k4 - 2010-01-19

blinkeb Wrote:Have you installed the DirectX SDK ? (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=b66e14b8-8505-4b17-bf80-edb2df5abad4&displaylang=en#dx)

I installed the Summer 2004 SDK as noted in the Wiki, but I am currently downloading the latest, August 2009. As a note, I am building on a Win7 x64 machine if that makes any difference.

UPDATE: Thanks Blinkeb, the newest SDK solved the problem.


- maruchan - 2010-01-19

Could anyone post a link to a working build of the latest rev+Seb's patch? I can't wait to test this out Big Grin !


- ashlar - 2010-01-19

tiben20 Wrote:Im only able to use this interface for the vmr9 http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd390500(VS.85).aspx the output is simply a surface which im able to render the gui over it. Haali, madvr and any others are rendering in a window if you didnt notice you dont have any text like subtitles printed over those renderer.
Huh only if you want DXVA, you mean.

I used Haali for a while, with perfectly rendered subtitles and GUI (in ZoomPlayer).

I think in the future, when somebody will have the time to code it, having the choice of video renderer would be good. Although, to be honest, that is a pretty minor feature, that brings minor advantages to video quality if any (apart from single cases where a specific driver does not get along with VMR9 or EVR causing tearing).


- >>X<< - 2010-01-19

opensauce Wrote:I too want the gui. Im having some tearing issues that I don't see when using zoomplayer using the same directshow filters. Only difference is i use haali in ZP. I will try ZP in vmr9 and see if the tearing occurs there.

Im assuming that you will always be using renderless mode in vmr9 too?

This will be vsync for sure you either need to enable it in xbmc or in your GPU control panel or sometimes both, zoom player uses overlay mixer by default and using that vsync is not needed I had exactly the same problem when moving from xbmc using zoom player as an external player


- tiben20 - 2010-01-19

blinkeb Wrote:Glad to see it works on Vista too !
Just a question how much time did you search for the error. You have any knowledge on how the evr allocator is working? Because if you know how it works you could help me improving it.


- blinkseb - 2010-01-19

tiben20 Wrote:Just a question how much time did you search for the error. You have any knowledge on how the evr allocator is working? Because if you know how it works you could help me improving it.

Unfortunalty, I know little about EVR, but I currently read the code in order to see how things work. Do you have any link for me to learn more about EVR ? I would love helping you ! Tell me what's the most important to do right now. I found the bug checking diff with lastest rev and lastest working rev on 7. Took me about 2 hours !

Anyway, here's a link to the lastest svn revision : http://www.mediafire.com/?wwqgtjkmtbn

Have fun !

Seb


- ashlar - 2010-01-19

Hi Seb (are you from France?), I just wanted to thank you for the help you are providing in this development. I'm sure there's going to be a lot of people happy with the fix for Win 7! Big Grin


- blinkseb - 2010-01-19

ashlar Wrote:Hi Seb (are you from France?), I just wanted to thank you for the help you are providing in this development. I'm sure there's going to be a lot of people happy with the fix for Win 7! Big Grin

Yes I'm from France! Is my english so bad ? Big Grin Glad to see I can help people, but tiben is the only one to thanks Wink

Seb