XBMC Community Forum
[RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC - Printable Version

+- XBMC Community Forum (http://forum.xbmc.org)
+-- Forum: Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-ons Help and Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Program Add-ons (/forumdisplay.php?fid=151)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Advanced Launcher - Applications Launcher Addon for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=85724)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403


- fr500 - 2011-02-08 08:02

Sorry mate Sad

If possible the ability to start .bat files minimized would be awesome.


- SwedishGojira - 2011-02-08 09:29

Would it be possible to select wich info to scrape when adding roms? For example if you only want to scrape year and publisher. I would like to be able to scrape the information from different sources as well as keep the original name of the file instead of the scraped one.


- TomPiXX - 2011-02-08 11:25

"Retrograde" "fixed" the win32 issue, launcher works.

Angelscry: If you need testers for the win32-thing or something else, I'm on board.


- Angelscry - 2011-02-08 14:16

fr500 Wrote:Sorry mate Sad
That's ok. It was just a try to replace the System.ExecWait() and System.Exec() command for windows users and allows the start of romfilename including comas without lost the XBMC Wait state functionality. The idea was to start a parallel process (win32.exe) that will monitor and control XBMC and the launched application.

My first mistake was to believe that a simple executable file (compiled on my windows system) will be working on all user windows system. If an especially 32-bit compiled executable file is not detected as a valid 32-bit application on other windows 32-bit system... arggg...Frown

The second problem, as you mentioned into one of your precedent post is that in some case the application that we have to monitor is not necessary the one that we have started: like bsnes.exe, but it is also the case with .lnk shortcuts, .bat file.

I'm a scientist, and I know well that we have to make a lot of tries and mistakes to progress. That's what we call experiences. Wink

The thing that annoying me the most actually is that retrograde to the 1.0.6 version has bring back the bug for filenames containing comas for Windows users.

fr500 Wrote:If possible the ability to start .bat files minimized would be awesome.
If you really want to start something minimized you can replace your .bat files by you own autoit scripts (look my previous posts on NeoGeo CD pre-launcher). I think it is also be possible to start a .bat file in minimized state using this command :
Code:
start /min myfile.bat
But here again I'm not sure that this command will work an all Windows systems.


- Angelscry - 2011-02-08 14:22

SwedishGojira Wrote:Would it be possible to select wich info to scrape when adding roms? For example if you only want to scrape year and publisher. I would like to be able to scrape the information from different sources as well as keep the original name of the file instead of the scraped one.
If you want to use custom informations use the edit option of the context menu. For example if you do not like the scrapped title (which is in fact the REAL title and not just the file name), just rename it. Eek


- Angelscry - 2011-02-08 14:31

TomPiXX Wrote:"Retrograde" "fixed" the win32 issue, launcher works.
Angelscry: If you need testers for the win32-thing or something else, I'm on board.
Thank you for your help proposal. But I think that the last ultimate solution was that any users will compile by themselves the Advanced Launcher included autoit script to make it works on their proper systems. That was not really a realistic solution... Laugh


- SwedishGojira - 2011-02-08 14:56

Angelscry Wrote:If you want to use custom informations use the edit option of the context menu. For example if you do not like the scrapped title (which is in fact the REAL title and not just the file name), just rename it. Eek

Well in my case the filename already IS the REAL name. And when I scrape a multi-disc game for example where I have added (Disc 1 of 4) to the filename I end up with four identical entries in the launcher list and have to edit them all back one by one.

Also why can I only edit one thing at a time? Why can't we edit name, studio, year at once and then save instead of editing one of them one at a time?

I'm also missing a region flag in the items info. This would be useful you know.


- Angelscry - 2011-02-08 16:21

SwedishGojira Wrote:Well in my case the filename already IS the REAL name. And when I scrape a multi-disc game for example where I have added (Disc 1 of 4) to the filename I end up with four identical entries in the launcher list and have to edit them all back one by one.
Yes, I understand. But for example "Final Fantasy VIII - Disc 2" is not the name of a game. The real name of this game is "Final Fantasy VIII". I can try to add the CD number at the end of the title during scraping. But in the other part there will be some users that will only want to see the first CD with only the real title.

SwedishGojira Wrote:Also why can I only edit one thing at a time? Why can't we edit name, studio, year at once and then save instead of editing one of them one at a time?
Some users may also want to only edit one info at the time (for example only studio) and do not want to be asked to edit all the other fields. That's why it is like this.

SwedishGojira Wrote:I'm also missing a region flag in the items info. This would be useful you know.
Useful for what? Confused


- SwedishGojira - 2011-02-08 16:40

Angelscry Wrote:Yes, I understand. But for example "Final Fantasy VIII - Disc 2" is not the name of a game. The real name of this game is "Final Fantasy VIII". I can try to add the CD number at the end of the title during scraping. But in the other part there will be some users that will only want to see the first CD with only the real title.
I understand that most people would want the real name, but I also know many people who are quite picky about how they name their files and that's why it would be gret with a toggle to not scrape the title in settings.

Angelscry Wrote:Some users may also want to only edit one info at the time (for example only studio) and do not want to be asked to edit all the other fields. That's why it is like this.
What I meant by "editing only one info at the time" is that if I want to edit both say the title and the year manually I have to first edit the title, the loader commits the change to the launcher and I have to select edit once more and edit the year and then commit that to. Why Can't we edit both the title and the year and then commit the changes to the launcher.

It would also be great to be able to rescrape select info using the different scrapers as for example "plot" may be empty for some games in for example AllGames and I would like to get only the plot from GameFaqs.

Angelscry Wrote:Useful for what? Confused
If you perhaps have two different versions of the same game and want to differentiate them from eachother. Maybe ones from Europe and ones from USA. Sometimes hames are very different between releases as they are maybe censored or have content added.


- fr500 - 2011-02-08 18:34

I think that's going too far, after all manual editing can be done editing the XML, maybe someone (I have been toying with the idea) could write an external editor for launchers.xml, XBMC by itself does not allow advanced editing of individual fields on its library, it allows editing via external files. So i guess you are used to editing nfo files externally when you want something more advanced


- Angelscry - 2011-02-08 20:22

SwedishGojira Wrote:I understand that most people would want the real name, but I also know many people who are quite picky about how they name their files and that's why it would be gret with a toggle to not scrape the title in settings.
For picky people there is the edit title option. Scrap item info, rename the title as you want. And that's all.

SwedishGojira Wrote:What I meant by "editing only one info at the time" is that if I want to edit both say the title and the year manually I have to first edit the title, the loader commits the change to the launcher and I have to select edit once more and edit the year and then commit that to. Why Can't we edit both the title and the year and then commit the changes to the launcher.
But how I will setup that?
  • Did I have to create editing options for any possible editing combination ("Edit Title and year", "Edit Title and Studio", "Edit Genre and Studio", "Edit Title, year and Genre", etc... )? No. It will make a list of more than 500 different options.
  • Does I have to add settings to set which group of item info we want to edit at the same time? No. Because users will be forced the change this setup each time they want to edit info differently.
I will keep it simple. You want to edit an item info... you select it and you edit it.

SwedishGojira Wrote:It would also be great to be able to rescrape select info using the different scrapers as for example "plot" may be empty for some games in for example AllGames and I would like to get only the plot from GameFaqs.
Plot could be different effectively from different scraper source. But title, year, studio, genre and platform will be mostly the same. So if "AllGames" do not have the plot, scrap all the item info from "GameFaqs"... and it will be done. If some info are missing... add them manualy using the edit option.

SwedishGojira Wrote:If you perhaps have two different versions of the same game and want to differentiate them from eachother. Maybe ones from Europe and ones from USA. Sometimes hames are very different between releases as they are maybe censored or have content added.
Edit the title and add "(US)", "(Japan)" or what you want at the end.

fr500 Wrote:I think that's going too far, after all manual editing can be done editing the XML, maybe someone (I have been toying with the idea) could write an external editor for launchers.xml, XBMC by itself does not allow advanced editing of individual fields on its library, it allows editing via external files. So i guess you are used to editing nfo files externally when you want something more advanced
Edit directly from XBMC or edit the launchers.xml file with any kind of text editor (like notepad)... I cannot make it more easier and more flexible as this.


- fr500 - 2011-02-08 20:31

That's my point exactly no need to go further, if you need more customization...write a tool or launch a dedicated game frontend

I agree with you Big Grin


- xmurrx - 2011-02-08 22:15

could anyone share their fanart/thumbnails that they are using for their launchers? I cant seem to find anything good.


- TheHazel3yes - 2011-02-08 23:20

xmurrx Wrote:could anyone share their fanart/thumbnails that they are using for their launchers? I cant seem to find anything good.

Which skin and emulators are you using? I'd share the images I created for DOS/GB/NES/SNES/N64/GENS/PS1, however they are made to fit Night perfectly, so no guarantee for other skins.


- srsobieraj - 2011-02-08 23:36

xmurrx Wrote:could anyone share their fanart/thumbnails that they are using for their launchers? I cant seem to find anything good.

http://www.emuxtras.net/gallery/index.php/XBMC-Icons/transparent_poster_icons_by_guybird

http://www.emuxtras.net/gallery/index.php/Fanart

Best ones around IMO. Alternatively there was a WinRAR/WinZip file posted to this thread somewhere that had a bunch of really great thumbs.