XBMC Community Forum
AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Development (/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: AudioEngine branch - DO NOT REQUEST BINARY BUILDS (/showthread.php?tid=78289)



- Calvados - 2011-05-16 09:13

@dado483: I never said your audio did not work, I said it might not be set entirely "properly", as in like what is more commonly expected. Although you are correct options are passed with commas, your "fix" will only work for you because of your ALSA settings. In most config, the string would read to "hdmi", and hence it requires a ":" and not a comma (Ex: on my system for DTS pass through: hdmi:AES0=0x06,AES1=0x82,AES2=0x00,AES3=0x02).

I am not sure how you ended up with a fully qualified hdmi string (technically, hdmi translate to that down the line), but you might want to have a look at it to ease your pains. I suppose one could work a better device init in the ALSA sink to try to factor your "problem", but I don't know if they will.

As for trying a new ALSA, 1.0.24 should be fine (granted...from a given revision) esp. if you passed successfully the speaker test, and aplay test with HBR (DTSHD/TrueHD samples).

Nonetheless, good luck Smile.


- SteveGoff - 2011-05-16 23:11

ArtVandelae Wrote:Updated Windows build. Squeaky voices in shared mode should be gone.

http://www.multiupload.com/97VH2J8LTU

I've downloaded this build to try but it won't open. It says I need Python26.dll. I'm not sure how to obtain this .dll. Any help would be appreciated.

EDIT: I downloaded the latest nightly and this exe now works, but when I go into system to set up the audio device in the setting for audio bypass it says there is an error and no device to connect. I'm using Windows 7, on an i-3 computer with an HD5450 video card.


- dado483 - 2011-05-17 22:02

Calvados Wrote:In most config, the string would read to "hdmi", and hence it requires a ":" and not a comma (Ex: on my system for DTS pass through: hdmi:AES0=0x06,AES1=0x82,AES2=0x00,AES3=0x02).

@Calvados @gnif

Please take a look here: https://github.com/dado483/xbmc/commit/0dd6c9bd8af3581d564c91c0f17b1974e6d35232

Now i think my fix is correct (please verify it and if you confirm this please include in your AE branch).

My previous fix was incomplete, works only with more than one audio card configured on the system.
Unlike your current version is working only if one audio device with hdmi is configured on the system.

My last fix check if the audio device is in the format with or without the card name specified (ex: hdmi or hdmi:CARD=NVidia).
In the first case is correct add a ":" for open the correct audio device, in the second one is correct add a "," .

Let me know what you think about this.
Davide


- Calvados - 2011-05-18 12:17

@dado483: Seems fine to me, I will give it a try later on. In the end, you will have to wait for gnif though Smile.


- erhnam - 2011-05-18 12:58

@dado483: chances are bigger when you make a pull request for gnif. This would defenitely help gnif!


- dado483 - 2011-05-18 21:47

erhnam Wrote:@dado483: chances are bigger when you make a pull request for gnif. This would defenitely help gnif!

@gnif
I've sent to you the pull request
Please let me know what you think about this

Davide


- benworld - 2011-05-20 22:19

Hello All.

I will be happy if i could try this branch on Macos / ATV1.
But, It seem that the AudioEngine is not include on the Xcode Projet (and i think dependancies etc etc..).

Did someone of you have try on MacOS ?
Thanks a lot.


- s3verian - 2011-05-25 06:33

How goes it?
Smile


- erhnam - 2011-05-25 09:44

s3verian Wrote:How goes it?
Smile

Seems gnif is very busy Smile

https://github.com/gnif


- T800 - 2011-05-25 14:27

Can someone explain what 'Exclusive Mode' is?


mute doesn't work - joethefox - 2011-05-26 19:13

testing audioengine on ubuntu maverick with alsa 1.0.23 the mute action doesn't work (the mute icon is displayed but the sound remains).
With amixer If I input:
Code:
/usr/bin/amixer -c 0 sset Master mute
there is an error message
Code:
amixer: Invalid command!

are the two things connected?


- azaze1 - 2011-05-31 22:12

Is there any estimation as to when the nightly XBMC builds for win32 will include the audioengine branch's code ?

I ask because A) I'm anxious (obviously), and B) the nightly builds dubbed pre-eden have changed enough over the last few months such that many 10.1 plugins are incompatible, database is incompatible, etc... many things changing. I'm now wondering when we'll get our first peak at native bitstreaming of HD audio from nightly XBMC builds.

Thanks for all the hard work,


- yunti - 2011-06-07 13:23

Just wanted to check on supported hardware of the new AudioEngine.

Some conflicting post earlier in the thread mean I'm not sure what works.

On Linux is it:
Nvidia some 2xxx, 4xxx and above?
Ati ?

Windows
4xxx and above?
ATi 5xxx and above?

MacConfused

someone also mentioned they got a Zacate build working with this, is that correct?

Does Ion have limited support upto certain bit rates?

Thanks


- dlmh - 2011-06-07 16:14

yunti Wrote:Just wanted to check on supported hardware of the new AudioEngine.

Some conflicting post earlier in the thread mean I'm not sure what works.

On Linux is it:
Nvidia some 2xxx, 4xxx and above?
Ati ?

Windows
4xxx and above?
ATi 5xxx and above?

MacConfused

someone also mentioned they got a Zacate build working with this, is that correct?

Does Ion have limited support upto certain bit rates?

Thanks

I think AE will be available to ALL hardware, but if you're referencing to HD Audio support, this will be limited to the models you mentioned.


- cold_realms - 2011-06-08 21:29

Will this have any affect on playback format support? Still dying for WMA playback. I doubt it will but I am grasping here Smile