XBMC Community Forum
2 XBMC PCs and 1 Database on the shared NAS - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Kodi General Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: 2 XBMC PCs and 1 Database on the shared NAS (/showthread.php?tid=70603)



- charrua - 2010-06-22 23:26

Cyb3rH4Xter Wrote:Oh i had that setting there like 4 posts ago, but removed it because à guy didn't have it in an earlier post in this topic. So nope, thats not the problem Sad
Ok, I see.
Try activating debug mode in XBMC and check the log again to see if there are any references to the db connection attempts.


- Cyb3rH4Xter - 2010-06-23 00:03

http://pastebin.com/iLe8tEHy

so, i can see alot of database stuff, but what i can see it's only sqlite, and my mysql db is still untouched. I think it's a bug now. Xbmc dpn't see my videodatabase tag or something. Can anyone from the xbmc team test or check my advancedsettings.xml?


- harryzimm - 2010-06-23 00:24

Hi

Your xbmc build is too old. From the log "Built on Dec 23 2009 (SVN:26017, compiler 1500)"

Update to a more recent version. Try a nightly build.

cheers


- charrua - 2010-06-23 00:26

Cyb3rH4Xter Wrote:http://pastebin.com/iLe8tEHy

so, i can see alot of database stuff, but what i can see it's only sqlite, and my mysql db is still untouched. I think it's a bug now. Xbmc dpn't see my videodatabase tag or something. Can anyone from the xbmc team test or check my advancedsettings.xml?
Yes, as harryzimm says, the problem is that you haven't read the second post of this thread where I explained what is required for using the MySQL feature...
charrua Wrote:There is a new feature already implemented in XBMC(since svn r28142) that lets you use a central MySQL database for all your clients.
You need to install at least XBMC svn r28142, and acording to your log, you're using SVN:26017.


- Cyb3rH4Xter - 2010-06-23 08:07

Oh, thx for answer, Will update when in home from work. But does it exist a newer version of the xbmc live build?


- charrua - 2010-06-23 12:41

Cyb3rH4Xter Wrote:Oh, thx for answer, Will update when in home from work. But does it exist a newer version of the xbmc live build?
Yes: http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/live/


- bradvido88 - 2010-06-25 02:36

I've been away from the scene for a while now. Has there been any resolution from Team XBMC about what to do for storing images centrally? Just storing the URI, storing them withing the DB itself, etc?


- ould - 2010-06-25 16:06

Hey Everyone,

I decided to give this a try today on my "test" box. I don't really use xbmc much on this box so I like to use it to test things out on. Anyways this is on a fully up to date Arch Linux system with MySql and phpmyadmin running well. XBMC build is 31321. My advanced settings file is like so:

Code:
<advancedsettings>
        <videodatabase>
                <type>mysql</type>
                <host>localhost</host>
                <port>3306</port>
                <user>xbmc</user>
                <pass>xbmc</pass>
                <name>xbmc_video</name>
        </videodatabase>
</advancedsettings>

Everything is running locally on the same machine at the moment. I went to one of my HTPC setups and exported its libraries(all my machines have the same folder structure for movies/music/tv shared over NFS.) So I ran XBMC and it created the mysql database as I can see from phpmyadmin and it populated the data from my import. All seems well but The TV Shows menu doesn't even appear and while Movies appears I just get a blank screen when I enter into it. Also i noticed there are only 15 tables in my database as follows:

Code:
actorlinkmovie
actors
bookmark
country
countrylinkmovie
directorlinkmovie
genre
genrelinkmovie
movie
path
settings
stacktimes
sys_seq
version
writerlinkmovie

Not sure if that is correct but none of them refer to TV Shows at all. So I was thinking maybe the database structure changed between my older HTPC builds and my test box up to date build so I decided to delete the database I just created and re add the shares for movies/tv and set content, etc etc and then let xbmc update itself. No dice same exact behaviour.

Any ideas here?

Thanks!

Kevin


- charrua - 2010-06-25 16:27

ould Wrote:Any ideas here?

Thanks!

Kevin

Check the collation of the xbmc_video database, if it's utf-8 drop it, create a new one choosing latin1 as collation and run xbmc again.
It should create all the tables and populate them all too.


- ould - 2010-06-25 16:45

charrua Wrote:Check the collation of the xbmc_video database, if it's utf-8 drop it, create a new one choosing latin1 as collation and run xbmc again.
It should create all the tables and populate them all too.

Yep that was the problem. Thanks!! Looks good, everything imported ok this time. Woot!

Kevin


- Cyb3rH4Xter - 2010-06-26 15:58

I updated my XBMC (uninstalled and installed new one) to latest build (r31328) and now the mysql works ^^

But it seems that you guys have changed in the filesystem a bit, i can't find the skins folder? I am running xbmc win32. It's installed in default C:\Program Files\XBMC\

Where is it? Tongue


- Arnaud - 2010-06-26 17:20

Check "Addon" directory in C:\Program Files\XBMC\

All the skins are named like this : skin.<skin_name>


- Cyb3rH4Xter - 2010-06-26 19:29

thank you Smile But i think i will switch back to to stable camelot, the nightly are to unstable for me.


- dpaget21 - 2010-06-27 02:19

Hello I am trying to figure out this Mysql. I have Mac OS 10.6 with mysql running nightly build 31415 and advancedsettings.xml looks like this
<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>root</user>
<pass>root</pass>
<name>xbmcvideo</name>
</videodatabase>
</advancedsettings>

When I open xbmc there is no db created?
Can anyone help?
Thanks


- charrua - 2010-06-27 03:28

dpaget21 Wrote:Hello I am trying to figure out this Mysql. I have Mac OS 10.6 with mysql running nightly build 31415 and advancedsettings.xml looks like this
<advancedsettings>
<videodatabase>
<type>mysql</type>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<user>root</user>
<pass>root</pass>
<name>xbmcvideo</name>
</videodatabase>
</advancedsettings>

When I open xbmc there is no db created?
Can anyone help?
Thanks
Don't use root as the user, use a different one, it should work.