Kodi Community Forum
MediaFrontPage - Web interface with widget type architecture to control multiple apps - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Supplementary Tools for Kodi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=116)
+--- Thread: MediaFrontPage - Web interface with widget type architecture to control multiple apps (/showthread.php?tid=83304)



- gugahoi - 2011-05-06

hernandito Wrote:Sweet!! Search results look much better now. The TMDB Movie Page still looks quirky, like my middle image above.

Thank you!

Check out what I'm trying to do: http://www.youtube.com/embed/AYzpLQlXgf8

I've got the plugin I wanted working but it somehow crashes the widget after it's run. It's only required a reload to get it back again but still, wanted someone to help me fix this. Any ideas?

As you can see, the movie details page is supposed to look like that. I've been playing around a lot with it trying to find the best way and so far this is my favourite. If you prefer some other way, by all means show me or tell me your 'vision' and I'll try and implement it.


What do you think of the plugin? I want to get this working 100% so badly!!!


- hernandito - 2011-05-06

gugahoi Wrote:Check out what I'm trying to do: http://www.youtube.com/embed/AYzpLQlXgf8

It says that the video is private...


- hernandito - 2011-05-06

From what I see in the YouTube preview of your video, the movie details screen looks very nice: You are not centering the Genre, Trailer, Runtime, etc... Looks like yo added a colon after Overview:

From what I can see, it looks very good, compare to the version I used.

I think the plugin is awesome. The fact that I do not have to leave the MFP to do what I normally do at TMDB.com is superb. Very useful.

I am not a big trailer person, I feel like they ruin much of the movie for me, but if one is on the fence about a movie, it can certainly influence one's interest. Having it front and center is fantastic.

The thing about this widget is that is is more functional, where as most others are simply reporting some bit of info. This one helps me research what I commonly do in various places.

I hate to have to ask you for a little guidance. EDIT= FOUND The ANSWER. It was staring me in the face.... But it yielded another question. How would I disable the Zebra table feature for SOME of the widgets? Not all of them.


- gugahoi - 2011-05-06

Oops, my bad.

How bout now?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYzpLQlXgf8


- hernandito - 2011-05-06

gugahoi Wrote:Oops, my bad.

How bout now?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AYzpLQlXgf8

Guga that looks amazing!!! I works so nice and smooth... I want it! Please keep at it...

I have been messing around as somehow it messes up my light color interface. I found the culprit and I am not sure if it is because of my sloppy code for the user interface or just normal behavior.

Is there a chance the widget can have its own dedicated css?

I tried creating and calling for one, but line 448 of query.php injects that css into the other widgets after performing a search.


- DejaVu - 2011-05-06

For a few days now I've been struggling to add a Div Scroller to the ComingEpisodes widget. It seems to me that, that one takes up the most room, so if it could shrunk and a JQuery scroller added to it like this one -

http://code.konrness.com/google-wave-scrollbar/

would be superb.

I've managed to get it to scroll, but not drag, it's almost like a Javascript has got involved and broke it somehow. Once I got it in, it also damages the Drag feature again...

I'll upload my version once I do it again. Mediafrontpage.php and wComingEpisodes.php are the only 2 files edited with the addition of a new .js and .css file.

I'm hoping some kind soul will help out with this as I think, although simple, it'll look great and if done correctly, we can then use the same scroller on any new widgets that will have more scrollable content.


- RaNaMaster - 2011-05-06

that scroll bar looks good


- DejaVu - 2011-05-07

Scroll bar added.
Drag does not work, but it does scroll with the buttons and mouse wheel.
Do not expect the Layout positioning to work either.

2 things that need looking into!

Work still needed hence why I have not commited to Gugahoi's Repo yet...

https://github.com/DejaVu77/mediafrontpage

Also, it does not quite scroll to the bottom. I think that's the CSS doing that.

@anyone with CSS/JS knowledge
Would appreciate you taking a quick look to see where the fault lies. I checked, but have come up with zip.

--EDIT--
Just to add, it's all setup correctly, I just think there is some sort of CSS or Javascript conflict and needs debugging - if anyone knows how?
I'm going to try to sort it 2mora now (Tired! - 4:19am!)


- gugahoi - 2011-05-07

hernandito Wrote:Guga that looks amazing!!! I works so nice and smooth... I want it! Please keep at it...

I have been messing around as somehow it messes up my light color interface. I found the culprit and I am not sure if it is because of my sloppy code for the user interface or just normal behavior.

Is there a chance the widget can have its own dedicated css?

I tried creating and calling for one, but line 448 of query.php injects that css into the other widgets after performing a search.

Oh YE CSS, my Achilles heel haha. By all means make one. It is using the main front.css page, maybe just create a section there for the search widget. My code is getting very very messy because i've been styling inline with the html/php. If you got the skills and patience, go through the code and convert my inline crappy styling to css! And I will keep at it trying to get this thing to work properly! I really like the functionality it adds to it.

DejaVu Wrote:Scroll bar added.
Drag does not work, but it does scroll with the buttons and mouse wheel.
Do not expect the Layout positioning to work either.

2 things that need looking into!

Work still needed hence why I have not commited to Gugahoi's Repo yet...

https://github.com/DejaVu77/mediafrontpage

Also, it does not quite scroll to the bottom. I think that's the CSS doing that.

@anyone with CSS/JS knowledge
Would appreciate you taking a quick look to see where the fault lies. I checked, but have come up with zip.

--EDIT--
Just to add, it's all setup correctly, I just think there is some sort of CSS or Javascript conflict and needs debugging - if anyone knows how?
I'm going to try to sort it 2mora now (Tired! - 4:19am!)

It looks good dude. I'm downloading you fork now to see if I can come up with a solution for your problems.



I also need to rewrite my javascript functions for the search widget. It's getting extremely messy!


update: this line seems to be causing most of the problems.

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.js"></script>

Seems to me we have way too many jquery versions floating around the same document. We need to find a solution for that I guess.

update2: Seems to me that the code for the widget architecture was written specifically for that version of jquery. It would be great if the creator of it could jump in the conversation and maybe give some pointers as to how it really works so we could try and fix it (if he/she can't/won't do it).

It also seems like a huge effort just to get a scrollbar, maybe we should start looking for other options seing as this breaks way too much stuff for not that many new features?

I found this and it doesn't use jQuery so maybe it could be a possible alternative? If no one can find a solution to this problem I would say try another plugin... seems like the easier/ safer alternative.


We should also start discussing of ways to keep all the little modifications on git. I've done some thought about it and the best I could think is to create an EXTRAS folder and keep the entire modified files in there. I realize this might increase the size significantly but the way I see it, it's the easiest way to do it for users. We can always create a compressed .zip file to decrease the size of everything. Also thought we should insert a text file for instructions. I realised I've missed tons of modifications. What do you all think?


- Nick8888 - 2011-05-07

gugahoi Wrote:update2: Seems to me that the code for the widget architecture was written specifically for that version of jquery. It would be great if the creator of it could jump in the conversation and maybe give some pointers as to how it really works so we could try and fix it (if he/she can't/won't do it).

That would be me. The widget.js was just an adaptation of someone else's code. I tried to strip out all the unnecessary parts and made it fit but never got round to completing it as the jquery.js was way over my head.

To be honest I think MFP needs a major cleanup / simplification at some point. This is what I plan to do if I ever get the time. I did some work in this regard as part of my database branch on my repo which eliminated the need for config.php and layout.php.

EDIT: Cant find the site I used but I would check this out http://jqueryui.com/demos/sortable/#portlets


- gugahoi - 2011-05-07

Nick8888 Wrote:That would be me. The widget.js was just an adaptation of someone else's code. I tried to strip out all the unnecessary parts and made it fit but never got round to completing it as the jquery.js was way over my head.

To be honest I think MFP needs a major cleanup / simplification at some point. This is what I plan to do if I ever get the time. I did some work in this regard as part of my database branch on my repo which eliminated the need for config.php and layout.php.

EDIT: Cant find the site I used but I would check this out http://jqueryui.com/demos/sortable/#portlets

Great thanks!! I remember I tried that branch and it was amazing! How come it stopped? If you could point me in the direction I could try and finish your work but again I'm not that advanced a coder so really have no idea what it would be required of me.


- gugahoi - 2011-05-07

As Ali G says - Booyakasha! This one goes out to my homie hernandito. prettyPhoto plugin working 100% (according to my 3 minutes test! ;D ) Test it out and report back with your results!


- hernandito - 2011-05-07

gugahoi Wrote:As Ali G says - Booyakasha! This one goes out to my homie hernandito. prettyPhoto plugin working 100% (according to my 3 minutes test! ;D ) Test it out and report back with your results!

Holy Crap! This is amazing!! I just tested your version, without my edits and it works terrific.

Couple minor bugs- When I click to add a movie to CP from TMDB, I get an error 404 page not found.

On the Search section hearder, there word "Rating" and the two little up-down arrows are on separate lines.

The search results table does not expand to 100% of the width. Not sure if that is on purpose.

I will start to try to do my color tweaking and possibly adding specific css stuff for the widget. This will turn my hair completely gray, but I am gonna figure it out.

This is insanely good.... thanks!


- DejaVu - 2011-05-07

Is there a way where we can go back to the Database version (which I tried, but failed to get working) with the newer changes made?

--EDIT--
Also found this basic scroller and am trying to get this one to work.
http://livepipe.net/control/scrollbar

Is being a real mission though.


- Nick8888 - 2011-05-08

gugahoi Wrote:Great thanks!! I remember I tried that branch and it was amazing! How come it stopped? If you could point me in the direction I could try and finish your work but again I'm not that advanced a coder so really have no idea what it would be required of me.

It stopped because I did not get it to a point of completion before I ran out of time to work on it. I believe it mostly works apart from the mobile interface and a few speed issues.

If I do any work on it in the future it will be to try to finish what I started in that branch.

Edit: also should add that Im glad development is still going ahead. If I were to work on the database branch in the future these changes you all are making would be included.