Kodi Community Forum
Setting subtitles for list item when using setResolveUrl - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Setting subtitles for list item when using setResolveUrl (/showthread.php?tid=79862)



Setting subtitles for list item when using setResolveUrl - BlueCop - 2010-08-28

I am not sure how to set the subtitles when using setResolveUrl. I know setSubtitles on a playing video works but not sure how to do this right for a list item. Is this even possible or should I make a feature request?


- jmarshall - 2010-08-29

You can't set it on a fileitem at present, no, so a feature request would be needed. We could probably just use a property for it?


- BlueCop - 2010-08-29

Whatever you guys think is best. I think just setting a property for it would be great.


- seppius - 2010-09-12

Tell please, when will connect setresolvedUrl subtitles?
I was told that use setresolvedUrl a pleasant experience.
But against the background of the fact that setresolvedUrl can not connect subtitles, can not play mms-link, nothing there.


setSubtitles problem - seppius - 2010-09-12

This code does not show subtitles
Code:
item = xbmcgui.ListItem(epititle, iconImage=sc, thumbnailImage=sc)
item.setInfo(type='video', infoLabels={'title': epititle, 'genre': theme, 'plot': info, 'season': int(snum), 'episode': int(enum), 'aired': tmark, 'tvshowtitle': tvshowtitle})
xbmc.Player().play('http://link-to-video-file', item)
xbmc.Player().setSubtitles('http://link-to-srt-file')


This code shows subtitles.
item off subtitles. How can this be? Shocked
Code:
xbmc.Player().play('http://link-to-video-file')
xbmc.Player().setSubtitles('http://link-to-srt-file')
Not seen even attempts to open the subtitle
log http://pastebin.com/U0W1PkJS

We must create a ticket?


- BlueCop - 2010-09-12

I already created a ticket. http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/10030

I just worked around the limitation by waiting a couple seconds and then assigning a subtitle file to the active player.

edit: nm


- spiff - 2010-09-13

once we get the patch to not cache subtitles in, i suspect this will be trivial to do through a property.