Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Rom Collection Browser - Browse and launch emulator game ROMs - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Game Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=291)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Rom Collection Browser - Browse and launch emulator game ROMs (/showthread.php?tid=70115)



- kaster1980 - 2010-09-09

I understand that asking simple questions, but could you describe how the installation RCB .Thanks.


- kaster1980 - 2010-09-09

Ok. I have done everything I can see a list of the games, but do not see on the left of the images (thumbs). So it must be?


- Flomaster - 2010-09-09

here is my config file I know its missing A LOT of stuff, but I don't have images yet or descriptions etc etc.

I have game pack of 700+ games its a little overwhelming at the moment I just want to get the emulators up and running


Question... whats the difference between Console name and name? before I had NES and NES but looking at the wiki you had SNES and Super Nintendo so I changed my NES to Nintendo in the name field
Code:
<config>
        <Consoles>
                <Console>
                        <name>Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
                <Console>
                        <name>Super Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
         </Consoles>
        <RomCollections>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>NES</name>
                        <consoleName>Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/games/mednafen -fs 1 "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/NES/*.zip</romPath>
                </RomCollection>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>SNES</name>
                        <consoleName>Super Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/ *.zip</romPath>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/share/applications/zsnes.desktop -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                </RomCollecion>
        </RomCollections>
</config>

-=Jason=-

EDIT:
anyone have Nintendo or Super Nintendo image folders they would like to share ?


-=Jason=-


- malte - 2010-09-09

@kaster1980:
In XP it is "C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\XBMC\userdata". If you use Dharma there must be a folder "addon_data", for Camelot it is "script_data".

Installation is described here.


@Jason:

Console name must be the same as used in Consoles. Name in RomCollection must be unique but it is not used in configuration. Just to display a name during import.


- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

malte Wrote:@kaster1980:
In XP it is "C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\XBMC\userdata". If you use Dharma there must be a folder "addon_data", for Camelot it is "script_data".

Installation is described here.


@Jason:

Console name must be the same as used in Consoles. Name in RomCollection must be unique but it is not used in configuration. Just to display a name during import.

well I just set my config file for SNES so I'll try it tonight with debug log on and see if ti keeps asking me to import my settings each time I start it up.

-=Jason=-


- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

here is my debug log
http://flomaster.pastebin.com/9Xp2Bpub

also SNES is not showing up for me only NES and only 5 out of several hundred games

-=Jason=-


- hikaricore - 2010-09-10

Here's part of your problem:

Code:
<romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/ *.zip</romPath>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/share/applications/zsnes.desktop -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>

Try this instead.

Code:
<romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/*.zip</romPath>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/bin/zsnes -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>

Note in your original setup you have an extra space in romPath before *.zip
You also don't want to launch programs using cli options with .desktop files, it is stupid and won't work properly.
Additionally when writing out the commands you don't have to use a directory as long as the binary is locatable via PATH.

As for your Nes problem if I were you I'd make sure your files have .zip extensions to begin with.
Nes roms are so small they are rarely compressed, I suspect you have a few zips and a whole directory full of .nes files. :p


- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

thanks I didn't realize I had that space in there but my roms are all in *.zip format

NES/*.zip and SNES/*.zip

before I upgraded to Dharma Beta the NES part worked just fine it displayed all my roms. I had not opened RCB since upgrading to dharma beta and i addes the snes bit to my config file.

-=Jason=-


- malte - 2010-09-10

Flomaster Wrote:here is my debug log

Thanks for the log but you set XBMC to DEBUG, not RCB. RCB uses its own log level because it may really log a lot of stuff. It would be great if you could do it again with setting RCB log level to INFO or DEBUG in config.xml (RCBSetting).

But maybe you have done already and RCB just did not import the new config properly. I found this error in your log file:

Code:
RCB_ERROR: config.xml is no valid XML File: mismatched tag: line 22, column 4

Maybe this also explains the problem with your NES games?


Quote:EDIT:
anyone have Nintendo or Super Nintendo image folders they would like to share ?
This could be a start:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=538173&postcount=37


- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

malte Wrote:Thanks for the log but you set XBMC to DEBUG, not RCB. RCB uses its own log level because it may really log a lot of stuff. It would be great if you could do it again with setting RCB log level to INFO or DEBUG in config.xml (RCBSetting).

But maybe you have done already and RCB just did not import the new config properly. I found this error in your log file:

Code:
RCB_ERROR: config.xml is no valid XML File: mismatched tag: line 22, column 4

Maybe this also explains the problem with your NES games?



This could be a start:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=538173&postcount=37

this is my entire config file. is it missing the logging bit

.xbmc/addons/script.RCB/resources/dadtabase/config.xml

looks like a type on line 22 on my behalf thats probably why the SNES is not working
I switched to a different view and all my games showed up. I think it was user error like I only seleted games starting with numbers or some thing from that selection screen that appears at the top of RCB

Code:
<config>
        <Consoles>
                <Console>
                        <name>Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
                <Console>
                        <name>Super Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
         </Consoles>
        <RomCollections>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>NES</name>
                        <consoleName>Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/games/mednafen -fs 1 "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/NES/*.zip</romPath>
                </RomCollection>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>SNES</name>
                        <consoleName>Super Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/ *.zip</romPath>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/share/applications/zsnes.desktop -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                </RomCollec[color=Red][b]t[/b][/color]ion>
        </RomCollections>
</config>



- malte - 2010-09-10

Try it with this config (or copy the RCBSettings in your one):

Code:
<config>
  <RCBSettings>
    <logLevel>INFO</logLevel>    
  </RCBSettings>
  <Consoles>
    <Console>
      <name>Nintendo</name>
    </Console>
    <Console>
      <name>Super Nintendo</name>
    </Console>
  </Consoles>
  <RomCollections>
    <RomCollection>
      <name>NES</name>
      <consoleName>Nintendo</consoleName>
      <emulatorCmd>/usr/games/mednafen -fs 1 "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
      <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/NES/*.zip</romPath>
    </RomCollection>
    <RomCollection>
      <name>SNES</name>
      <consoleName>Super Nintendo</consoleName>
      <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/*.zip</romPath>
      <emulatorCmd>/usr/share/applications/zsnes.desktop -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
      </RomCollection>
    </RomCollections>
</config>



- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

Cool, added to config I'll test again when I get home from work... shat I have to work my second job tonight it might be much later I post my log file. will this RCB logging have its own log file inside of .xbmc/addons/script.games.RCB/ or will it be inside the xbmc.log I posted earlier

-=Jason=-


- malte - 2010-09-10

No rush. Information will be in the xbmc.log file that you posted earlier. Just make sure that you take the log from the second or third launch after changing the config.xml because at the first start it will still have the old settings.


- hikaricore - 2010-09-10

You still want to point at the binary instead of a .desktop file when using cli flags.
This will not work properly in almost all cases..


- Flomaster - 2010-09-10

I now have all those images for NES and SNES now to get those dialed in as they should be. does each game need its own entry into the config file :EEK:

as shown in here file type:

Code:
<FileTypes>
                <FileType>
                        <name>cover</name>
                        <type>image</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
                <FileType>
                        <name>action</name>
                        <type>image</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
                <FileType>
                        <name>title</name>
                        <type>image</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
                <FileType>
                        <name>cartridge</name>
                        <type>image</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
                <FileType>
                        <name>console</name>
                        <type>image</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
                <FileType>
                        <name>gameplay</name>
                        <type>video</type>
                        <parent>game</parent>
                </FileType>
        </FileTypes>

and Hikaricore my config file looks like this now

Code:
<config>
        <RCBSettings>
                <logLevel>INFO</logLevel>
        </RCBSettings>
        <Consoles>
                <Console>
                        <name>Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
                <Console>
                        <name>Super Nintendo</name>
                </Console>
         </Consoles>
        <RomCollections>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>NES</name>
                        <consoleName>Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/games/mednafen -fs 1 "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/NES/*.zip</romPath>
                </RomCollection>
                <RomCollection>
                        <name>SNES</name>
                        <consoleName>Super Nintendo</consoleName>
                        <romPath>/mnt/1tb/Games/SNES/*.zip</romPath>
                        <emulatorCmd>/usr/bin/zsnes -m "%ROM%"</emulatorCmd>
                </RomCollection>
        </RomCollections>
</config>

-=Jason=-