Kodi Community Forum
MediaFrontPage - Web interface with widget type architecture to control multiple apps - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+--- Thread: MediaFrontPage - Web interface with widget type architecture to control multiple apps (/showthread.php?tid=83304)



- Nick8888 - 2010-11-09

It could still be the php or apache timeout. 500 movies is not a ridiculously large library but in combination with a mysql database, it could be slowing things down.

Another thing you could test is in the 3rd test file, change the start and end values so it returns a greater amount of movies. See if it returns anything if the start is 0 and the end 400 (which should be all your movies according to your output here: http://pastebin.com/YufVspGK)


- hotlobster - 2010-11-09

That's interesting!

It returns just "1" now if i ask the whole library as you requested.

So i tryed decreasing the number to find the limit, and movie > 13 it block. That's strange.

So i checked in the database what's movie 14, and it seems I was right with some special characters.

The 14th movie in my database, have wrong special characters, probably due to bad scraping , or format change during xbmc updates.

Look in my output from your previous post, search the movie "Banlieue 13 Ultimatum", it has bad special characters like "�g".

If i remove all the movie with bad characters in the database, mediafrontpage works at 100%.

I know those bad characters are not supposed to be in my database, but it shoudl work in mediafrontpage anyway. It should just shows wrong character.

If you switch mediafrontpage to full UTF8, everything should work in all case.

I think it's a must go, or Asian, Cyrilics, and other languages with different characters as Occidental ones will have problem with it either.

Thanks for pointing me in the good direction.

I've refreshed all the movie that have those bad characters "�" , and now everyting works normally.


- Nick8888 - 2010-11-09

Great, that explains the strange characteristics of your problem, glad you figured it out after all that!


- hotlobster - 2010-11-09

I think people using foreign characters as chinese/korean/japanese/russian/arabic should have the same problem.

But didn't saw any report on your thread, perhaps i'm wrong. Or nobody with this configuration have tested it yet.

Any guys here using non occidental characters ? That would be interesting to know.


- Zarquon - 2010-11-09

hotlobster Wrote:I think people using foreign characters as chinese/korean/japanese/russian/arabic should have the same problem.

But didn't saw any report on your thread, perhaps i'm wrong. Or nobody with this configuration have tested it yet.

Any guys here using non occidental characters ? That would be interesting to know.
Not sure this is the case. I just created a test harness to simulate your data and the issue was with the json_decode function. The json is returned from XBMC fine but when we convert it into an array it fails. This function only supports UTF8, and your return code sample is not UTF8.

I have one Romanian movie in my library with foreign characters and it works. I'm not sure we need to do anything here but I would love to here if anyone using foreign characters (chinese/korean/japanese/russian/arabic)


- hermy65 - 2010-11-09

does anybody have this running well on windows home server yet?


- m3g4tr0n - 2010-11-10

^ i do.

Image

all the apps are running on whs


- hermy65 - 2010-11-10

i dont suppose you would be willing to give me a little walkthrough of how you did it would you?


- m3g4tr0n - 2010-11-10

@hermy65

where exactly are you stuck?


- Necromancyr - 2010-11-11

I actually just took note of this nice little tool as well and want to put it onto my WHS.

Broad steps for doing so would be appreciated (i.e., install apache/use WHS webserver; Install XYZ; etc.)

Given I have some idea of what needs to be done, I can prob. figure it out - but not even having a framework to start from makes this a bit more daunting then I think it actually will be.


- Nick8888 - 2010-11-11

Here is some info from ECEC for installing on WHS.

http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/whsdevelopers/thread/cc57452e-9adc-4863-816f-5bae9ca59acc

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=83304&page=9 (scroll down to post by ECEC quoting renobles)

Sorry I don't have a WHS to write a guide.

As for apache, let me know if anyone is having any troubles setting it up in ubuntu. From memory it was a simple apt-get install apache2 php5-curl


- Clown - 2010-11-11

I think people were having problems NOT using Apache. I got mine working on nginx but someone above was trying to use lighttpd.


- Necromancyr - 2010-11-12

Ok...so...looks like getting PHP on WHS involves the following: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5372&start=0

Now, regarding cURL, I found this: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2009/09/16/new-add-ins-released-whs-php-installer-and-whs-mysql-installer/

Search for cURL on the page and there are instructions for making sure it works with PHP on IIS (the Windows web server).

I'm thinking it would be straight forward after that and what you posted references to Nick.

First, I think I need to backup my WHS. Smile (Which it seems I cant do.

Also - anyone using this or working on a module for support of Squeezeserver? Just curious since I'm running that as well...


- Nick8888 - 2010-11-12

Clown Wrote:I think people were having problems NOT using Apache. I got mine working on nginx but someone above was trying to use lighttpd.

As I said, I use Apache on ubuntu so I can only help with that. Perhaps you would like to share how you got it working on nginx.


- Clown - 2010-11-13

I wasn't having a dig, I was just saying that most people seem to be able to get it working with Apache without doing anything special. Luckily mine just happened to work as well - git clone and nano config.php. I love it, it's awesome!